Contribute
Register

Stuck at the apple logo on first boot

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,925
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I don't have a copy of El Captain and another GPU I only have a MacBook Pro running High Sierra any suggestions how to get a copy of El Captian?
Download it from the MAS.
https://itunes.apple.com/app/os-x-el-capitan/id1147835434?mt=12
I also don't have the money to buy a new GPU and do you think that could be the cause of the lockup of the system?
If you don't have compatible graphics you can't install the OS. I don't know if that AMD card works with El Capitan. Try it. If it doesn't work, get one of these: https://www.ebay.com/itm/ASUS-NVIDIA-GeForce-210-1GB-PCIe-Video-Card-HDMI-DVI-VGA-EN210-SILENT-DI-1GD3-V2/162974502976?hash=item25f2099040:g:iR8AAOSwC81av-mS
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
10
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Download it from the MAS.
https://itunes.apple.com/app/os-x-el-capitan/id1147835434?mt=12

If you don't have compatible graphics you can't install the OS. I don't know if that AMD card works with El Capitan. Try it. If it doesn't work, get one of these: https://www.ebay.com/itm/ASUS-NVIDIA-GeForce-210-1GB-PCIe-Video-Card-HDMI-DVI-VGA-EN210-SILENT-DI-1GD3-V2/162974502976?hash=item25f2099040:g:iR8AAOSwC81av-mS
I live in Canada so I cant download it and I'm running a MacBook Pro using High Sierra and the GPU in CAD is $30
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,925
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I live in Canada so I cant download it and I'm running a MacBook Pro using High Sierra and the GPU in CAD is $30
Your other option would be to get an E8400 that can run High Sierra and figure out something else you can afford for graphics.
Maybe try Craigslist or whatever you have there in CA.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
10
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Your other option would be to get an E8400 that can run High Sierra and figure out something else you can afford for graphics.
Maybe try Craigslist or whatever you have there in CA.
I have an extra E8400 lying around do you think that could fix it?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,925
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I have an extra E8400 lying around do you think that could fix it?
It will let you use Sierra or HS but as I said you need a gfx card that works with Sierra/HS too. Without graphics what good is the CPU ?
 
Top