Contribute
Register

Stuck at the apple logo on first boot

Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
10
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi Everybody,
This is my first time building a Hackintosh and I'm having a problem. I will turn on the computer, boot from the flash drive, go to the Clover screen, hit enter, and it would get the apple logo and gets stuck. No spinning circle no nothing. It just gets stuck. I left it overnight and still nothing. and when I boot in verbose it shows a bunch of +'s and NV disable 1 doesn't work either.
Any help is appreciated!

SPECS:
Dell Optiplex 755
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
8GB DDR2
HD 3450
 

Attachments

Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
271
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700
Graphics
Gigabyte RX 580 Gaming 8GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Hi Everybody,
This is my first time building a Hackintosh and I'm having a problem. I will turn on the computer, boot from the flash drive, go to the Clover screen, hit enter, and it would get the apple logo and gets stuck. No spinning circle no nothing. It just gets stuck. I left it overnight and still nothing. and when I boot in verbose it shows a bunch of +'s and NV disable 1 doesn't work either.
Any help is appreciated!

SPECS:
Dell Optiplex 755
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
8GB DDR2
HD 3450
Boot in verbose mode, wait few minutes until it seems stuck and take a screenshot

Edit: Can you also tell us which OS X version you are installing
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
10
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Boot in verbose mode, wait few minutes until it seems stuck and take a screenshot

Edit: Can you also tell us which OS X version you are installing
I am installing macOS Sierra and when I boot in verbose it just shows a bunch of +'s then stops there.
 
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
271
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700
Graphics
Gigabyte RX 580 Gaming 8GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
(sorry for the trash camera quality it's just a bunch of plusses or +++++++++++++++++++++++++_ )
Did it display a lot of texts before it only display +++ or it is the first thing you saw after Clover?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
12,925
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I am installing macOS Sierra and when I boot in verbose it just shows a bunch of +'s then stops there.
Your BIOS screenshot says you've got an E6850 CPU. That will not work with Sierra or High Sierra. Try installing El Capitan.

Screen Shot 10.jpg


You will also need a graphics card that is El Capitan compatible. You could try a GT210 or GT610 for a budget choice.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
10
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Did it display a lot of texts before it only display +++ or it is the first thing you saw after Clover?
no it didn't that was all it showed just an underscore (or a dash) in the top left for a minute or two then the ++++'s
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
10
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Your BIOS screenshot says you've got an E6850 CPU. That will not work with Sierra or High Sierra. Try installing El Capitan.

View attachment 322635

You will also need a graphics card that is El Capitan compatible. You could try a GT210 or GT610 for a budget choice.
I don't have a copy of El Captain and another GPU I only have a MacBook Pro running High Sierra any suggestions how to get a copy of El Captian?
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
10
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Your BIOS screenshot says you've got an E6850 CPU. That will not work with Sierra or High Sierra. Try installing El Capitan.

View attachment 322635

You will also need a graphics card that is El Capitan compatible. You could try a GT210 or GT610 for a budget choice.
I also don't have the money to buy a new GPU and do you think that could be the cause of the lockup of the system?
 
Top