Contribute
Register

Stuck at Attempting System Restart... MACH Reboot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 6, 2016
Messages
123
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170XP-SLI
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi
I am having the same issue, but might be a different cause.
So when I run the "Install High Sierra App" it just instantly jump to restart, I am not sure if this is normal.
I tried dropping the MAT code and it doesn't work for me. Is there another solution available yet?
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
3
Motherboard
GA-Z170-HD3
CPU
Intel i7-6700K
Graphics
Radeon RX 570 4 GB
I'm facing the same issues after a direct update from a perfectly working Sierra install. Running a GA-Z77-DS3H with a Palit GTX770, the system hangs with the MACH Reboot message. The update went fine, no issues there, but booting the OS X drive always results in the stack trace. Clover 4220, only 2 kexts: FakeSMC and realtekACL.

Help!

Edit: also tried the drop tables to no avail.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5.4 KB · Views: 343
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
7
Motherboard
Z77N-WiFi
CPU
3570K
Graphics
4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Gigabyte Z77N-Wifi 3570k, same issues after a direct update from a perfectly working Sierra install.
https://photos.app.goo.gl/bzzdjcZKYoqSf6zB2
Just Copied apfs.efi to /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI/.
Already had FakeSMC.kext in /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/
Only can boot to Recovery
Any suggestions, guys?
 

ModBot

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
1,354
Motherboard
01010
CPU
10101
Graphics
01010
pavgav, Please, next time, upload and attach the photo to your post. It's rude to send someone elsewhere to see the photo and, who knows, a possible malware because the link is a contraction of the real link. TIA.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
16
Motherboard
Allsparks 5A
CPU
Intel Core i7 6700HQ Skylake
Graphics
Intel(R) HD Graphics 530, NVIDIA GTX 960M
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Attachments

  • config.plist
    18.2 KB · Views: 231
  • unnamed.jpg
    unnamed.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 380
Joined
Aug 17, 2011
Messages
6
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H LGA 1155
CPU
i5 3570k IVY BRIDGE
Graphics
AMD WX7100

+1, this worked for me. Thanks @itwas! Successful direct upgrade from 10.12.

My overview, fwiw:
1) Like @Amblin , I had a "golden" install running 10.12 (iCloud, iMessage, etc)
2) Followed tonymac's instructions to direct upgrade.
3) Got stuck at first reboot- only saw Apple logo with no progress bar. Tried various nvidia fixes, no luck.
4) booted in verbose mode (-v), saw it was stuck at MACH REBOOT
5) Updated Clover Configurator (as @itwas noted, newer version allows dropping MATS table)
6) Dropped DMARS and MATS tables by clicking "+" in the bottom left panel, and clicking arrows (this took a minute to find!)
7) Restarted upgrade, and completed in about 15 min.
8) One difference- My system no longer "automatically" rebooted during the install process as tonymac notes. Not sure the cause, but after each reboot, I had to continue to choose "Boot macOS Install" until it reached my Password lockscreen.

Thanks again to all who contribute here!
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
802
Motherboard
GA-Z77N-WIFI-F3-Clover
CPU
E3-1225 v2
Graphics
GT 640 | P4000
Mac
  1. Mac mini
+1, this worked for me. Thanks @itwas! Successful direct upgrade from 10.12.

My overview, fwiw:
1) Like @Amblin , I had a "golden" install running 10.12 (iCloud, iMessage, etc)
2) Followed tonymac's instructions to direct upgrade.
3) Got stuck at first reboot- only saw Apple logo with no progress bar. Tried various nvidia fixes, no luck.
4) booted in verbose mode (-v), saw it was stuck at MACH REBOOT
5) Updated Clover Configurator (as @itwas noted, newer version allows dropping MATS table)
6) Dropped DMARS and MATS tables by clicking "+" in the bottom left panel, and clicking arrows (this took a minute to find!)
7) Restarted upgrade, and completed in about 15 min.
8) One difference- My system no longer "automatically" rebooted during the install process as tonymac notes. Not sure the cause, but after each reboot, I had to continue to choose "Boot macOS Install" until it reached my Password lockscreen.

Thanks again to all who contribute here!

#5, actually you don't need the latest version, any old version can also do this, see #6

#6, If you do not pick up the table from the drop-down list, you can do this
6.1 clicking "+" to add a empty new entry
6.2 double clicking the "Signature*" cell, type in "MATS"
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2013
Messages
42
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron N5110 (Clover UEFI)
CPU
i7 2760qm/HM67
Graphics
HD 3000 + GT525M(Disabled) (1366x768)
I have laptop with same issue
 

Attachments

  • preboot.log.zip
    6.2 KB · Views: 128
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top