Contribute
Register

Stuck at apple logo loading after Ram upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 23, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G11CD
CPU
i5-6400
Graphics
GTX 950
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi
I have an issue that appeared after i changed my original 8gb stick of ram 2 month ago (that was in my Asus g11cd) for 2 vengeance of 8gb each.
I’ve installed Mac OS Sierra on an external drive about 1 year ago and it was perfectly working and now i can’t reach the desktop. I can’t even create another bootable usb and I don’t want to loose my data. Here’s a screen with the boot arg « -v ».
if anyone have a solution.... please answer
 

Attachments

  • BD054AA5-EEEE-4E5E-BA5D-A06DB96DB4F7.jpg
    BD054AA5-EEEE-4E5E-BA5D-A06DB96DB4F7.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 188
  • 6F54BDC0-952E-4A1A-8C39-E9A4B283FDF3.jpg
    6F54BDC0-952E-4A1A-8C39-E9A4B283FDF3.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 156
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,336
Motherboard
Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Let me see if I understand you correctly. Two months ago you changed out RAM and today you have a boot problem? What makes you think that they are related?

Is your boot drive partitioned with a Windows partition? Or can you remove the Windows drive to simplify troubleshooting. I see that error in your screenshot, the error about a Windows Hibernation issue.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
1,344
Motherboard
Asus P5LP-LE
CPU
Core 2 Duo
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GT 640
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did you put FakeSMC.kext in EFI/Clover/kexts/other on your usb installer? I ask since I don't see where DSMOS has arrived.
 
Joined
May 23, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G11CD
CPU
i5-6400
Graphics
GTX 950
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, thank you for your answer. I’ll explain with more details (sorry for my English I’m not a native speaker.):
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 23, 2016
Messages
16
Motherboard
ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G11CD
CPU
i5-6400
Graphics
GTX 950
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Let me see if I understand you correctly. Two months ago you changed out RAM and today you have a boot problem? What makes you think that they are related?

Is your boot drive partitioned with a Windows partition? Or can you remove the Windows drive to simplify troubleshooting. I see that error in your screenshot, the error about a Windows Hibernation issue.

Hi, thank you for your answer. I’ll explain with more details (sorry for my English I’m not a native speaker.):
About 1 year ago I’ve installed Sierra on my external drive (2tb) which I partitioned in 2 parts, the first is formated in GUID and the other in NTFS. Those partitions allowed me to install Mac OS (in the formated GUID one) and the other one to be read by windows (to store my games or softwares, windows wasn’t installed on it). This setup was working perfectly until I decided 2 month ago to buy an SSD to replace my internal hard drive (where windows was installed) and a kit of 16gb of vengeance ram to replace the one shipped with my computer (in order to get the dual channel optimization). Theoretically this setup makes possible the replacement of my internal hard drive by the ssd without any modification of Mac OS on the external drive. After this upgrade I wanted to boot on Mac OS to see if ram upgrade has increased perfs but I was stuck at apple logo. Here’s for the story. I think the problem is caused by ram because as i said only the ram upgrade could’ve influenced the os, because windows and macOS are installed in separate drives.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,336
Motherboard
Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It just sounds like you don't have an EFI partition going. When you copied everything to the new SSD the hidden EFI partition needs to be copied as a separate step.

Start over and partition the SSD with two (or three) partitions. See my setup:

Code:
Roberts-iMac:~ roberts$ diskutil list
/dev/disk0 (internal, physical):
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *960.2 GB   disk0
   1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
   2:                  Apple_HFS MacSSD                  959.3 GB   disk0s2
   3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk0s3

The SSD is partitioned into three partitions: disk0s1 is the EFI, disk0s2 is the main Mac OS X SSD boot drive named "MacSSD" and disk0s3 is the Apple disk recovery partition which I don't really use.

Then copy the files from your original HD and your original EFI in to the new ones.

/Bob's Your Uncle
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2017
Messages
1
It just sounds like you don't have an EFI partition going. When you copied everything to the new SSD the hidden EFI partition needs to be copied as a separate step.

Start over and partition the SSD with two (or three) partitions. See my setup:

Code:
Roberts-iMac:~ roberts$ diskutil list
/dev/disk0 (internal, physical):
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *960.2 GB   disk0
   1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1
   2:                  Apple_HFS MacSSD                  959.3 GB   disk0s2
   3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk0s3

The SSD is partitioned into three partitions: disk0s1 is the EFI, disk0s2 is the main Mac OS X SSD boot drive named "MacSSD" and disk0s3 is the Apple disk recovery partition which I don't really use.

Then copy the files from your original HD and your original EFI in to the new ones.

/Bob's Your Uncle
He said he replaced the INTERNAL hard drive with windows on it with an SSD. How would that affect the Mac OS installed on an EXTERNAL drive? This is why he suspected it to be the ram.
And I also believe it's the ram as I cleaned out my case today and now my machine is stuck at the apple logo. No progress bar. High Sierra.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,336
Motherboard
Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, perhaps I did not read your post accurately, my bad.
You are correct in assuming that that should not have effected the Mac OS install on the external drive. Was that external drive attached when the Windows was updated?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top