Contribute
Register

Struggling to Install - hanging during USB boot stage - need help.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
13
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello all,

After following all the instructions I can find for clean installing High Sierra, the system is getting stuck loading from the Bootable USB I created with UniBeast 8.1.0

Depending on the boot flags and blocked kexts I get stuck at various parts including kextd stall [x] Apple APCICPU and
iMac.local com.apple.xpc.launchd[1] stopping after 0s and getting pushed out after 10s.

I've attached my config.plist and a screenshot of the kexts I'm installing; though the most successful boot attempt has been by blocking all kexts except FakeSMC.

The system I'm using (Current Customac) has successfully run both Mavericks and Yosemite, and the clean install is so I can remove Chimera as the bootloader and switch over to Clover from the get go. The HDD is a WD 2.0Tb Green Edition 64Gb Cache/7200rpm drive.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    5.1 KB · Views: 125
  • Screen Shot 2017-12-30 at 11.44.37 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-12-30 at 11.44.37 AM.png
    153.2 KB · Views: 46
  • IMG_4234.jpg
    IMG_4234.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 50
  • IMG_4228.jpg
    IMG_4228.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 38
  • IMG_4230.jpg
    IMG_4230.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 45
  • IMG_4232.jpg
    IMG_4232.jpg
    2.9 MB · Views: 62
  • IMG_4233.jpg
    IMG_4233.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 49
  • IMG_4234.jpg
    IMG_4234.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 48
  • IMG_4235.jpg
    IMG_4235.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 48
  • IMG_4236.jpg
    IMG_4236.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 48
  • IMG_4237.jpg
    IMG_4237.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 51
  • IMG_4238.jpg
    IMG_4238.jpg
    2.7 MB · Views: 45
  • IMG_4239.jpg
    IMG_4239.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 41

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,870
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You have an active Serial port (SuperIO) which should be disabled in your BIOS settings :

Serial.png



The HDD is a WD 2.0Tb Green Edition 64Gb Cache/7200rpm drive.
It is not recommended to install the OS onto a Green drive.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
13
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
You have an active Serial port (SuperIO) which should be disabled in your BIOS settings :

View attachment 302838

Switched it, and no change - been through switching the boot options around (NVidia disable and use web drivers/block all kexts/block all but FakeSMC/block all but FakeSMC and USB/block none/just verbose mode) and still no joy.

It is not recommended to install the OS onto a Green drive.

I don’t have much of an option. And despite it not being recommended, it should still work, shouldn’t it?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,870
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
been through switching the boot options around (NVidia disable and use web drivers
Your GTX 760 has native support - No need for web drivers.

I don’t have much of an option. And despite it not being recommended, it should still work, shouldn’t it?
You should certainly be able to install onto it.

Boot in verbose mode and post a (one) picture of the screen when it stops.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,870
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Booted in verbose (as requested) with nVidia drivers disabled but no other flags.
You do not need to disable the Nvidia drivers - Your graphics card has native support.

Attach your config.plist.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,870
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2x E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Attached in the initial post in this thread.
If you have Nvidia graphics why are you injecting intel ? Makes no sense at all.

Try this edited version of your config.plist and report progress :
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    6 KB · Views: 220
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top