Contribute
Register

Strange problem with gsync

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-F
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I'm having the same issue. Dual boot. Windows 10 on its own SSD and MacOS High Sierra 10.13.3 with Nvidia web driver .104 (the latest driver causes terrible graphics lags) on its own SSD. Acer predator xb271hu monitor.

I noticed in Windows 10 that G Sync feature was all of a sudden missing from GeForce Control Panel or whatever it is called.
Unplugging the Displayport cable and plugging it back in while I'm in Windows 10 pops up a message "G Sync monitor enabled monitor detected" or something like that and then the feature is back. I tested it and unless I do this, G Sync is indeed NOT enabled in games. Really annoying. I was suspecting it is related to my hachintosh but wasn't sure. Now I'm sure of it, seeing that others report the same issue.

G-Sync is disabled in NVIDIA Driver Manager (System Preferences) so I thought maybe I need to enable it in MacOS as well. But, if I enable it, the system freezes completely within a few seconds and the only way out is restart. While G Sync is enabled, once MacOS loads again, it freezes right after typing my password. The only way I found to disable G Sync is by disabling NVIDIA web driver in Clover boot screen and once I'm in MacOS, delete folder /Library/PreferencePanes/NVIDIA\ Driver\ Manager.prefPane and restart. It would be great to hear if there's a better way to disable G Sync once it has been enabled already and freezes MacOS.

There was a moment when I thought I managed to get it to work with G Sync after I changed the monitor refresh rate to 144Hz. It was originally set to 60Hz. But, at some point after a few minutes it froze once again :/

Does anybody here have by any chance G Sync enabled in MacOS and still experiencing the issue on Windows 10? I'd like to know if it has any affect on this.

Uninstalling Nvidia Web Driver is out of the question. MacOS is unusable without it.


EDIT: I found out there's another post in the forums where there are many others experiencing the same issue https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...fter-booting-into-os-x-yosemite.170092/page-3
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
52
Motherboard
ASUS Z270 Maximus IX HERO
CPU
7700K
Graphics
GTX970
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Hi everyone !

I just ordered a G-Sync monitor for my hackintosh, a 7700K with a 1080 Ti.
I'm wondering if you found a solution, and also if some people don't have this problem, or if it's definitely a bug that happens to everyone.
(positive replies would be helpful :) )

I'll wait before I enable G-Sync on macos !

thanks !
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte-Z170-HD3P
CPU
I5-6600K
Graphics
R9 380X
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Reporting the same problem. When coming from macOS and booting Windows, G-Sync is disabled. Coming from Windows directly into Windows leaves G-Sync enabled.

Workaround: unplug monitor cable and plug back in.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
3
Motherboard
MSI - Z370-A PRO ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX1080TI
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys ! I have the same issue and I found another workaround, instead of reboot use shutdown on macOS, then boot again on windows, Gsync will show up !

thanks
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2016
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Interesting -- that doesn't work for me. I have to actually power down and then power up the monitor for this to work.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2018
Messages
1
Motherboard
H187
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 20th Anniv. Mac
  3. Performa
  4. Plus
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi guys ! I have the same issue and I found another workaround, instead of reboot use shutdown on macOS, then boot again on windows, Gsync will show up !

thanks

Hey thanks, that worked for me.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
3
Motherboard
MSI - Z370-A PRO ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX1080TI
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Interesting -- that doesn't work for me. I have to actually power down and then power up the monitor for this to work.
Hey, I found out that as soon as you hit the reboot option on mac, even if you reboot mac to mac, afterwards if you shutdown then boot on windows, the issue will show up again, maybe it's something MacOs sends to the gpu while rebooting I don't know. However What I know is that if I always use shutdown, ALL the time, then it's alright. I just don't reboot at all anymore

Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2010
Messages
19
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I think it’s normal: when you run Windows, and Gsync is turned on, that means there’s some kind of pairing process between the graphic card’s and the GSync module contained within the monitor; GSync technology is based on an electronic board with licensed technology to control dynamically the refresh rate of the screen. When Hackintosh is launched, there’s a lot of virtual hardware emulated to get the OS works, like NVRam and so on, so if the pairing has been done within MacOS and a patched/virtual graphic card unofficially supported, when you go back to windows the monitor sees a new graphic card, the real graphic card, and you have to enable GSync again to make the pairing again... This is my opinion, based on technical articles I grabbed around the web when I was looking after a way to make an add-on module to make any monitor GSync compliant

This is something of an old thread but I think you're on to something here. I have been having a problem where macOS will work fine with 2 monitors, one g-sync and one not. It'll work fine some of the time and then if I go to Windows and back to macOS, it'll freeze. I've tried everything I could think of until I decided just to unplug my second monitor.

The issue was that I was running macOS with no problems with my 1080. After using Windows for a while, I returned to macOS and the freezing started. Lots of troubleshooting later, I came across this thread. I'm going to do some more problem solving an see what's up.

I need to go into Windows and turn g-sync off so this doesn't get activated again. But before I do that, I'm going to go into Windows, leave g-sync on and return to macOS and see if I have the same problem.

edit: I booted into Windows and made sure that g-sync was on. I returned to macOS and g-sync over here is OFF. I was having the issue with my g-sync setting not being remembered in Windows. I'll have to back there and check to see if it's on. g-sync ON did survive a reboot from Windows in Windows so the setting sticks at least some of the time.

edit 2: rebooted into Windows. G-sync is OFF. Power cycling the monitor enables it again. I wonder if shutting down power cycles the monitor and that's why some have noticed that shutting down from macOS fixes the problem. The key seems to be that g-sync needs to be OFF for macOS to work properly with 2 displays when one of them is a g-sync monitor.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 12, 2016
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey, I found out that as soon as you hit the reboot option on mac, even if you reboot mac to mac, afterwards if you shutdown then boot on windows, the issue will show up again, maybe it's something MacOs sends to the gpu while rebooting I don't know. However What I know is that if I always use shutdown, ALL the time, then it's alright. I just don't reboot at all anymore

Thanks
This thread hasn't been added to in a while, but I thought I'd mention that for me at least the problem has disappeared.

I've moved to whatevergreen.kext and Lilu to replace nvidiagraphicsfixup.kext (and Shiki) and moved all kexts to Library/Extensions from EFI/Clover/kexts/Other (keeping a copy of fakeSMC.kext in Clover of course).

Now in Windows my G-Sync monitor always shows G-Sync active after restarting following a MacOS session, without having to power cycle the display.

Your mileage may vary, of course.
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, i have the same issue. I have install NVidia Web Driver 387.10.10.10.40.122 on my MacOS HighSierra 10.13.6.
On Mac i can enable the G-Sync mode and the screen switch to G-Sync mode ON.
But when i restart to windows the G-Sync mode is disabled and i need to reset the screen (or unplug/replug the DP cable) to reactivate G-Sync mode.
I try to install lilu and whatevergreen kexts in Library/Extensions but they do nothing. @creepyTowel do you use specific options for lilu and/or whatevergreen ?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top