Contribute
Register

Stork's MyHero II Build: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X - i7-8700K - AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 18, 2014
Messages
17
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Well, I've assembled my new hackintosh replacing my mainboard and CPU (7700K to 8800K), and... Surprise! System boots "as is", no problem at all.

Only problem is suspension. System wakes, but inmediatly boots again. Any clue on this? Thanks.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,699
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Oct 25, 2012
Messages
43
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 580
Hi Stork. I just change my PCI-E wifi card to a BCM943602CS kit with BT from Amazon. The problem I have now is that the system doesn't sleep. Sleeps for to seconds and wake up again. I tried boot with the internal BT USB disconnected and the system sleeps well so I think this has something to do with this internal USB connector. I tried the two ports at the bottom of the motherboard.

Some one in this forum told me that I have to create a custom SSDT to use with USBInjectAll.kext and map this port to be "build in". Now in my system report doesn't say is "build in".




Do you think I have to do that? Or maybe there is a simpler solution.

This is my system:

CPU: Intel i5 8400
Motherboard: Asus Maximus X Hero
Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 740
Wifi/BT: BCM943602CS kit from Amazon https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00MBP25UK/?tag=tonymacx86-21
OS: High Sierra 10.13.3


Thank you very much in advance, your threads are awesome.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC)
CPU
Intel i7 8700k
Graphics
ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB ROG STRIX
Wow! I've never heard of that problem before. Can you boot directly into HS on your MacBook? If so, then I'd post the above in the UniBeast forum section to see what MacMan has to say about your MacBook/Clover/Windows problem.
Hey Stork,

I wanted to update this thread to let you know that I got it working a little while ago. I turned off BootCamp just in case. I found that my issue was that I did not format the USB as EFI before I used UniBeast (I did the normal format, but not EFI through the terminal). I didn't know of that requirement, and UniBeast did not complain when i created the USB drive.

I was wondering if you were able to get Bluetooth working via the onboard Bluetooth chipset of the motherboard or know where to figure it out? I haven't figured that one out, and it seems like most posts revolve around using a USB dongle instead.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,699
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey Stork,

I wanted to update this thread to let you know that I got it working a little while ago. I turned off BootCamp just in case. I found that my issue was that I did not format the USB as EFI before I used UniBeast (I did the normal format, but not EFI through the terminal). I didn't know of that requirement, and UniBeast did not complain when i created the USB drive...
Hmmm, I format the USB thumb drives as per the tonymacx86 guide(s) for installing macOS and have never run into that problem. However, I'm glad you found the solution to your problem. :thumbup:

I was wondering if you were able to get Bluetooth working via the onboard Bluetooth chipset of the motherboard or know where to figure it out? I haven't figured that one out, and it seems like most posts revolve around using a USB dongle instead.
I didn't buy the WiFi version of the HERO as I knew that wasn't compatible with macOS; most motherboard companies use the Intel WiFi/BT chipset as I assume they get a better price than from Broadcom.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,699
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I updated to High Sierra 10.13.4 from HS 10.13.3 following my procedures I wrote for the macOS 10.13.4 Update guide, Post #2, which I'll summarize here.

:ch: Backup your current installation using Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper;
:ch: Update your apfs.efi according to tonymacx86s guide How to Update + Current and Past apfs.efi Downloads;
:ch: Don't reboot as the installer will do it several times (see below).
:ch: Since I'm using a AMD RX 580 graphics card, I mounted the EFI partition and changed RadeonDeInit flag to No in the config.plist;
:ch: If you're using Whatevergreen.kext, move it to the trash, download the latest version from Downloads > Kext menu (top right, this page) and move it to the Desktop for future use, if needed (I didn't need it);
:ch: Modify your /EFI/EFI/Clover/config.plist file to replace the USB port limits patch with the patch in Post #84; Note: this replaces the existing Increase 15 Port Limit patch:
Code:
<key>KextsToPatch</key>
        <array>
         ...
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>USB 10.13.4+ by PMHeart</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>
                g32UDw+DlwQAAA==
                </data>
                <key>InfoPlistPatch</key>
                <false/>
                <key>MatchOS</key>
                <string>10.13.x</string>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>com.apple.driver.usb.AppleUSBXHCI</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>
                g32UD5CQkJCQkA==
                </data>
            </dict>
         ...
        </array>
:ch: Download the High Sierra 10.13.4 Update or the Combo Update in Post #1 or the Update from Apple's Mac App Store and run it to update 10.13.3 ;
:ch: The updater will cause your system to reboot several times (see Post #52 for details); on my system, I downed the 10.13.4 Updater and experienced the following (YMMV):
:ch: First and second reboots, at the Clover Boot menu, the default was "Boot FileVault Prebooter from Preboot" which was not what it should be; so I selected "Boot macOS Install Prebooter from Prebooot" > make sure that is selected;
:ch: Third reboot again defaulted to "Boot FileVault Prebooter from Preboot" > change to "Boot Installed (your installation disk) and it will finish your installation;​
:ch: Upon rebooting into High Sierra after the last reboot, you can:
:ch: MyHero II's audio had to be "reinstalled", so I reran MultiBeast just selecting the following:
:ch: Drivers > Audio > Realtek ALC8xx > ALC1220
:ch: Drivers > Audio > 100/200/300 Series Audio
:ch: Build > Install
:ch: Reboot after installation is completed.​
:ch: Upon rebooting, if you don't have audio, do the following:
:ch: Run MultiBeast again, just selecting the Drivers > Audio > Realtek ALC8xx > ALC1220;
:ch: Don't reboot, yet. In the Terminal, enter the following followed by a return and type in your Admin password:
Code:
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions/
:ch: Now reboot and you should have audio.​
:ch: (Optional) Update to the latest version of Clover which you can download using the tonymacx86 Downloads > Clover Builds.​
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
39
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 650 Ti
Mobile Phone
iOS
Stork

Thank you for all the work you have done for this organization. I have used your Thunderbolt build happily for quite a while now but it is getting a little old and since my wife is going away for 2 weeks this is a good time for building a new computer. 2 questions.
1. In post 36 you said High Sierra was buggy. Now I see you updated to 10.13.4 from 10.13.3. Do you find 10.13.4 stable enough for a build I use for a production system?

2. Is there any inference or worry to be drawn from this being a User build and not a Golden build? Seems like most posters get a good result from My Hero 2 and I thought my build would copy My Hero II (if I can find the Fenvi card.)
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,699
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Stork

Thank you for all the work you have done for this organization. I have used your Thunderbolt build happily for quite a while now but it is getting a little old and since my wife is going away for 2 weeks this is a good time for building a new computer. 2 questions.
1. In post 36 you said High Sierra was buggy. Now I see you updated to 10.13.4 from 10.13.3. Do you find 10.13.4 stable enough for a build I use for a production system?
Yes. I can now recommend that folks upgrade to High Sierra 10.13.4. Sleep/wake-up works (got broken in 10.13.3) and, most importantly, full support for the RX and Vega graphics cards (although there are numerous reports of the Vegas fans operating at a high speed).

2. Is there any inference or worry to be drawn from this being a User build and not a Golden build? Seems like most posters get a good result from My Hero 2 and I thought my build would copy My Hero II (if I can find the Fenvi card.)
I was waiting to upgrade to HS 10.13.4 before moving it to a Golden Build. Thanks for reminding me. :thumbup: However, I have to get some free time to update Post #1's installation procedures before I move it.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2018
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 5 Z370
CPU
Intel 8700k
Graphics
Gigabyte Aorus RX580 8GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Yes. I can now recommend that folks upgrade to High Sierra 10.13.4. Sleep/wake-up works (got broken in 10.13.3) and, most importantly, full support for the RX and Vega graphics cards (although there are numerous reports of the Vegas fans operating at a high speed).

I was waiting to upgrade to HS 10.13.4 before moving it to a Golden Build. Thanks for reminding me. :thumbup: However, I have to get some free time to update Post #1's installation procedures before I move it.
Hi Stork, do you use FCPX by any chance? I'm running into an issue where I can't export H264 files, in a similar setup as yours. Any ideas?
 
Top