Contribute
Register

Stork's MyHero II Build: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X - i7-8700K - AMD RX 580

Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS Z370 ROG MAXIMUS X HERO
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX VEGA 56
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, you can use the VGTab utility to customize the fan speeds and then create a kext that will fix the fans. You can find the VGTab utility attached to post #1 of my Z370 build thread. Link is below in my signature.
Great! Works like a charm! I set the idle speed to 1000 and target speed to 4900 then installed it with KextBeast. Now the machine is as silent as in High Sierra.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
31
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VIII Hero
CPU
i7-6700k
Graphics
GTX 980
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have been enjoying my build for a while now. I don't restart it much so I never decided to post it. Now that everything works as expected, I have to post one last issue I am facing. My reboots take an extremely long time. Somewhere between 6-8 minutes.

Once I select to boot High Sierra, the screen displays an Apple logo with progress bar. It goes half way and then the resolution switches to 4K (I have a 4K screen). This is where it takes a while before the login screen is shown. The screen is black, and I can see and use the mouse cursor.

I decided to try verbose mode in Clover. All the console output seems good. The console output shows for a few seconds as well and the screen switches to GUI in 4K with black screen and cursor.

Any idea what could be causing this? Or at least where I can see some logs to figure out what might be causing this? @Stork
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,499
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@dirtydignity, No, I haven't a clue as to the cause of your problem. I have used MyHero II on a Dell P2716Q 4K monitor w/o any delays. Maybe @pastrychef can jump in here to help.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
15,347
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have been enjoying my build for a while now. I don't restart it much so I never decided to post it. Now that everything works as expected, I have to post one last issue I am facing. My reboots take an extremely long time. Somewhere between 6-8 minutes.

Once I select to boot High Sierra, the screen displays an Apple logo with progress bar. It goes half way and then the resolution switches to 4K (I have a 4K screen). This is where it takes a while before the login screen is shown. The screen is black, and I can see and use the mouse cursor.

I decided to try verbose mode in Clover. All the console output seems good. The console output shows for a few seconds as well and the screen switches to GUI in 4K with black screen and cursor.

Any idea what could be causing this? Or at least where I can see some logs to figure out what might be causing this? @Stork

I experienced something similar before and fixed it by enabling the -disablegfxfirmware boot argument. Also, make sure that you DO NOT have "Debug" enabled.

Screen Shot 2018-10-25 at 8.34.38 AM.png
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2013
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
After having realized i couldn't export video from FCPX using the Sapphire Nitro, I ended up returning the card to replace it with a 8gb Pulse. Everything is working perfectly with imac18,3 definition: my suspects about the nitro not being totally compatible proven to be true, at least in this build/config.

I went the extra mile by trying to enable Intel iGPU to improve video encode/decode performances.
I report the extra steps i found necessary (besides using the exact same config suggested by @Stork )

Bios:
Advanced --> System Agent (SA) Configuration --> Graphics Configuration
Primary Display: PEG
iGPU Multi-Monitor: Enabled
DMVT Pre-Allocated: 128M

Clover:
DSDT Patches:
GFX0 --> IGPU | 47465830 --> 49475055
PEG0 --> GFX0 | 50454750 --> 47465830

edit: after some proper testing, i realized the DSDT patches are not necessary: everything works as expected even after sleep.
ig-platform-id: 0x59120003
this is the important part, if left empty makes the system automatically pick 0x59120000, causing crashes on iGPU utilization.

Using IPG (intel Power Gadget) i can see the green line relative to the iGPU, which shows activity while watching videos and encoding using Premiere and VideoProc (the old MacX VideoConverter). Previewing videos with iGPU enabled really looks and feels smoother.
On FinalCut, i can see iGPU activity while exporting regular projects, but it doesn't get used on BruceX test. Still, i get a respectable 15sec time for the ProRes422 5k Export.

Would love to have feedbacks from someone else who successfully enabled iGPU using this build, just to make sure i'm not missing something important.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS Z370 ROG MAXIMUS X HERO
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX VEGA 56
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
After having realized i couldn't export video from FCPX using the Sapphire Nitro, I ended up returning the card to replace it with a 8gb Pulse. Everything is working perfectly with imac18,3 definition: my suspects about the nitro not being totally compatible proven to be true, at least in this build/config.

I went the extra mile by trying to enable Intel iGPU to improve video encode/decode performances.
I report the extra steps i found necessary (besides using the exact same config suggested by @Stork )

Bios:
Advanced --> System Agent (SA) Configuration --> Graphics Configuration
Primary Display: PEG
iGPU Multi-Monitor: Enabled
DMVT Pre-Allocated: 128M

Clover:
DSDT Patches:
GFX0 --> IGPU | 47465830 --> 49475055
PEG0 --> GFX0 | 50454750 --> 47465830

edit: after some proper testing, i realized the DSDT patches are not necessary: everything works as expected even after sleep.
ig-platform-id: 0x59120003
this is the important part, if left empty makes the system automatically pick 0x59120000, causing crashes on iGPU utilization.

Using IPG (intel Power Gadget) i can see the green line relative to the iGPU, which shows activity while watching videos and encoding using Premiere and VideoProc (the old MacX VideoConverter). Previewing videos with iGPU enabled really looks and feels smoother.
On FinalCut, i can see iGPU activity while exporting regular projects, but it doesn't get used on BruceX test. Still, i get a respectable 15sec time for the ProRes422 5k Export.

Would love to have feedbacks from someone else who successfully enabled iGPU using this build, just to make sure i'm not missing something important.

@beatnaph I had the same problem with VEGA card. I fixed it by changing my System definition to imac 19,1

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/high-sierra-rx-vega-final-cut-h-264-fix.233067/
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2011
Messages
37
Motherboard
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Followed this guide for the Asus Maximus XI Hero with an 8700K and pc doesn't shutdown or restart, any way to fix it? Also how can I know if cpu power management is working? Thanks
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,499
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Followed this guide for the Asus Maximus XI Hero with an 8700K and pc doesn't shutdown or restart, any way to fix it? Also how can I know if cpu power management is working? Thanks
I have no idea how to fix your problem since your Z390 HERO is so new. You might want to review these threads as users are reporting their experiences with the new Z390 motherboard based systems.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/z390-and-i7-8700k-any-successful-builds.263395/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/asus-rog-strix-z390-i-gaming-motherboard-specs.259848/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/intel-9th-gen-cpu-and-z390-chipset.262040/
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2011
Messages
37
Motherboard
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO
CPU
Intel i7 6700K
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I have no idea how to fix your problem since your Z390 HERO is so new. You might want to review these threads as users are reporting their experiences with the new Z390 motherboard based systems.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/z390-and-i7-8700k-any-successful-builds.263395/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/asus-rog-strix-z390-i-gaming-motherboard-specs.259848/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/intel-9th-gen-cpu-and-z390-chipset.262040/
Ahh okay, the fonts of display look a bit blurry , I'm using an RX 580 like you but it's a Strix, also like I asked how can I know if the cpu power management is working?
 
Top