Contribute
Register

Stork's MyHero II Build: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X - i7-8700K - AMD RX 580

Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
148
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
I confirmed it is related to a DisplayPort issue. I reinstalled 10.15.5 today and plugged in another HDMI cable. The second display is working now.

...
Hi @ed.stein I have a question on something that is not clear to me: the problem you solved using an HDMI cable instead of the DP is related only to the second monitor?
I use the DP and I would not find myself without even the primary screen in the middle of the update phase.

Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
48
Motherboard
ASUS Z370 MAXIMUS HERO X
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes, it’s that issue. As far as I understand, this is a problem with DisplayPorts. There are workarounds posted in this forum, I just haven’t tried any yet. Though I plan on doing that in a near future. But yes, that shouldn’t work with your DisplayPort.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,387
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
148
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Thanks @ed.stein and Hi @Stork, I think I understand,
even if you didn't answer me if it was only for the second monitor, but from the last sentence it seems clear to me that you said that the problem applies to everything.
Reading a bit on the Catalina forum, I happened to find that the problem with the DP occurred several times even with versions prior to 10.15.5, but I have never had problems with the RX580 (in orinoco as Stork indicated in the first installation guide and as suggested above), not even with the current card that worked a bit in orinoco at the beginning, then now it is without any particular setting. So due to the fact that it is a problem already present before, in some cases, I think it is not related to the specific of 10.15.5 and that if it worked in 10.15.4, it should also work in .5 and your solution should be in some settings. The problem is to put my hand on the fire :p but as soon as I have some time I will try and at most return to .4 from the backup.
In any case I will update the info here ... and you too keep updating us, so we save each other's headaches.

Greetings and thanks
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
48
Motherboard
ASUS Z370 MAXIMUS HERO X
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Did you run DCPIManager to see if you were operating with the correct framebuffer for the RX 580? See https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...s-z370-hero-x-i7-8700k-amd-rx-580.245074/#580
Well, that's weird. When I first installed 10.14.4 using this exact tutorial, it showed up, so I didn't even bother to look it up again. But yeah, even though it did show when I first installed 10.14.4, now on 10.15.5 it disappeared...

Screen Shot 2020-06-12 at 11.40.48.jpg


I'm pretty confused about this one since it shouldn't (at least I think) have changed, but I'll try to go through that next section and see if it fixes.

Thanks @ed.stein and Hi @Stork, I think I understand,
even if you didn't answer me if it was only for the second monitor, but from the last sentence it seems clear to me that you said that the problem applies to everything.
Reading a bit on the Catalina forum, I happened to find that the problem with the DP occurred several times even with versions prior to 10.15.5, but I have never had problems with the RX580 (in orinoco as Stork indicated in the first installation guide and as suggested above), not even with the current card that worked a bit in orinoco at the beginning, then now it is without any particular setting. So due to the fact that it is a problem already present before, in some cases, I think it is not related to the specific of 10.15.5 and that if it worked in 10.15.4, it should also work in .5 and your solution should be in some settings. The problem is to put my hand on the fire :p but as soon as I have some time I will try and at most return to .4 from the backup.
In any case I will update the info here ... and you too keep updating us, so we save each other's headaches.

Greetings and thanks
Sorry about that, I thought I was clear. The problem is not regarding the monitor, it's regarding the DisplayPort, as you've seen in other posts. So it really doesn't matter if it's the main, the secondary, etc. Anyway, I'll validate my settings to match Stork's post above and see if it fixes. I'll let you know
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
48
Motherboard
ASUS Z370 MAXIMUS HERO X
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok, that was a curve ball... @Stork do you know if that app would work on Catalina? It seems it's trying to read from /S/L/E. Anyway, I did change my config.plist, but it didn't work. This screenshot was taken after reboot:

Screen Shot 2020-06-12 at 12.22.23.jpg


The "only" difference is that now I don't have Lilu and WhateverGreen in L/E, instead now they are located in EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,387
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@ed.stein, I just looked at the DPCIManager home page, and noticed it hasn't been updated since 2014. So, it's not Catalina compatible. Since I'm not running Catalina, I recommend looking at


 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,398
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
@ed.stein, I just looked at the DPCIManager home page, and noticed it hasn't been updated since 2014. So, it's not Catalina compatible.
Works ok for me :

DPCI.png
 
Top