Contribute
Register

Stork's MyHero II Build: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X - i7-8700K - AMD RX 580 - Thunderbolt 3

Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
42
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In post 448 Stork said

First Method
The easy way is to install Mojave "over" a working installation of High Sierra 10.13.6.

I'm running 10.13.5. Can I install Mojave over it per post 448 or do I have to update to 10.13.6 first?
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,668
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
In post 448 Stork said
First Method
The easy way is to install Mojave "over" a working installation of High Sierra 10.13.6.
I'm running 10.13.5. Can I install Mojave over it per post 448 or do I have to update to 10.13.6 first?
Yes, I recommend it.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS Z370 ROG MAXIMUS X HERO
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX VEGA 56
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi again! Both GPU seems to work but there is something weird going on. FPS cap at 60fps in both cinebench and heaven. And heaven benchmark says i have 256mb memory in the vega 56. The system can recognize the 8176MB memory though.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2019-03-02 at 08.37.43.png
    Screenshot 2019-03-02 at 08.37.43.png
    43.5 KB · Views: 13
  • Screenshot 2019-03-02 at 08.29.11.png
    Screenshot 2019-03-02 at 08.29.11.png
    68.4 KB · Views: 24
  • Screenshot 2019-03-02 at 08.49.08.png
    Screenshot 2019-03-02 at 08.49.08.png
    20.7 KB · Views: 22

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
16,510
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi again! Both GPU seems to work but there is something weird going on. FPS cap at 60fps in both cinebench and heaven. And heaven benchmark says i have 256mb memory in the vega 56. The system can recognize the 8176MB memory though.

When you run the benchmarks, make sure Safari is not running. When I ran Unigine Heaven and Valley with Safari open, everything was capped at 60fps too.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS Z370 ROG MAXIMUS X HERO
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX VEGA 56
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When you run the benchmarks, make sure Safari is not running. When I ran Unigine Heaven and Valley with Safari open, everything was capped at 60fps too.
It got more FPS without any browser running but not as good as i used to Im thinking maybe i have some kexts loaded that should not be there. I have for example some kexts in EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other that also exist in /L/E can i remove the "Other" kexts?

I went from 60FPS to 100FPS when closing chrome/safari
I went from 100FPS to 141FPS after removing following kexts from /L/E
FakeSMC_ACPISensors.kext/
FakeSMC_CPUSensors.kext/
FakeSMC_GPUSensors.kext/
FakeSMC_LPCSensors.kext/
FakeSMC_SMMSensors.kext/

Now its much better! :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS Z370 ROG MAXIMUS X HERO
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX VEGA 56
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Tried booting with your platform ID clover devices patch and it is exactly the same as letting whatevergreen injection on the fly - Still says UHD630 (Mobile). Wonder if that is because I am on High Sierra rather than Mojave, or because I have not updated the Framebuffer.kext since version 10.14.0. I will pull over the 10.14.3 version from my MacBook when I get the time just out of curiosity! Not like I even do any video encoding, but just like getting things to work :)
How does your System Report -> Graphics/Displays look like? I can only see my Vega 56 GPU there and when i go GPU history in Activity Monitor it only shows my Vega 56 but when i run the Video Converter it can find the Intel UHD Graphics 630. So something is rotten in the state of Denmark

Also when running geekbench i can only run test on Vega 56. it can not find the iGPU
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
120
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS HERO X Z370
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How does your System Report -> Graphics/Displays look like? I can only see my Vega 56 GPU there and when i go GPU history in Activity Monitor it only shows my Vega 56 but when i run the Video Converter it can find the Intel UHD Graphics 630. So something is rotten in the state of Denmark

Also when running geekbench i can only run test on Vega 56. it can not find the iGPU
I only see my RX580 under graphics / displays but as far as I am aware this is the normal and expected behaviour when CORRECTLY enabling the iGPU alongside a dGPU, also being the same on a real mac. Using IORegistryExplorer and searching for GPU will show that the system is using both the iGPU and PEG0, plus for me opening Geekbench and selecting the Compute tab does show both but I can only select my RX580 to benchmark.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2019-03-02 at 17.38.20.png
    Screen Shot 2019-03-02 at 17.38.20.png
    59.1 KB · Views: 49
  • Screen Shot 2019-03-02 at 17.39.38.png
    Screen Shot 2019-03-02 at 17.39.38.png
    191.6 KB · Views: 41
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
42
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I started to update from 10.13.5 to 10.13.6 per post 295. So first I installed Clover 4586. Now I can't boot to High Sierra at all so I can't perform the next step to edit the config.plist. On attempting to boot I get to the Clover 4586 screen ... testing hardware ...user settings ... scan entries... boot MacOS from High Sierra then the screen goes blank and the computer reboots. What to do?
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS Z370 ROG MAXIMUS X HERO
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX VEGA 56
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I only see my RX580 under graphics / displays but as far as I am aware this is the normal and expected behaviour when CORRECTLY enabling the iGPU alongside a dGPU, also being the same on a real mac. Using IORegistryExplorer and searching for GPU will show that the system is using both the iGPU and PEG0, plus for me opening Geekbench and selecting the Compute tab does show both but I can only select my RX580 to benchmark.
Great! Then it's probably how it should be. The reason I was wondering was because on my MacBook Pro 15" 2017 I can see two graphics cards. But there I also can choose which one to use for my display.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,668
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I started to update from 10.13.5 to 10.13.6 per post 295. So first I installed Clover 4586. Now I can't boot to High Sierra at all so I can't perform the next step to edit the config.plist. On attempting to boot I get to the Clover 4586 screen ... testing hardware ...user settings ... scan entries... boot MacOS from High Sierra then the screen goes blank and the computer reboots. What to do?
The current Clover version in the tonymacx86 Downloads is r4862. Can you boot into 10.13.5 from your USB Installer? If so, download the Clover r4862 installer, put on your USB Installer, boot into 10.13.15 and run the Clover installer.
 
Top