Contribute
Register

Stork's MyHero II Build: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X - i7-8700K - AMD RX 580 - Thunderbolt 3

Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
533
Motherboard
Asus ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@luckyal, You are right. But exactly the highlighted line from your image is missing on (my) MAXIMUS X HERO's 1801 BIOS.
I wonder if it is hidden somewhere else, but I think I've already been through every option 10+ times.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
397
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900k
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@luckyal, You are right. But exactly the highlighted line from your image is missing on (my) MAXIMUS X HERO's 1801 BIOS.
I wonder if it is hidden somewhere else, but I think I've already been through every option 10+ times.
get into your BIOS, go into TOOL>Graphics Card Information>GPU Post
Take a picture and post it here like so:
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2210.jpg
    IMG_2210.jpg
    226 KB · Views: 60
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
78
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Hi Maximus X Hero owners,

has anyone of you managed to define the PCI graphic card as primary device during system POST while iGPU Multi-Monitor is enabled (for later headless use in macOS)?

I do not find an option in Hero´s BIOS (1801).
Other Asus boards seem to have something like "Advanced / System Agent (SA) Configuration / Graphics Configuration / Primary Display - PCIE".
The only option in that section is to dis/enable "iGPU Multi Monitor", but disabled the iGPU is not active in macOS, enabled it does take over as primary during POST.

PS: Thanks @Stork for the detailed build description!

@Say Heading

I had exactly your issues with a recent build, and found out the option to set Primary Graphics has been missing from the graphics configuration menu for recent BIOS's for several Asus Z370 boards. I have a Hero X with the 9900k, and had to roll back to BIOS 1602 in order to once again be able to set primary display to PEG. Since you're using the 9700k according to your sig, rolling back could solve the issue for you too. Neither BIOS 1704 or BIOS 1801 has the option to set primary graphics

I also emailed ASUS support, and they acknowledged the issue and sent me a developmental BIOS which they stated would fix the issue. I have yet to try it since things are working OK with BIOS 1602, but if you'd like to try, let me know and I can attach it to a post.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
533
Motherboard
Asus ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
get into your BIOS, go into TOOL>Graphics Card Information>GPU Post
Take a picture and post it here like so:

Okay, here we go:

190120180907.jpg



But I think @golfleep is on the right track already.
I also started an email conversation with ASUS, awaiting their reply.
As they will most probably also supply the developmental BIOS, why not try the one?
@golfleep would you be so kind to attach it? I'm not sure whether I will dare to use it, as beyond the POST issue everything is working fine, but why not tinker...
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
78
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
@Say Heading

Glad you emailed ASUS, as hopefully the more people that provide feedback regarding the need to be able to set primary display, the more likely they'll bring it back into the regular BIOS updates. For me, not being to access POST or the Clover boot screen was a significant issue since I dual boot into Windows
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
533
Motherboard
Asus ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks, but is it really for the Maximus X Hero, because the file name is ...x-Hero-WIFI?

Yep, the missing POST is somehow annoying but on the other hand mostly cosmetic on my macOS only rig.
I'll chime back in once I dared to use the version...
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
78
Motherboard
Asus Maximus X Hero
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Thanks, but is it really for the Maximus X Hero, because the file name is ...x-Hero-WIFI?

Yep, the missing POST is somehow annoying but on the other hand mostly cosmetic on my macOS only rig.
I'll chime back in once I dared to use the version...

You're right, I do have the Wifi version of the Hero X. The BIOS's are numbered the same for both versions of the board (wifi and non-wifi). That said, I don't know if they are interchangeable.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2014
Messages
183
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 530
CPU
Q9650
Graphics
GTX 750 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I had a MacPro5,1 with 64GB of RAM. I was also concerned with the 32GB RAM limit of Intel chipsets up to 5th gen. I was extremely happy that, with Skylake, Intel increased the RAM limit to 64GB. It was also when I did my first build.

I knew it was more than enough for me because my system never used "swap memory" and my "page outs" always remained at zero even with weeks of uptime. This can be easily seen by using iStat Menus.

View attachment 380722
This image is from my laptop.

That's good to note @pastrychef. Even with my 128 (mac pro) and my 64 (hackintosh) gig machines I do get some paging going on, so it's not going to be so fantastic for me I fear. I'm guessing a NVMe would probably minimize the swap issue though when I really push it hard. HMMMMMMM.

I guess really I could push it all the way with an i9-9900K. How's stability for you on the i9? I haven't really read much about it yet... been hankering for a new Xeon system, but I just don't think I should go down that road if I can get the prosumer stuff to cut it for me due to some of the stability concerns I've heard before.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
18,841
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
RX 6600 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That's good to note @pastrychef. Even with my 128 (mac pro) and my 64 (hackintosh) gig machines I do get some paging going on, so it's not going to be so fantastic for me I fear. I'm guessing a NVMe would probably minimize the swap issue though when I really push it hard. HMMMMMMM.

I guess really I could push it all the way with an i9-9900K. How's stability for you on the i9? I haven't really read much about it yet... been hankering for a new Xeon system, but I just don't think I should go down that road if I can get the prosumer stuff to cut it for me due to some of the stability concerns I've heard before.

What do you run that you are using up 128GB? Are you sure one of your apps don't have a memory leak? If you need 128GB, you can do a build with X299.

i9-9900K is running solid for me. Every bit as solid as my i7-8700K did. I think I recored over 40 days of uptime in macOS.
 
Top