Contribute
Register

Stork's MyHero II Build: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS Z370 HERO X - i7-8700K - AMD RX 580 - Thunderbolt 3

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,785
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's just a few bytes of data that includes the MAC address of the system you're trying to wake. Once the target computer receives this packet, it wakes the system.
How does one go about doing this?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,514
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How does one go about doing this?

Some apps do it automatically. For example, I think the macOS built-in VNC client automatically sends the magic packet.

If you want to do it manually, you can use an app. If you search for "magic packet" in the Mac App Store, there are a few apps that do it. Or here's a free one:
http://www.readpixel.com/wakeonlan/
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,785
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Some apps do it automatically. For example, I think the macOS built-in VNC client automatically sends the magic packet.

If you want to do it manually, you can use an app. If you search for "magic packet" in the Mac App Store, there are a few apps that do it. Or here's a free one:
http://www.readpixel.com/wakeonlan/
Thanks. I have WakeOnLAN. The app doesn't see the sleeping system. You have to run the app when all systems are awake/running to get the IP address and MAC. So, given those requirements, you can re-awake a system.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,514
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks. I have WakeOnLAN. The app doesn't see the sleeping system. You have to run the app when all systems are awake/running to get the IP address and MAC. So, given those requirements, you can re-awake a system.

Yes. The magic packet contains the MAC address of the target computer.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2011
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I've never tried waking my hack from my Apple TV, but if the software sends the magic packets automatically, then there's no reason why it won't work.

I've even waken my hack through my iPhone when on vacation.
It‘s not woken from the Appe TV directly via App. Instead (as far as I understood) the Mac knows there’s an Apple TV (or similarly supported device) on the network (thanks to Bonjour I guess) and Registers itself with it once it goes to sleep; the Apple TV then takes the Mac‘s MAC-address and sets itself up to receive any incoming packets that are meant to go to the Mac (not sure whether it spoofs it’s own MAC and whether ad how that could and would work with multiple computers doing The same). Once it receives such packets (that might originate from VNC app, a ping, SSH connection attempt, ...) it simply sends the magic packet to wake the machine and gets itself out of the way.
It‘s basically a shorthand to not have to send the magic packet manually but have it sent automatically whenever any connection is attempted.

Thanks. I have WakeOnLAN. The app doesn't see the sleeping system. You have to run the app when all systems are awake/running to get the IP address and MAC. So, given those requirements, you can re-awake a system.
This sounds promising, thanks for digging deeper. I guess I‘ll go with the ASUS for my build and check it out in my network setup! :)
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
125
Motherboard
Mac Pro 6,1 2013
CPU
Xeon > Need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
D700 dual + Radeon VII eGPU
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
please provide full efi folder for this config
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,785
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am making this build but relying on the internal graphics instead. What changes would I need to make to the basic configuration? BIOS or MultiBeast wise. Inject HD 6xx?
I don't know as I've not used internal graphics since my Z68 builds. @pastrychef will know as he has an ASUS motherboard and tried the internal graphics.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
220
Motherboard
Asus H370M-Plus
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
Pulse RX580 8GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Not bad, once you break the code. I did the following:
- Add the FBName = Orinoco and Inject > ATI=true & Intel=True to config.plist which you can do with Clover Configurator
Code:
    <key>Graphics</key>
    <dict>
        <key>FBName</key>
        <string>Orinoco</string>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Intel</key>
            <true/>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
    </dict>
- Added Lili and Whatevergreen kexts to /Library/Extensions/ with KextBeast.​

That's it!

Frankly, I don't know how long this will work. So, I'm also exploring a config.plist KextToPatch that might work longer as we proceed into Mojave. However, I'm hoping Apple realizes that Sapphire has changed the RX 580 Pulse's part #s since this Spring and makes all RX 580 use the Orinoco framebuffer. :thumbup:

I tried this with 10.14.1 but it causes reboots with iTunes and Fcpx.
 
Top