Contribute
Register

Stork's MyHero Build: ASUS ROG Z170 MAXIMUS VIII HERO - i7-6700K - GTX 980

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
16,461
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This is the screenshot of the bios setting. It is not the same as mine. I don't see the same settings as yours, but they works fine so I think I can leave them as they are

Is there a particular reason why you have increased the MB to 192 from 64?

I don't know why you don't have the option to set the DVMT Pre-Allocated, but if Quick Sync is working, I guess it's fine. I think it can be an issue if you use IGPU for display but you have a dGPU so you should be okay.

No reason. I was just testing to see if there were any differences between 64MB and 192MB. I couldn't see any and reverted back to 64MB.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
141
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 UD
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't know why you don't have the option to set the DVMT Pre-Allocated, but if Quick Sync is working, I guess it's fine. I think it can be an issue if you use IGPU for display but you have a dGPU so you should be okay.

No reason. I was just testing to see if there were any differences between 64MB and 192MB. I couldn't see any and reverted back to 64MB.

you need to enable igpu, save, reboot, then set dvmt memory
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2012
Messages
122
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 960
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
High Sierra 10.13.6 will recognize the Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8GB graphics card OOB which is why I'm using this card is serveral of my rigs. You may have problems with other brands/models of AMD cards.

To switch graphics cards, first boot using the GTX 960. In the config.plist, set the SystemParameters/NvidiaWeb = No. Then, remove the Nvidia drivers using the Nvidia System Preference pane Uninstall option. When it wants to reboot, shut down and install the Sapphire RX 580 Pulse 8GB graphics card. That should do it. :thumbup:

Just bought a second hand Sapphire Pulse RX580 8 gb today, and followed your indications. It *almost* worked OOB : I get a purple screen when logging in to OSX ( I'm still on High Sierra).

I am using a DVI-to-HDMI cable to connect to my monitor, this scheme has been working like a charm with my previous GTX 960 board for several months. So I replicated the same type of connection when I first plugged in the RX580 but bumped into that purple color problem.

Note that on booting, either into UEFI or during initial "Apple loading" , the colours are perfectly normal - the while apple is really white. It's only after the hackintosh gets into login screen that the screen becomes purple.

I got rid of that issue by using a HDMI to HDMI cable plugged into the HDMI port of the RX580 instead of the DVI port.

So , the question is : what could have cause this purple screen when I use the DVI port ? When I connect the DVI-HDMI cable to a secondary monitor ( my tv screen in fact) the tv screen inherits from that purple tinge, while my main monitor ( i.e using hdmi-hdmi connection) displays correct colours. Any idea what could be wrong? I checked in the forum, and there are a couple of cases mentioning a quite similar issue, but I could not really make sense out of the threads . More specially I do not understand why this connection worked fine with my previous nvidia GTX 960 and not working correctly with the RX580.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,661
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@HacKDo, no idea what is causing your problem. I think you problem is for the Graphics gurus in the Graphics forum section. However, if your monitor uses an HDMI, then use the RX 580's HDMI port since it works.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2012
Messages
122
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 960
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@HacKDo, no idea what is causing your problem. I think you problem is for the Graphics gurus in the Graphics forum section. However, if your monitor uses an HDMI, then use the RX 580's HDMI port since it works.
Thanks Stork. So for the time being , I’ll be using the Rx 580 hdmi port, I’ll post a separate thread for this purple tinge mystery. A newbie question : For the time being, and before diving into Mojave update, is there any way I can check that my rig is benefiting from the rx 580 hardware accélération ? Any tool available?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2019
Messages
11
CPU
i5
Graphics
iris
Hey Stork - TY for your advice etc. I am looking at this build of yours, and showed it to my daughter's fiance who is going to help me with a build. He reckons that I should follow this one, but some of the parts are no longer available, or not available here in Australia.

Anyway, I was hoping you could give me pointers at other options for:
CPU cooler - I want to go with air cooled;
Fenvi FV-T919 WiFi/Bluetooth 4 PCIe Card - Handoff and Continuity
LG CD/DVD Burner Model GH22NS70

I also wanted to get a 256gb SSD - and then a 2tb hard drive. Can you suggest any that would be compatible with your build?

TY in advance for your considerations.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,661
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@Ivagone
I recommend you look at the tonymacx86 Buyer's Guide for your needs/requirements.

I recommend the ARCTIC Freezer 7 Pro Rev. 2 for a good air CPU cooler. It's inexpensive and will work fine even for mild overclocking. If you are overclocking your processor, then an air cooler like the http://www.jdoqocy.com/click-490241...com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835608072 is very good which @pastrychef uses.

The Fenvi FV-T919 WiFi/Bluetooth 4 PCIe card works OOB which is why I use it. The Fenvi card uses a Broadcom WiFi/BT combo card that is a clone of the card Apple uses in it's iMacs of several years ago. I get the 1300ac speeds on my Fenvi T919 cards easily. I also use a TP-Link Archer T9E 802.11AC AC1900 wireless card, which also works OOB with macOS, but you'll need a USB Bluetooth dongle with the T9E such as the GMYLE Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter which is what I use with the T9E.

Choosing an optical drive, CD/DVD Burner, is dependent upon support in macOS. I haven't bought one in a while since I have my 2010 Mac Pro and earlier hackintoshes with compatible optical drives. If the LG GH22NS70 is no longer available, look on LG's web site for the current model. The LG model in the Buyer's Guide will work although I haven't tried it personally.

As for your SSD and HDD needs, I use Samsung SSDs and Seagate HDDs. The Buyer's Guide also lists these drives.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2012
Messages
122
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 960
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys,

So I am ready to take the plunge to replace High Sierra with Mojave on my main rig (ASUS Z170 / I7 6770K / Sapphire Pulse RX 580). Of course I already have a backup of my data ( which is installed on a separate SSD anyway ).

I want to erase my system disk so as to do a fresh install of Mojave ( reason why is that since 3 years , I have been updating with High Sierra releases, and installing various programs, and I note that the startup time of my Hack has increased over time ). So I hope that a fresh install will improve things. ( Any idea about that by the way ?).

Another couple of questions as I am a bit confused :

So I need to install the initial Mojave 10.14.1 , then, once my rig is up and running, I proceed with the 10.14.4 combo update ? Is that right? Or is there a way to download and install 10.14.4 directly ?

For such a rig , with a Mojave installation, are there any additional special steps that I need to do, apart from the ones detailed in the official Tonymac installation guide ? (with respect to Graphics / USB 3 / Graphics etc...)

Thanks for your help.
 
Top