Contribute
Register

Stork's MyHero Build: ASUS ROG Z170 MAXIMUS VIII HERO - i7-6700K - GTX 980

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
218
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
2x Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
How did you make the other drive?
Following the guide here for Seirra. Remember I had always had a boot issue with the El Capitain. Now its back on this drive I just made
Try to switch OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi to the one from here
#3

Im using the osxaptiofix2000 which makes my working drive fully boot. There is something else I am missing.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
424
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z370-G GAMING (WI-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
218
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
2x Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Try to use EFI/Clover from working HD.

I meant to say in original post that works fine using the working EFI folder. I just want to figure out what the difference is. So that if I was to ever loose the working EFI folder(Which I now have on dropbox, google drive and one drive) I know how to fix. Something like this drives me crazy and cant stand not knowing.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
424
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z370-G GAMING (WI-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...170-maximus-viii-hero-i7-6700k-gtx-980.197284



I meant to say in original post that works fine using the working EFI folder. I just want to figure out what the difference is. So that if I was to ever loose the working EFI folder(Which I now have on dropbox, google drive and one drive) I know how to fix. Something like this drives me crazy and cant stand not knowing.
Then just compare the config.plists and folders in EFI/Clover and check for differences.
It´s not that complicated
 
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
218
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
2x Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Then just compare the config.plists and folders in EFI/Clover and check for differences.
It´s not that complicated


I have I give up. I can take the EFI folder that works and install osx over and over and it works perfectly. I go and try from scratch and nothing boots less than half the time. Ill just keep my good efi folder in several places for safe keeping.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
3
Motherboard
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO Z170
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 980
Hello

I have this build functioning except for one thing.
I can't seem to get my microphone ( my headset is Sennheiser Gamezero, i have it connected on the rear pink channel)...
I installed voodooHDA v2.8.8 and nope, still nothing.
Tried to use voodoo settings to increase mic, line, recording and input gain lvl to max. :(
Any help/suggestion?

Btw does anyone know a software to edit keys?
I'm using a windows keyboard (corsair strafe rgb) some keys are different like § ± etc ( And yes my keyboard type is correct )
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
424
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z370-G GAMING (WI-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...170-maximus-viii-hero-i7-6700k-gtx-980.197284



Hello

I have this build functioning except for one thing.
I can't seem to get my microphone ( my headset is Sennheiser Gamezero, i have it connected on the rear pink channel)...
I installed voodooHDA v2.8.8 and nope, still nothing.
Tried to use voodoo settings to increase mic, line, recording and input gain lvl to max. :(
Any help/suggestion?

Btw does anyone know a software to edit keys?
I'm using a windows keyboard (corsair strafe rgb) some keys are different like § ± etc ( And yes my keyboard type is correct )
If you by writing "I have this build functioning" mean you have same hardware (or same motherboard) as Stork why are you using voodooHDA v2.8.8 ?
Se OP and use the Multibeast settings for Audio shown there
I only know one keyboard remapping software but at the moment it´s not supporting Sierra so you have to wait for an update.
https://pqrs.org/osx/karabiner/
I have for several years used windows keyboard an got used to it (I´m doing a lot of windows support on my dual boot hack)
so with a little patience you can find all keys and key combination for Mac
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
3
Motherboard
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO Z170
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 980
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...170-maximus-viii-hero-i7-6700k-gtx-980.197284



If you by writing "I have this build functioning" mean you have same hardware (or same motherboard) as Stork why are you using voodooHDA v2.8.8 ?
Se OP and use the Multibeast settings for Audio shown there
I only know one keyboard remapping software but at the moment it´s not supporting Sierra so you have to wait for an update.
https://pqrs.org/osx/karabiner/
I have for several years used windows keyboard an got used to it (I´m doing a lot of windows support)
so with a little patience you can find all keys for Mac

Yes, i do have the same motherboard, CPU and GPU.
I didn't have my mic working, tried reinstalling the Hackintosh, exactly as the instructions said and nope.
My final attempt was when i tried to use voodooHDA v2.8.8 and still nothing as well.
Both ways don't work, the one in the guide and my desperate attempt with voodoo.
( i cloned my OSX before installing voodoo just in case, and i reverted the changes now).

Ahh too bad! Will wait for an update on that software, thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2012
Messages
424
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z370-G GAMING (WI-Fi AC)
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...170-maximus-viii-hero-i7-6700k-gtx-980.197284



Yes, i do have the same motherboard, CPU and GPU.
I didn't have my mic working, tried reinstalling the Hackintosh, exactly as the instructions said and nope.
My final attempt was when i tried to use voodooHDA v2.8.8 and still nothing as well.
Both ways don't work, the one in the guide and my desperate attempt with voodoo.
( i cloned my OSX before installing voodoo just in case, and i reverted the changes now).

Ahh too bad! Will wait for an update on that software, thanks!

If it´s not working then my best guess is that it´s a motherboard failure
You should return it for RMA
Have you installed Windows on it and did audio work there ?
I´m using a different MB as you can se in my profile (you should update your profile to with your system info as it makes it a lot easier when you need support )
But with same Audio codec ALC 1050 And it´s working in both Os Sierra an Windows 10
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 5, 2017
Messages
3
Motherboard
ASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO Z170
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 980
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top