Stork's MyHero Build: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO - i7-6700K - GTX 980

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by Stork, Jul 7, 2016.

  1. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,034
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 3, 2017 at 8:32 PM #601
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,034
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Well, update your driver, if the driver is available. I just added the EmuVariableUefi-64.efi, not the latest full update. Check to see that the EmuVariableUefi-64.efi is installed.
     
  2. pastrychef

    pastrychef Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,522
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Gene Z170
    CPU:
    i7-6700K @ 4.8GHz
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 4, 2017 at 8:43 AM #602
    pastrychef

    pastrychef Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,522
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Gene Z170
    CPU:
    i7-6700K @ 4.8GHz
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Are you able to downgrade the bios?
     
  3. jrii

    jrii

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Mobo:
    MAXIMUS VIII RANGER
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Jan 4, 2017 at 12:11 PM #603
    jrii

    jrii

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Mobo:
    MAXIMUS VIII RANGER
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    I downgraded to 2202 using the onboard button on my Ranger. Using the flash utility directly from bios refused to work.
     
    Stork and pastrychef like this.
  4. PatrickTsch

    PatrickTsch

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    MSI NViDiA GeForce GTX 980 GAMING 4G (4096 MB)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 5, 2017 at 12:03 AM #604
    PatrickTsch

    PatrickTsch

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    MSI NViDiA GeForce GTX 980 GAMING 4G (4096 MB)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi there,
    as i wanted to narrow my problem i installed the 2202 Bios, have tried Sierra 10.12.0 and according Webdrivers. My System did boot into OSX with full resolution, but Mouse wasn't shown and also no bars to do anything. After this i rebooted and with web driver active it now boots into a black screen - maybe the hackintosh is active - but graphics are disabled.
     
  5. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,034
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 5, 2017 at 1:58 AM #605
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,034
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Since we're not telepathic, we need to know your system components. See the tonymacx86 Forum Rules & Policies on signature block components.

    Additionally, please provide complete details in your Profile.

    Mobo: motherboard manufacturer/model
    CPU: detailed CPU model (e.g., i7-4770K)
    Graphics: Video card manufacturer/model and/or Intel Integrated Graphics version (e.g., HD4600)

    See my Profile items to the left of my post, under my name.

    By completing your Profile and signature block, you help us help you better. :thumbup:
     
  6. jonz

    jonz

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero Z170 (3401 BIOS)
    CPU:
    i7-6700K @ 4.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 Ti 6GB (GV-N98TG1 GAMING-6GD)
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 5, 2017 at 10:39 AM #606
    jonz

    jonz

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero Z170 (3401 BIOS)
    CPU:
    i7-6700K @ 4.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 Ti 6GB (GV-N98TG1 GAMING-6GD)
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello,

    Just wanted to thank @Stork as I just builded my first customac these days following this great post and everything works great :

    Asus Maximus VIII Hero Z170 - i7-6700K - Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB - Multiboot Sierra & Windows 10 Pro

    Thanks !
     
    Stork likes this.
  7. PatrickTsch

    PatrickTsch

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    MSI NViDiA GeForce GTX 980 GAMING 4G (4096 MB)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 5, 2017 at 1:13 PM #607
    PatrickTsch

    PatrickTsch

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700K
    Graphics:
    MSI NViDiA GeForce GTX 980 GAMING 4G (4096 MB)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    After the 5th reinstallation or so and a lot of trying i found the solution:

    I have a 4K Monitor and can ONLY start with HDMI-Cable attached and NO Display-Port cable.
    Or otherwise Display will stay black. After the start of the OS i can attach the DP-Cable and the Monitor will work on that too - but not in 60Hz - only 30Hz - DP1.2. In Windows 60Hz is possible. Maybe theres a fix for this too? Starting to look out.

    @Stork. Thanks for the support until here.
     
  8. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,034
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 5, 2017 at 1:56 PM #608
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,034
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    PatrickTsch,
    Thank you for filling out your profile. :thumbup:

    I recommend you post your 4K monitor interface problem in the Graphics forum section as I don't have a 4K monitor or any knowledge of them. (There might be a solution there.)

    https://www.tonymacx86.com/forums/graphics.13/
     
  9. TheLondonBloke

    TheLondonBloke

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti SC+ GAMING ACX 2.0+
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 12, 2017 at 1:14 PM #609
    TheLondonBloke

    TheLondonBloke

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti SC+ GAMING ACX 2.0+
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sorry, but how exactly do i Install the EmuVariableUefi-64.efi in Clover? where do i download the latest clover package?

    Edit: I think i found what you said. I followed these Steps solving "Problem 6."https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/solving-nvidia-driver-install-loading-problems.161256/. Didnt work though :/ maybe I'm doing something wrong. The EmuVariableUefi-64.efi doesn't appear in my drivers64UEFI Folder in EFI/Clover/ after rebooting

    Edit2: It works now. I think either ticking Install to EFI or ticking Install RCthingie Scripts did the trick... Now only to fix audio over DP...
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2017
  10. tedyun

    tedyun

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    ASUS Maximus VIII HERO - Intel Z170
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 780Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 13, 2017 at 12:13 AM #610
    tedyun

    tedyun

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    ASUS Maximus VIII HERO - Intel Z170
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 780Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi Stork

    I just wanted to add to the chorus of "Thank You's" for your incredibly detailed description of this build, and your continued support in this thread.

    My previous build was an Sandy Bridge i7-2600k/ASUS Sabertooth P67 and was running Yosemite. It still had plenty of miles left, but I really wanted to have the updated OS. Despite multiple attempts, I could not get either El Capitain or Sierra running on this rig, so I finally threw in the towel.

    I swore that my next mobo would be Gigabyte based on lingering minor problems I've been having with the Sabertooth, but after reading your guide, then through the entire thread (all 61 pages), I felt confident to proceed with this build.

    It was nice to be able to build the system on the table before transplanting it into my case. There were a few hiccups along the road (faulty USB drive; power fluctuations during a heavy storm here; BIOS reset itself for some reason after the transplant), but they were problems all on my end and nothing related to your instructions or the hardware. These problems were nothing compared to the frustration of trying to update the OS's on my previous build.

    It looks like everything is working on my build, sleep, audio, USB 3.0. Looking forward to getting iMessage working and deep-sleep.

    One question I had was whether your FireWire card works? My P67 Sabertooth had an ISA slot that could accomodate my legacy SoundBlaster card that had a functioning FW port. Now with the HERO, I finally have to retire that dinosaur, but I still need a FW port.

    Anyway, thank you once again!

    Ted
     

Share This Page