Contribute
Register

Stork's Entry Level Hector Build: GA-H97N-WIFI - i5-4690 - HD4600 & GTX 760

Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
56
Motherboard
GA Z390 AORUS PRO
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
512K, iMac, LC, Plus, Portable, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
Thanks. I did try again to install all 3 kexts with MB, but it still didn't work. I wiped the system and started to reinstall. But, once I booted from the UniBeast drive and before I started the OS install, I opened the terminal and pinged my router, and it was working, so I knew it wasn't my hardware. I then did the clean install.

Once it was up, I ran MB again and installed AppleIntel and Atheros, but upon reboot, networking still didn't work. I popped the UniBeast drive back in, mounted its EFI and looked at what kexts were where, and compared to the EFI on the boot drive.

I found that MB had installed the kexts into S/L/E, but they were not in EFI/Clover/Kexts. I copied all the kexts, and dropped them in EFI/Clover/Kexts/Other and rebooted, and it all seemed to work.

My wondering is: Why did MB for Yosemite create a clover folder in the EFI? Wasn't MB still using Chimera then?

Also, I was feeling cocky, so I downloaded the Mojave installer and ran that - 30 min later, the system was booting into Mojave with no major issues. I'm gonna push on the edges a little more tomorrow when I get into work to see if there's anything I need that's not working, but for the moment, I'm basking in the glow of a nice (and somewhat easily) working system.

thanks!
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,965
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
56
Motherboard
GA Z390 AORUS PRO
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
512K, iMac, LC, Plus, Portable, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Xserve
Ah, gotcha. I was basing off memory. I think Yosemite was out before Clover was integrated into MB, so maybe MB was updated with a mid version release? BTW, I went back and checked the (currently live version ) MB 7.5, and the features .pdf mentions Chameleon, Chimera and Easybeast, but not Clover, so maybe that doc wasn't updated then either.
 
Joined
May 25, 2012
Messages
6
Hello @Stork, thanks for your guides, this system is still rockin’! Any news about a possible Mojave upgrade?
I’ve got another question, maybe somebody can help: I’ve got a NVIDIA GTX 970 vga card and I would like to buy a good 4K display for image editing. Does the DP work OOB? Any chance to get audio through it?
 
Last edited:

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,965
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello @Stork, thanks for your guides, this system is still rockin’! Any news about a possible Mojave upgrade?
I'll update Post #1 in the near future. It's basically the same as HS.
I’ve got another question, maybe somebody can help: I’ve got a NVIDIA GTX 970 vga card and I would like to buy a good 4K display for image editing. Does the DP work OOB? Any chance to get audio through it?
IIRC, you'll need DP1.2. Most good 4K monitors don't have speakers unless it's an add-on. I'm using a Dell U2715Q monitor, and it works very well. (I prefer the Dell Ultrasharps.)
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2014
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI - F7
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600, GTX 960
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hello @Stork, thanks for your guides, this system is still rockin’! Any news about a possible Mojave upgrade?
I’ve got another question, maybe somebody can help: I’ve got a NVIDIA GTX 970 vga card and I would like to buy a good 4K display for image editing. Does the DP work OOB? Any chance to get audio through it?
I also use Dell monitor (U2515H 2K) with DP 1.2 cable. The AUX jack does NOT work. DDC/CI on other hand does.

DP and HDMI both worked OOB, but if you want everything to work you need HDMI 2.0 (preferably 2.0b) capable system with not the cheapest cable. :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
48
Motherboard
Asrock Z370M
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi when you say to upgrade the bios on the latest version, do I prefer stable or i can go for beta bios ?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
48
Motherboard
Asrock Z370M
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok i succed to install high sierra, i will try to put mojave.
You should add to your guide, how to install without card.

After install
+ clover menu > options > graphic injector > inject intel
+ change platform id 0x16220007
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,965
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi when you say to upgrade the bios on the latest version, do I prefer stable or i can go for beta bios ?
I don't recommend Beta BIOS unless there is a compelling reason as listed in the Beta description on GigByte's BIOS web page. In my case, I'm on F8 because I have not noticed any memory compatibility problems. YMMV.

...
You should add to your guide, how to install without card.

After install
+ clover menu > options > graphic injector > inject Intel
+ change platform id 0x16220007
Build Description threads focus on the owners setup. However, I'll reference your post for those that do read this Build Description that are not using a graphics card.
 
Top