Stop the popping in (High) Sierra

Discussion in 'Audio' started by mattsday, Sep 21, 2016.

  1. RV.UZ

    RV.UZ

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE™ GA-Z97-D3H
    CPU:
    3.2 GHz Intel Core i5
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Jun 12, 2017 at 2:23 AM #41
    RV.UZ

    RV.UZ

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE™ GA-Z97-D3H
    CPU:
    3.2 GHz Intel Core i5
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    This works for me too. Thanks for posting this! Brilliant! Totally fixed the popping. You are the Best! :clap::headbang::lol:! ( Finally I'm happy! Because many times I looked for a way to solve this problem, but I did not find it, today I found you and your priceless way and special thanks to "toleda - Moderator" because he told me the name of the problem! :wave:
     
  2. estef

    estef

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    232
    Mobo:
    ASUS UX305CA-FB055T Chipset: Intel Skylake-U
    CPU:
    Intel Core m7 6Y75
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 515 : 3200x1800
    Jun 22, 2017 at 1:57 PM #42
    estef

    estef

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    232
    Mobo:
    ASUS UX305CA-FB055T Chipset: Intel Skylake-U
    CPU:
    Intel Core m7 6Y75
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 515 : 3200x1800
    Tested on El Capitan 10.11.6 working like charm! thanks!
     
    RV.UZ likes this.
  3. shasoosh

    shasoosh

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    H87-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4770
    Graphics:
    GTX760
    Jul 14, 2017 at 10:39 AM #43
    shasoosh

    shasoosh

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    H87-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4770
    Graphics:
    GTX760
    This used to work for me but starting the latest Sierra builds this completely destroyed my audio driver. The first couple of hours were good but then audio would just stop and I would get a constant beachball.

    The weird thing is that even restarting my machine into Windows would not fix it.
    It seemed like the actual audio hardware crashed or something. Only reentering the audio jack would fix that. (I think the hardware does a initialization when a new audio jack is inserted.

    I'm aware that this post doesn't make sense by I'm 100% sure this script was the cause. I've moved to AppleALC to get rid of the pops.

    TL;DR This script causes beachballs and some really weird behavior.
     
  4. GeraldB

    GeraldB

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    GTX770
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 26, 2017 at 8:44 PM #44
    GeraldB

    GeraldB

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    GTX770
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Did you ever try that clover option? Does it help?
     
  5. Bryann2802

    Bryann2802

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel CORE i7 6700
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
    Aug 11, 2017 at 5:27 PM #45
    Bryann2802

    Bryann2802

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel CORE i7 6700
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
    Hi, I tried all instructions but when I load system, popping sound again... help me please... I use Mac OS Sierra 10.12.6
    Thanks
     
  6. Bryann2802

    Bryann2802

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel CORE i7 6700
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
    Aug 20, 2017 at 3:18 AM #46
    Bryann2802

    Bryann2802

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel CORE i7 6700
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
    Hi, my friend I solved this with AFGLOWPOWERSTATE in clover, u load your config.plist in clover then U shoot this option, save and reboot. Finally, u don't have never popping sound...
     
  7. diqi

    diqi

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Asus H97-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4690K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GTX 760 Windforce 2GB
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 23, 2017 at 7:51 AM #47
    diqi

    diqi

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Asus H97-Plus
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4690K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GTX 760 Windforce 2GB
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for this. (y)
     
  8. iwacemaker

    iwacemaker

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    OS X Sierra @ Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    650 Ti Boost OC 2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 30, 2017 at 9:30 PM #48
    iwacemaker

    iwacemaker

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    OS X Sierra @ Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    650 Ti Boost OC 2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Thank you so much! Switching to 14.2 sysdef causes the popping issue for me in Sierra, the fix works very well!
     
  9. Bryann2802

    Bryann2802

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel CORE i7 6700
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
    Sep 30, 2017 at 9:39 PM #49
    Bryann2802

    Bryann2802

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX Gaming 5
    CPU:
    Intel CORE i7 6700
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB
    Hi, in High Sierra As I can solve it, help me
    Please
    Gracias
     
  10. mattsday

    mattsday

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 980 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 7, 2017 at 2:45 PM #50
    mattsday

    mattsday

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 980 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    This should work without modification in OS X High Sierra. I have two systems I have finally upgraded this weekend and both work without any changes. I updated the first post with a bit more detail, including how to tune down the timer if it's popping for you still.

    Update: You may need to reload it:
    sudo launchctl load /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.mattsday.antipop.plist

    That should re-enable it (and survive reboots).
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2017

Share This Page