Stop the popping in (High) Sierra

Discussion in 'Audio' started by mattsday, Sep 21, 2016.

  1. shasoosh

    shasoosh

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    H87-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4770
    Graphics:
    GTX760
    Jan 7, 2017 at 11:24 AM #21
    shasoosh

    shasoosh

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    H87-D3H
    CPU:
    i7 4770
    Graphics:
    GTX760
    I just got the popping back in 10.12.2 (worked fine with this script before)

    Tried to reload the script in terminal just to make sure and got "service already loaded"

    Any one is experiencing that popping?
     
  2. mattsday

    mattsday

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 980 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 20, 2017 at 1:33 PM #22
    mattsday

    mattsday

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 980 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    It's still working fine for me on two systems running 12.2 Sierra.

    The cause is that OS X powers down the amplifier to save energy. When sound is played it powers back up again, causing the popping sound. This is why sound sometimes stops working after sleep (OS X powers down the amp but doesn't power it back up again). The workaround stops OS X from powering it down when the system is running.

    The link is a DTD (Document Type Definition). It's part of XML and describes its structure. It won't connect to the internet or require an internet connection (you can use LittleSnitch to verify). Any XML file will have such a line, including valid XHTML. Any plist file in the XML format should also include this if it's been properly written.
     
  3. stormsproductions

    stormsproductions

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 660 Ti SC 3GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 24, 2017 at 3:47 PM #23
    stormsproductions

    stormsproductions

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 660 Ti SC 3GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I had the same issue today (10.12.2). The script worked fine for a week or so, but then I rebooted and it no longer works. The sound pops when playing a sound after a long enough time with no sound. I ran the launchctl command again but it says "service already loaded".

    Any thoughts?
     
  4. mattsday

    mattsday

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 980 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 24, 2017 at 3:53 PM #24
    mattsday

    mattsday

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 3770k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 980 Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    It's still working fine for me on 2 systems running 10.12.3 Sierra.

    However, I have two suggestions:

    1. Try issuing this command:

    sudo launchctl unload /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.mattsday.antipop.plist
    sudo launchctl load /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.mattsday.antipop.plist

    This will reload the service. You'll get a pop shortly after but then it should be good.

    2. Try changing this line:

    <string>while true; do say ' '; sleep 10; done</string>

    To this:

    <string>while true; do say ' '; sleep 5; done</string>

    This will increase the frequency the command is run.

    If neither works then I'm out of ideas I'm afraid!
     
  5. stormsproductions

    stormsproductions

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 660 Ti SC 3GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 24, 2017 at 5:58 PM #25
    stormsproductions

    stormsproductions

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 660 Ti SC 3GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Unloading and reloading worked for me! Then I updated to 10.12.3 and it still worked without reloading.

    Thanks a lot!
     
  6. CrashMidnick

    CrashMidnick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 M7
    CPU:
    Kaby Lake 7700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 27, 2017 at 1:00 PM #26
    CrashMidnick

    CrashMidnick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Mobo:
    MSI Z270 M7
    CPU:
    Kaby Lake 7700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 1070
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thank you so much to the OP for this thread, it solved the problem on my side under Sierra 10.12.3 :)
    The strange thing is that I never had this problem before until I installed the last Logic Pro X (do not know why to be honest as it should not alter the system audio). I uninstalled my Audio Driver, reinstalled them, removed Logic Pro X and its dependencies, garageband too... Nothing worked, spent about 4 hours on this problem and I found this thread.
    Again, thanks !
     
  7. theshaner

    theshaner

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z78-UH5D
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    Geforce 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 7, 2017 at 2:26 AM #27
    theshaner

    theshaner

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z78-UH5D
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    Geforce 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Does this script running prevent the computer from going to sleep? It seems to me that it might be on mine, but I still need to confirm that is the issue. Is this still the best solution to the problem? I have an 898. Thanks!
     
  8. asusceleron

    asusceleron

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    476
    Mobo:
    asus/lenovo/cube
    CPU:
    celeron1007u/i3-5020u/m3-7y30
    Graphics:
    ivy bridge intel hdgraphics/intel hd5500/intel hd615
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Feb 7, 2017 at 2:47 AM #28
    asusceleron

    asusceleron

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    476
    Mobo:
    asus/lenovo/cube
    CPU:
    celeron1007u/i3-5020u/m3-7y30
    Graphics:
    ivy bridge intel hdgraphics/intel hd5500/intel hd615
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Why my sound is poping only when headphone is plugin?
     
  9. theshaner

    theshaner

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z78-UH5D
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    Geforce 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 7, 2017 at 3:48 PM #29
    theshaner

    theshaner

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z78-UH5D
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    Geforce 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I ended up having to delete the file com.mattsday.antipop.plist because weird things have been happening since I put it in place and followed the call to instructions on page one of this thread. I would lose audio and have to reboot in order to get it back periodically.
     
  10. theshaner

    theshaner

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z78-UH5D
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    Geforce 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 8, 2017 at 6:52 PM #30
    theshaner

    theshaner

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z78-UH5D
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    Geforce 550
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    So this works great, until my computer goes to sleep. Then I have nothing after the wake. Anyone else?
     

Share This Page