Contribute
Register

Stop the popping in (High) Sierra

Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
931
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi all, since upgrading to Sierra I've had the dreaded audio pop problem. Every 30 seconds or so the audio would make a loud pop before playing anything.

I am getting these regular clicks and pops after changing from MacPro3,1 to iMac14,2 (in order to install Sierra).

This fix seems a good work around but what is the root cause of the problem ?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
17
Motherboard
10.8
CPU
q9300
Graphics
HD6850
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
屏幕快照 2016-11-07 下午3.09.52.png

Sorry, I made this
sudo launchctl load /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.mattsday.antipop.plist
/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.mattsday.antipop.plist: Path had bad ownership/permissions
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
GA-Z97N-WIFI
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
Onboard
Classic Mac
  1. Plus
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You're a god. I wish all hacks and patches were this clearly described.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
20
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-D3H
CPU
3,49 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
xfx RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Can you tel me why there is a link in the plist file?

Does it mean it loads that file from the link a every boot?
Does it still work without an internet connection?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2016
Messages
44
Motherboard
Sabertooth Z77
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
GTX 670
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Bless you for this post. I had been slowly losing my sanity.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
GTX 660Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Brilliant! Totally fixed the popping for me in two Sierra systems!
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
GTX 660Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Can you tel me why there is a link in the plist file?

Does it mean it loads that file from the link a every boot?
Does it still work without an internet connection?

The link is remarked out with a ! so that means no, it doesn't load.
 
Top