Contribute
Register

"Still waiting for root device" + Prohibited sign during the installation.

Motherboard
Asus TUF Gaming H570 Pro
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello guys !
I'm new in the Hackintosh univers, since last week I'm trying to install MacOS Ventura on my computer but during the installation I got a problem "Still waiting for root device" with a prohibited sign. I have done a lot of things from the OpenCore documentation and forum. But I always have the same problem. I'm plugged in a USB2 port with a USB2 flashdrive, I have already try with another one.
Thank you for your help !

IMG_3319.jpg

Hello guys !
I'm new in the Hackintosh univers, since last week I'm trying to install MacOS Ventura on my computer but during the installation I got a problem "Still waiting for root device" with a prohibited sign. I have done a lot of things from the OpenCore documentation and forum. But I always have the same problem. I'm plugged in a USB2 port with a USB2 flashdrive, I have already try with another one.
Thank you for your help !

View attachment 564540

Hi there.

This error means that the USB port you are using to boot your system has become deactivated during the startup.

To help with this problem we would need to know what USB configuration work you have already done.

Did you create your own EFI folder or have you used someone else's?

:)

Yes ! This is my own EFI folder. I didn't try with a "preset".
I have change USB drive / USB port, adding some kexts like SATA Unsupported / NVMeFix, checking the XHCI Hand off, adding SSDT-RHUB, disable the virtualization, try differents root arguments and other different things I think !

Do you think I should try an EFI preset from another person to know if the problem come from my own EFI ?

Last edited:
Do you think I should try an EFI preset from another person

No.

Instead explain how you configured the USB ports.

The points you made in post#3 are not what we mean.