Contribute
Register

SSDT GPU (Graphics Card) Injection

Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
965
Motherboard
ASUS Gryphon Z87
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 & RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
how to handle something like this:

6HSJ0lF.png


Therer is no Device name above the pci-bridge ? please
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
1,054
Motherboard
MSI B250M PRO-VHD
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
RX 570
how to handle something like this:

6HSJ0lF.png


Therer is no Device name above the pci-bridge ? please

Most probably cause is SaSsdt, PegSsdt tables are dropped or Drop OEM is enabled in ssdt section, from 8 series mobos and up, many important tables are store in ssdt-x.aml, always avoid to use Drop OEM ssdt function unless you sured DSDT and SSDTs (like SaSsdt, PegSsdt tables) are all patched correctly.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
965
Motherboard
ASUS Gryphon Z87
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 & RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
1,054
Motherboard
MSI B250M PRO-VHD
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
RX 570
Yeah I just figured it out by trying exact that path !
I removed my SSDT-IGPU and disabled SSDT/ Drop OEM

After that Ive got :

0Rdu2nT.png



Thanks to @carpentryplus25 i was able to rename it using clover:

x9ak2ed.png


If someone wonder how to determine those numbers,
It is a simple String (text) to HEX conversion, you can try it here :
http://string-functions.com/string-hex.aspx


tR0yOUg.png

Normal, @0 is address

Be careful of PEGP to GFX0 rename, normally we use ssdt to change PEGP to GFX0 to prevent conflict with GFX0 to IGPU, becaue PEGP to GFX0 is in first order then apply GFX0 to IGPU will override all, need GFX0 to IGPU rename 1st then PEGP to GFX0.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
1,344
Motherboard
Asus P5LP-LE
CPU
Core 2 Duo
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GT 640
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Normal, @0 is address

Be careful of PEGP to GFX0 rename, normally we use ssdt to change PEGP to GFX0 to prevent conflict with GFX0 to IGPU, becaue PEGP to GFX0 is in first order then apply GFX0 to IGPU will override all, need GFX0 to IGPU rename 1st then PEGP to GFX0.

For some reason they are having black screens with iGPU enabled but they already had GFX0 to IGPU renamed in another thread where I was talking with them
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2013
Messages
1,054
Motherboard
MSI B250M PRO-VHD
CPU
i3-7100
Graphics
RX 570
For some reason they are having black screens with iGPU enabled but they already had GFX0 to IGPU renamed in another thread where I was talking with them

Most HDMI ssdt use External (_SB_.PCI0.PEG0.PEGP._ADR, IntObj) and use INI Method

Method (_INI, 0, NotSerialized) // _INI: Initialize
{
Store (0x0F, \_SB.PCI0.PEG0.PEGP._ADR)
}

If use PEGP to GFX0 then need change HDMI ssdt to
External (_SB_.PCI0.PEG0.GFX0._ADR, IntObj)

INI method need change to

Method (_INI, 0, NotSerialized) // _INI: Initialize
{
Store (0x0F, \_SB.PCI0.PEG0.GFX0._ADR)
}
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
965
Motherboard
ASUS Gryphon Z87
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 & RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Normal, @0 is address

Be careful of PEGP to GFX0 rename, normally we use ssdt to change PEGP to GFX0 to prevent conflict with GFX0 to IGPU, becaue PEGP to GFX0 is in first order then apply GFX0 to IGPU will override all, need GFX0 to IGPU rename 1st then PEGP to GFX0.
like toledas SSDT-HDMI-AMD-PEG0.aml ?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
1,344
Motherboard
Asus P5LP-LE
CPU
Core 2 Duo
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GT 640
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
like toledas SSDT-HDMI-AMD-PEG0.aml ?

Yes the one I had put in that clover folder I uploaded to the other thread already had it in it with the renaming edits done to it

If use toleda HDMI-xxxx-PEG0.aml or HDMI-xxxx-P0P2.aml, need disable PEGP to GFX0 rename from config.plist.

Yes and then inside it just do your renaming like you already mentioned. That's how I did it anyhow. On one of my systems I had to rename it to GFX1 to avoid black screen on boot due to SMBIOS. I could have used Pikes board-id to board-ix patch though
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
58
Motherboard
X99 > Need manufacturer & full model # > See Rules!
CPU
i9 > need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
RX 5700
When I enable two AMD VEGA GPU, I get the following message, and then it blacks out.

busy timeout[0], (60s): display

Both cards are named GFX1. Any thoughts?
 
Top