Contribute
Register

SpeedStep & C state?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
OS X 10.8.2
CPU
3.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (E8500)
Graphics
ATI Radeon HD 6450 1024 MB Sapphire
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi there!

my hacked Dell is frickin` fast and awesome on snowleo 10.6.7 with almost no problem except for "wake from sleep" which doesn`t work for now and no microphone either. :crazy:

-what would i benefit from Intel SpeedStep technology if i enable Speedstep and C state in Bios?, `cause they`re disabled by default.

And if i do:

-what kext should i add, remove, or edit?
-how can i check or tell if it`s properly working?

my rig came with bios version A01 and Cpu Dual core E5300, i then replaced my cpu with core 2 duo E8500 and i`m still on bios A01.

thx 4 ur help! :thumbup:
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,454
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
lukin said:
Hi there!

my hacked Dell is frickin` fast and awesome on snowleo 10.6.7 with almost no problem except for "wake from sleep" which doesn`t work for now and no microphone either. :crazy:

-what would i benefit from Intel SpeedStep technology if i enable Speedstep and C state in Bios?, `cause they`re disabled by default.

And if i do:

-what kext should i add, remove, or edit?
-how can i check or tell if it`s properly working?

my rig came with bios version A01 and Cpu Dual core E5300, i then replaced my cpu with core 2 duo E8500 and i`m still on bios A01.

thx 4 ur help! :thumbup:
A patched DSDT would probably work to get SpeedStep without a KP.
Go ahead and enable it and see if it will boot without a KP. You might get lucky andyou can always boot back to BIOS and disable them if you need to.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
OS X 10.8.2
CPU
3.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (E8500)
Graphics
ATI Radeon HD 6450 1024 MB Sapphire
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So basically,

-there`s no way I can tell if a KP is waiting to strike if i enable it :eek: ???!!!

-I can always go back and disable it if I choose to without messing my current snowleo configuration, that would be awesome but I`d like some input on that to be on the safe side just in case AND if something goes wrong, I know what to do!!
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,454
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
lukin said:
So basically,

-there`s no way I can tell if a KP is waiting to strike if i enable it :eek: ???!!!

-I can always go back and disable it if I choose to without messing my current snowleo configuration, that would be awesome but I`d like some input on that to be on the safe side just in case AND if something goes wrong, I know what to do!!
Boot to BIOS, enable it, save and exit BIOS and continue boot to OS.
If you get a KP, shut down, boot to BIOS, disable it, save and exit BIOS and continue boot to OS.

Simple and easy.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
OS X 10.8.2
CPU
3.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (E8500)
Graphics
ATI Radeon HD 6450 1024 MB Sapphire
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thx mate!,

Fair enough!, i get it but shouldn`t i keep it Disabled since i`m on a Desktop?!!!
you see where i`m going.

-what about "Intel® Virtualization"?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
OS X 10.8.2
CPU
3.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (E8500)
Graphics
ATI Radeon HD 6450 1024 MB Sapphire
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just enabled it in the Bios...i mean both settings SpeedStep and C state...my system booted just fine!!! no problems at all...i`m surprised :thumbup:

so how do i check to see if it`s actually there? what tools do i need for that?
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
OS X 10.8.2
CPU
3.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (E8500)
Graphics
ATI Radeon HD 6450 1024 MB Sapphire
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Please anyone, how do i check?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
137
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
If you can't monitor vcore then monitor the temperature. Then put some load on the system and it should rise and once the load is gone it should drop. I mean after that is what speedstep does ;-)
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
OS X 10.8.2
CPU
3.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (E8500)
Graphics
ATI Radeon HD 6450 1024 MB Sapphire
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thx for listening dejongj!!

I know but temp readings don`t show up...I need a sys utility to give details and have control on that.

I thought it was easy like on Windows with so many app to choose from, but I guess I`m wrong, and apparently it`s gonna take a lot more time to figure that out...it`s ok because I love to delve into hacking and configuring and such, the reason why I ditched windows in the first place...but still i need your valuable assistance guys!!!, so please...

-can anybody shed some light on how THAT is supposed to work?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
137
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
There is iStat but I don't like it and it costs money, yet others swear by it. Or alternatively my favourity atmonitor and the apt named 'Temperature Monitor'. Whilst in the latter one the UI is a bit much it actually works very well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top