Contribute
Register

Solving NVIDIA Driver Install & Loading Problems

Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
22
Motherboard
Main Rig
CPU
i7-6950X
Graphics
GTX 980
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No problem, the kext is disabled with the patch you've applied. It not loading on your system with MacPro6,1 system definition.

EDIT: looking at your IOReg it appears that you have no acceleration, you've installed the web drivers? - booting with nvda_drv=1? yet it doesn't show the web drivers are loaded.
Yes I have them installed and the boot flag set, I'll try fixing it after work and report back. Thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
14
Motherboard
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen3
CPU
i7-2700K
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
we have the same problem

after 2 to 3 times restart machine boot normally
this occur after installing web drivers and nvda_drv=1
please help

my spec

ASUS Z97 Pro wifi
17-4790
Asus GTX 970 4 GB Strix
corsair vengeance 8x2 ram
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
74
Motherboard
MSI B450I GAMING PLUS AC
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Usually install the alternate drivers, if you are installing with HD530, restart and enter the BIOS, change graphics boot priority from IGPU/IGFX to PEG/PCIe save the settings. Shut down the system install the graphics card/add cables including power if required. Start the system, you should see BIOS splash screen/Clover and OS X right through to the desktop.

Do I ever have to select Nvidia drivers manually up at the top of the screen?

Also, my previous attempts I've been installing the a intel 530 driver when I run multibeast... But after thinking about it maybe I'm not supposed to since I'll be installing the graphics card directly after my next reboot...

I can't wait for Apple to launch more Skylake so we're not limited to 17,1! Haha
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,560
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Do I ever have to select Nvidia drivers manually up at the top of the screen?
If you are not using the web drivers, nvidia manager usually asks you if you want to use them, after this the system restarts and you should be good. I've not selected the drivers from the top menu.

Also, my previous attempts I've been installing the a intel 530 driver when I run multibeast... But after thinking about it maybe I'm not supposed to since I'll be installing the graphics card directly after my next reboot...
This doesn't matter, I swap between HD530 and my GTX970 regularly. I've installed with HD530 and use the GTX970 without a hiccup.

I can't wait for Apple to launch more Skylake so we're not limited to 17,1! Haha
Hate to be the bearer of bad news but new SMBIOSes will carry the same policies towards graphics.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2010
Messages
134
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro Wifi
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 570
I know in the realm of issues to have with your hackintosh this is low on the list and just cosmetic ;)

I've gotten my GT 710 to work perfectly with my Dell U2715H monitor. Just three steps, download appropriate web drivers, add nvda_driver=1 and do not Inject NVidia.

Now in System Information I see only "NVIDIA Graphics Device 2047 MB." I use to see "NVIDIA 9800GT 512MB" which was my previous card.

Is there any way to get this to show up properly?

Thanks!
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
74
Motherboard
MSI B450I GAMING PLUS AC
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
If you are not using the web drivers, nvidia manager usually asks you if you want to use them, after this the system restarts and you should be good. I've not selected the drivers from the top menu.

If 10.11.5 drops support for the 740 GT, then using the internal OsX drivers for this card are not an option right?

So, I would have to do everything with the card unplugged, run multibeast (Intel 530 is optional since I'm going to an Nvidia card), and then install Nvidia web drivers, then modify my config.plist with Fix #4 on Post #1, then reboot, change bios to pcie, shutdown, install card, boot with card, pray.

I get that all correct?
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,560
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
If 10.11.5 drops support for the 740 GT, then using the internal OsX drivers for this card are not an option right?

So, I would have to do everything with the card unplugged, run multibeast (Intel 530 is optional since I'm going to an Nvidia card), and then install Nvidia web drivers, then modify my config.plist with Fix #4 on Post #1, then reboot, change bios to pcie, shutdown, install card, boot with card, pray.

I get that all correct?
The GT740 is a hit and miss card when being able to use the native OS X drivers, the majority of users that I've read about have to install the drivers. You should be able to use the boot flag nv_disable=1 with your card installed. Once you install the web drivers switch the boot flag for nvda_drv=1. If you need to remove your card then yes your method is right.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
74
Motherboard
MSI B450I GAMING PLUS AC
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Graphics
RX 5700XT
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
The GT740 is a hit and miss card when being able to use the native OS X drivers, the majority of users that I've read about have to install the drivers. You should be able to use the boot flag nv_disable=1 with your card installed. Once you install the web drivers drivers switch the boot flag for nvda_drv=1. If you need to remove your card then yes your method is right.
Oh man, I just got it all sorted and created a big ol walk through for dummies like me. Thanks!


http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/s...idia-geforce-740-gt-4gb-gddr5-skylake.195417/
O
 

wildwillow

Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
4,560
Motherboard
Z170 Deluxe
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Joined
Jan 29, 2016
Messages
4
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-A
CPU
Intel i7 4790k
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
hello,
I was able to re-install El Capitan successfully! But I'm having problems with the screen resolution. It's stuck at 1280 x 1024 but my screen is 1920 x 1080, I never had this problem before. I think the problem has to do with me clearing the RTC ram. But I'm not sure how to get it back to its normal resolution? Any solutions?
 
Top