Contribute
Register

Solving NVIDIA Driver Install & Loading Problems

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Perhaps someone can help me, I can't seem to get them to load on Sierra GM.

I installed the latest, but for whatever reason they don't load. I am using the same config.plist as I did in El Capitan, so nvda_drv=1 is definitely present, and I have EmuVariable installed as well, and tried the RC scripts method.

Is there anything past this that might work? Thankfully I don't need these drivers for a fully functional computer, but it would be beneficial. Everything else is working flawlessly, even my NVMe 950 Pro!

Are you sure the drivers are not loading? Check by entering this into terminal:

Code:
sudo kextstat | grep nv

If the resulting output has Web at the end of the driver names then you are using the Web drivers. Also, are you using the Sierra beta drivers? This driver should work - Nvidia Web Driver - 367.10.10.05b01
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
Asus Maximus XI Extreme
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Plus
  4. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Are you sure the drivers are not loading? Check by entering this into terminal:

Code:
sudo kextstat | grep nv

If the resulting output has Web at the end of the driver names then you are using the Web drivers. Also, are you using the Sierra beta drivers? This driver should work - Nvidia Web Driver - 367.10.10.05b01

Hi!

I'm fairly certain that the drivers aren't loading, here are a few different methods I used to test that

b6c3ljds.png

1t84fu15.png

d2lmuf41.png

And they are definitely installed, here is what I see in the preference pane
jh4qj2wl.png


I also have SIP disabled. Hmm, any other ideas? It's been driving me crazy haha.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2016
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3 rev2.0 F11
CPU
i5 760
Graphics
GTX 650
I think I've got an interesting one for ya'll and any assistance earns you double karma because Loreno10 (post #1052) has the same problem with the same gpu...
Without nvda_drv=1 the system boots properly but with native graphics only of course. With nvda_drv=1 it usually, but not always (~75% of attempts), force-restarts just when you'd expect the verbose screen to turn to the login screen.

When it does manage to boot, the graphics acceleration works properly (full resolution, multiple monitors supported etc). There is no obvious pattern: sometimes it fails, sometimes it boots. Without changing any settings, I just let it boot-loop until it succeeds.
So, I've been video-recording the verbose screen with my iphone *eyeroll*. The following entries sometimes come up just before a crash, and I've never seen them before a successful boot:

NTFS driver 3.13 [Flags: R/W].
NTFS volume name System Reserved, version 3.1.
NTFS error (device /dev/disk2s1, pid 139): ntfs_restart_page_header_is_valid(): $LogFile version 2.0 is not supported. (This driver supports version 1.1 only.)

I don't know what that means, but since it mentioned NTFS I unplugged my windows drives just to be safe; it didn't help.
I'm hoping this clue sounds familiar to someone with more knowledge and experience than me. Thanks in advance.

Failure looks like:
fails.jpg
Success looks like:
succeeds.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
76
Motherboard
PowerMac G4 MDD
CPU
i7 3930K @ 4.5ghz
Graphics
2x GTX 970 SLI
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I also updated to 10.12 GM (16A320) and the nvidia drivers just wont load - i've tried a few the EMU64 drivers, RC scripts, editing the nvidia driver .plist to match the build number, can't seem to work it out :(

EDIT: Cancel that! i just re-installed the nvidia drivers and somehow its working now :D

EDIT2: Sound via DP on my GTX 750Ti isnt working now though

EDIT3: Sound is now working fine again after i woke up my hackintosh from sleep... no idea what happened but im happy :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
Asus Maximus XI Extreme
CPU
i9-9900KS
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Plus
  4. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I also updated to 10.12 GM (16A320) and the nvidia drivers just wont load - i've tried a few the EMU64 drivers, RC scripts, editing the nvidia driver .plist to match the build number, can't seem to work it out :(

EDIT: Cancel that! i just re-installed the nvidia drivers and somehow its working now :D

EDIT2: Sound via DP on my GTX 750Ti isnt working now though

Huh..... wow yea it worked after reinstalling it. Why didn't I think of trying that? haha

Awesome, works now. Thanks!
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2014
Messages
191
Motherboard
MSI B85-G43
CPU
i5 4590
Graphics
GTX 960 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@xprime In my case verbose screen doesn't differ when it's about to boot properly compared to failed boot - they are the same, I don't have any NTFS error. I'm still struggling with this issue, I hope someone smarter than me can find a solution.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2014
Messages
984
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 7590 - Clover
CPU
i7-9980HK
Graphics
HD 630 + GTX 1650
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Huh..... wow yea it worked after reinstalling it. Why didn't I think of trying that? haha

Awesome, works now. Thanks!

Hey all!

I've been having the same problem as well, however reinstalling web drivers doesn't work for me either ... Any help? :D:think:
Also starting to go crazy over this :lol:

I will note though that it was able to boot with full graphics acceleration when I was booting into the Recovery partition ... :think:

-Duncan
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Messages
76
Motherboard
Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
I5-2500K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I have been having the same problem. Does anybody know what I would need to change for this to work on a iMac 12,1? Pertaining to problem #4 where the display goes black. I really do not want to change my SM bios to 14,1 as imessage works. After a closer reading if I find my board id in the AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy.kext and change config to none it should work right?
And since my video card, gtx 650 is natively supported I should not need to inject nvidia in my config.plist right? As well as no special boot flags, correct?

Update: My problem was solved by changing to 14,2 iMac.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 16, 2014
Messages
162
Motherboard
GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5
CPU
Intel Core I7-6700 FC-LGA14C 3.40 GHz 8 M Processor Cache 4
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 Overclocked GDDR5, 4GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Having similar issues with my GTX 970 - ran the sudo command and nothing returned, ran query for all and searched for nvidia_driver and nothing so thinking they are still nd it had an update to drivers today, ran and restarted but still only have system defaults for display. NOTE: I am getting an error when restarting (system still does not boot right either without using USB) on restart, system freezes so have to shut down and start back up and items shown below are greyed out. Any ideas?
nvidiaGraphics.png
nvidiaECC.png
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Having similar issues with my GTX 970 - ran the sudo command and nothing returned, ran query for all and searched for nvidia_driver and nothing so thinking they are still nd it had an update to drivers today, ran and restarted but still only have system defaults for display. NOTE: I am getting an error when restarting (system still does not boot right either without using USB) on restart, system freezes so have to shut down and start back up and items shown below are greyed out. Any ideas?View attachment 210436View attachment 210437

Those items are greyed out because the system preference pane is locked.
 
Top