Contribute
Register

[SOLVED - USER ERROR] - HELP - lost here (6800XT - Blackscreen)

Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
39
Motherboard
Asus Prime Deluxe 2 x299
CPU
10980XE
Graphics
VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
No matter what I do, black screen when booting up to Big Sur 11.4

6800XT, Big Sur 11.4 Asus Prime Deluxe 2 intel 10980XE, 64 gigs ram,

I am on - PRIME X299-DELUXE II 3301 Bios.​


I just cant get this stupid thing to not boot to a black screen, I tried AGPMOD=Pikera, AGPMOD=Ignore - just about everything, I am posting my EFI if someone can take a look its open core 0.7.0.

A few times i can get it to work by inserting and taking out the HDMI and Display port, using 2 monitor setup.

I tried both Macpro 7,1 and Imacpro 1,1 SMSBIOS, same for both. I have the lastest LILU and WHATEVERGREEN.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    8.8 MB · Views: 20
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 24, 2017
Messages
48
Motherboard
Asus ROG STRIX Z490-E Gaming
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Try changing your boot argument to: agpmod=pikera
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
24,201
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No matter what I do, black screen when booting up to Big Sur 11.4

6800XT, Big Sur 11.4 Asus Prime Deluxe 2 intel 10980XE, 64 gigs ram,

I am on - PRIME X299-DELUXE II 3301 Bios.​


I just cant get this stupid thing to not boot to a black screen, I tried AGPMOD=Pikera, AGPMOD=Ignore - just about everything, I am posting my EFI if someone can take a look its open core 0.7.0.

A few times i can get it to work by inserting and taking out the HDMI and Display port, using 2 monitor setup.

I tried both Macpro 7,1 and Imacpro 1,1 SMSBIOS, same for both. I have the lastest LILU and WHATEVERGREEN.

As per rules, please update your hardware profile to allow others to help you easier
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,449
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Different settings are required for different makes/models of the RX6800 XT card. As you probably know from reading the main RX6800 post, which goes through all the trials and tribulations that the early RX 6800/6900 adopters went through.

I would suggest you start reading from page 69 - https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/success-radeon-rx-6800-xt-big-sur.306736/page-69

Out of curiosity, which RX 6800 XT are you using?
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
39
Motherboard
Asus Prime Deluxe 2 x299
CPU
10980XE
Graphics
VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Different settings are required for different makes/models of the RX6800 XT card. As you probably know from reading the main RX6800 post, which goes through all the trials and tribulations that the early RX 6800/6900 adopters went through.

I would suggest you start reading from page 69 - https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/success-radeon-rx-6800-xt-big-sur.306736/page-69

Out of curiosity, which RX 6800 XT are you using?
Ah thank you I will look into this. Off hand since I am not at my machine it’s the asrock edition.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,449
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If it is the ASRock I looked at then it should have the correct working Device ID (0x73BF:1002) required for an RX6800 XT to function correctly in macOS.

The ASRock card doesn't seem to be one mentioned much in the RX6800 XT thread I linked. I think there is mention of your card on page 99 but nothing more as far as I could see.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
39
Motherboard
Asus Prime Deluxe 2 x299
CPU
10980XE
Graphics
VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
If it is the ASRock I looked at then it should have the correct working Device ID (0x73BF:1002) required for an RX6800 XT to function correctly in macOS.

The ASRock card doesn't seem to be one mentioned much in the RX6800 XT thread I linked. I think there is mention of your card on page 99 but nothing more as far as I could see.
well if anything thank you for trying... very odd.
It will work randomly.
but lately impossible.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,449
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Don't be disheartened because your Asrock card isn't mentioned, it might mean it is not one of the easy to get hold of cards. just check the Device ID for your card, see if it matches the one that is reported to work with Big Sur 11.4.

If it will work randomly then you more than likely need to change or add a setting, to get it working all the time. If you had a Black Screen every time you booted the system that would be different.

Read the thread from page 69, as linked above and see what permutations the other users have tried and found to be successful. Get in to a 'Testing' mindset and don't let it beat you.

At the moment regarding RX6000 series cards the RX6700 XT seems to be the problematic one, not your RX6800 XT.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
39
Motherboard
Asus Prime Deluxe 2 x299
CPU
10980XE
Graphics
VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Don't be disheartened because your Asrock card isn't mentioned, it might mean it is not one of the easy to get hold of cards. just check the Device ID for your card, see if it matches the one that is reported to work with Big Sur 11.4.

If it will work randomly then you more than likely need to change or add a setting, to get it working all the time. If you had a Black Screen every time you booted the system that would be different.

Read the thread from page 69, as linked above and see what permutations the other users have tried and found to be successful. Get in to a 'Testing' mindset and don't let it beat you.

At the moment regarding RX6000 series cards the RX6700 XT seems to be the problematic one, not your RX6800 XT.
Thank you, turns out it was probably user error:

Since i am an idiot, here are 2 mistakes i made, 1: It is "agdpmod=pikera" not "agpmod" in my EFI CONFIG as I am apparently illiterate (lol) , and the one that seems to work is "agpdmod=ignore". 2- I updated the bios to the very lastest, but DID not do load setup defaults and then put in the settings that are good for hackintoshing.

So if anyone can benifit from my stupidity there you go.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,449
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Top