Contribute
Register

[solved] UHD 630 either not booting or no acceleration on Dell XPS 15 9570 4K

Status
Not open for further replies.

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, no.. I'm trying to get the internal display to display with acceleration working.

Did you try without WhateverGreen.kext?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
66
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9570 (Clover UEFI)
CPU
i7-8750H/CM246
Graphics
UHD 630/1050Ti, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Did you try without WhateverGreen.kext?
With no WhateverGreen and your UHD630 config (with the Dell SMBIOS patch), the last line I see is " _" where _ is the cursor. Basically it's a bunch of spaces or something.
Then, after ~15 minutes, it seems to go into some kind of sleep-like state, though it's clearly not sleep.

Should I be injecting Intel graphics and/or using a fake IntelGFX id?

Edit: Same result with both. Tested:
  • Skylake spoofing with WhateverGreen + FakePCIID + FakePCIID Intel Graphics
  • Kaby Lake spoofing with WhateverGreen+ FakePCIID + FakePCIID Intel Graphics
  • Real platform ID, no fake ID with WhateverGreen
  • Real platform ID, no fake ID without WhateverGreen
  • Real platform ID, slightly more specific fake ID with WhateverGreen
  • Real platform ID, slightly more specific fake ID without WhateverGreen
All of them exhibited the same result: Hanging at
Code:
IOConsolueUsers: time(0) 0->0, lin 0, lik 1,
IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm0x0

I tried both with and without patching the framebuffer's stolen/cursor memory when testing a real platform ID.
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
With no WhateverGreen and your UHD630 config (with the Dell SMBIOS patch), the last line I see is " _" where _ is the cursor. Basically it's a bunch of spaces or something.
Then, after ~15 minutes, it seems to go into some kind of sleep-like state, though it's clearly not sleep.

Should I be injecting Intel graphics and/or using a fake IntelGFX id?

Edit: Same result with both. Tested:
  • Skylake spoofing with WhateverGreen + FakePCIID + FakePCIID Intel Graphics
  • Kaby Lake spoofing with WhateverGreen+ FakePCIID + FakePCIID Intel Graphics
  • Real platform ID, no fake ID with WhateverGreen
  • Real platform ID, no fake ID without WhateverGreen
  • Real platform ID, slightly more specific fake ID with WhateverGreen
  • Real platform ID, slightly more specific fake ID without WhateverGreen
All of them exhibited the same result: Hanging at
Code:
IOConsolueUsers: time(0) 0->0, lin 0, lik 1,
IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm0x0

I tried both with and without patching the framebuffer's stolen/cursor memory when testing a real platform ID.

Test current plists linked by the guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
66
Motherboard
Dell XPS 15 9570 (Clover UEFI)
CPU
i7-8750H/CM246
Graphics
UHD 630/1050Ti, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Test current plists linked by the guide:
Even with fbmem instead of the cursor memory (I replaced the entire config file with yours), it gets to the same place and hangs.

It's just slightly different this time because I have wireless working, but the gIOScreenLockState 3 line still shows as the second to last line.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Even with fbmem instead of the cursor memory (I replaced the entire config file with yours), it gets to the same place and hangs.

It's just slightly different this time because I have wireless working, but the gIOScreenLockState 3 line still shows as the second to last line.

No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2018
Messages
114
Motherboard
Asus TUF FX504GE (Clover)
CPU
i7-8750H/HM370
Graphics
UHD 630, Nvidia 1050ti, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Backup your current config.plist, remove whatevergreen or any other kexts for graphics. Start with empty config.plist and set SMBIOS to MacBook Pro 15,1or 15,2 and try to boot. Also try with and without the ssdt for disabling nvidia.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Backup your current config.plist, remove whatevergreen or any other kexts for graphics. Start with empty config.plist and set SMBIOS to MacBook Pro 15,1or 15,2 and try to boot. Also try with and without the ssdt for disabling nvidia.

Without WhateverGreen.kext, Dell laptops likely to run into DVMT-prealloc problems.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2018
Messages
114
Motherboard
Asus TUF FX504GE (Clover)
CPU
i7-8750H/HM370
Graphics
UHD 630, Nvidia 1050ti, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Without WhateverGreen.kext, Dell laptops likely to run into DVMT-prealloc problems.
The 8750h UHD 630 is already a nightmare and btw a guy with dvmt 32 got graphics without any dvmt fix yesterday. Is there a fix to the dvmt problem other than whatevergreen?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,728
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The 8750h UHD 630 is already a nightmare and btw a guy with dvmt 32 got graphics without any dvmt fix yesterday. Is there a fix to the dvmt problem other than whatevergreen?

With your ASUS, you can likely set DVMT-prealloc to 64MB right from BIOS options.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2018
Messages
114
Motherboard
Asus TUF FX504GE (Clover)
CPU
i7-8750H/HM370
Graphics
UHD 630, Nvidia 1050ti, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I was talking about this guy.
Yep.
Let me try and see if it boots without WhateverGreen and Lilu.

But then asus bios are cool in that they allow to set DMVT pre-alloc to 64mb.
I can only set it to 32mb. :(

Hmm, I deleted WhateverGreen+Lilu and used your config.plist with Inject Intel = True and ig-platform-id = 0x3E9B0000
It shows CFL CRB 1536MB (pic attached).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top