Contribute
Register

[SOLVED] The Dreaded Asus Z10PE-D8 WS

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,234
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Im sure that Arch=x86_64 forces OS X to boot between 32bit and 64bit but its not really needed on Intel CPUs tho is it.
Snow Leopard default was 32 bit. If you wanted to boot it 64 bit it required you to specify in the boot-args for PC-Macs or add it to com.Apple.boot.plist for Macs.
You had to be careful because some apps - Kontakt for example - would crash immediately because they were 32bit only.
It was either Lion or Mountain Lion where Apple went 64bit totally - cannot remember off the top of my head right now which one it was.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2012
Messages
539
Motherboard
ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS
CPU
Dual E5-2680 v1
Graphics
GTX660 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 31, 2012
Messages
539
Motherboard
ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS
CPU
Dual E5-2680 v1
Graphics
GTX660 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The 8800GT would be the easiest to get working in SL followed by the 2600XT. You can forget the onboard ASpeed and the R9 285 in SL - no support at all. Not sure about the Quadro card.

Did more digging into the Quadro FX580 and it turns out it was never supported by Apple, pretty much all support was given to four digit versions such FX5600 ... So we live and learn :)

Martin
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,234
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Well the BOOTX64.efi has made no difference - still does the same.
This is the card that i purchased:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/272358293337?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

I did try adding the PC version firmware to the ROM folder in clover a few builds ago but it made no difference then.

Do i need to flash this to be non Apple version - It's only in the build to try n get snow leopard up running ?

Martin
There is no reason you cannot run 32 bit OS X SL on your hardware. The X58A platform was supposed to be all 64bit and it runs SL just fine. Have never seen a 64 bit machine that was not backwards compatible with 32 bit software.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2012
Messages
539
Motherboard
ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS
CPU
Dual E5-2680 v1
Graphics
GTX660 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There is no reason you cannot run 32 bit OS X SL on your hardware. The X58A platform was supposed to be all 64bit and it runs SL just fine. Have never seen a 64 bit machine that was not backwards compatible with 32 bit software.

It kinda makes sense to try it that way too, as far as I can remember 1,1 2,1 and 3,1 Mac Pro's were all 32bit firmware
Going to try dropping the arch boot flag and see what happens ...

Martin
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2012
Messages
539
Motherboard
ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS
CPU
Dual E5-2680 v1
Graphics
GTX660 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Steadfastly refuses to boot without the arch=x86_64 so that is definitely needed
I have tried the ATi 2600XT and it just goes to a black screen, the monitor stays as an active connection.
Am i right in assuming that you don't need to tart around with the DSDT and SSDT files for SL, never needed to with the Z9PE board until we got to Mavericks and beyond.

Any body got any other ideas to try ?

Martin
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,781
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Steadfastly refuses to boot without the arch=x86_64 so that is definitely needed
I have tried the ATi 2600XT and it just goes to a black screen, the monitor stays as an active connection.
Am i right in assuming that you don't need to tart around with the DSDT and SSDT files for SL, never needed to with the Z9PE board until we got to Mavericks and beyond.

Any body got any other ideas to try ?

Martin

Try removing PCIRootUID=1 from config.plist.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2012
Messages
539
Motherboard
ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS
CPU
Dual E5-2680 v1
Graphics
GTX660 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Try removing PCIRootUID=1 from config.plist.
Yeah I have been trying that too, it doesn't mind that not being there .... Does anybody know if there a maximum screen resolution for the SL installer ? Am i breaking it using 1920x1080 ? Need to read up some more I guess, not seen anywhere in clover where you can force a resolution so i am guessing it's a boot arg like it was with Chameleon.

Martin
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,234
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yeah I have been trying that too, it doesn't mind that not being there .... Does anybody know if there a maximum screen resolution for the SL installer ? Am i breaking it using 1920x1080 ? Need to read up some more I guess, not seen anywhere in clover where you can force a resolution so i am guessing it's a boot arg like it was with Chameleon.

Martin
This is the config.plist I am using with the X58A-UD7 with the SN removed in the SMBIOS info. Screen resolution is under GUI.
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
    <key>ACPI</key>
    <dict>
        <key>DSDT</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Debug</key>
            <false/>
            <key>DropOEM_DSM</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Name</key>
            <string>DSDT.aml</string>
            <key>ReuseFFFF</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>SSDT</key>
        <dict>
            <key>DropOem</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Generate</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
    </dict>
    <key>Boot</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Arguments</key>
        <string>-v</string>
        <key>Debug</key>
        <true/>
        <key>DefaultVolume</key>
        <string>MacHDD</string>
        <key>Legacy</key>
        <string>PBR</string>
        <key>Secure</key>
        <false/>
        <key>Timeout</key>
        <integer>3</integer>
        <key>XMPDetection</key>
        <false/>
    </dict>
    <key>CPU</key>
    <dict>
        <key>UseARTFrequency</key>
        <false/>
    </dict>
    <key>Devices</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Audio</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Inject</key>
            <string>1</string>
        </dict>
        <key>FakeID</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>IMEI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>IntelGFX</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>LAN</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>SATA</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>WIFI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
            <key>XHCI</key>
            <string>0x0</string>
        </dict>
        <key>USB</key>
        <dict>
            <key>FixOwnership</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Inject</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
    </dict>
    <key>DisableDrivers</key>
    <array>
        <string>Nothing</string>
    </array>
    <key>GUI</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Hide</key>
        <array>
            <string>Windows</string>
            <string>\EFI\BOOT\BOOTX64.EFI</string>
        </array>
        <key>Language</key>
        <string>en:0</string>
        <key>Mouse</key>
        <dict>
            <key>DoubleClick</key>
            <integer>500</integer>
            <key>Enabled</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Mirror</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Speed</key>
            <integer>8</integer>
        </dict>
        <key>Scan</key>
        <dict>
            <key>Entries</key>
            <true/>
            <key>Legacy</key>
            <string>First</string>
            <key>Linux</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Tool</key>
            <true/>
        </dict>
        <key>ScreenResolution</key>
        <string>1920x1080</string>
        <key>Theme</key>
        <string>black_green</string>
    </dict>
    <key>Graphics</key>
    <dict>
        <key>Inject</key>
        <dict>
            <key>ATI</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Intel</key>
            <false/>
            <key>NVidia</key>
            <false/>
        </dict>
        <key>NvidiaSingle</key>
        <false/>
    </dict>
    <key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
    <dict>
        <key>AppleRTC</key>
        <true/>
        <key>AsusAICPUPM</key>
        <false/>
        <key>Debug</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelCpu</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelHaswellE</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelLapic</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KernelPm</key>
        <false/>
        <key>KextsToPatch</key>
        <array>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>External icons patch</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>RXh0ZXJuYWw=</data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleAHCIPort</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>SW50ZXJuYWw=</data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>t1-AppleHDA/Resources/xml&gt;zml</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>eG1sLnps</data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleHDA</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>em1sLnps</data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>t1-10.9-10.11-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC889</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>ixnUEQ==</data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleHDA</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>iQjsEA==</data>
            </dict>
            <dict>
                <key>Comment</key>
                <string>t1-10.11-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC...</string>
                <key>Disabled</key>
                <false/>
                <key>Find</key>
                <data>gxnUEQ==</data>
                <key>Name</key>
                <string>AppleHDA</string>
                <key>Replace</key>
                <data>AAAAAA==</data>
            </dict>
        </array>
    </dict>
    <key>RtVariables</key>
    <dict>
        <key>BooterConfig</key>
        <string>0x28</string>
        <key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
        <string>0x3</string>
    </dict>
    <key>SMBIOS</key>
    <dict>
        <key>BiosReleaseDate</key>
        <string>06/12/13</string>
        <key>BiosVendor</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>BiosVersion</key>
        <string>MP61.88Z.0116.B04.1312061508</string>
        <key>Board-ID</key>
        <string>Mac-F60DEB81FF30ACF6</string>
        <key>BoardManufacturer</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>BoardType</key>
        <integer>11</integer>
        <key>ChassisAssetTag</key>
        <string>Pro-Enclosure</string>
        <key>ChassisManufacturer</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>ChassisType</key>
        <string>06</string>
        <key>Family</key>
        <string>Mac Pro</string>
        <key>Manufacturer</key>
        <string>Apple Inc.</string>
        <key>Mobile</key>
        <false/>
        <key>ProductName</key>
        <string>MacPro6,1</string>
        <key>SerialNumber</key>
        <string></string>
        <key>Trust</key>
        <true/>
        <key>Version</key>
        <string>1.0</string>
    </dict>
    <key>SystemParameters</key>
    <dict>
        <key>InjectKexts</key>
        <string>Yes</string>
        <key>InjectSystemID</key>
        <true/>
    </dict>
</dict>
</plist>


Notice I had to change the SysDef to 6,1 to get it to run Sierra. The 4,1 and 5,1 are not supported in Sierra. I would have to double check, but I do not think any of the iMac SysDefs had a socket 1366 CPU in them - core2Duo and core2quad, then i3/i5/i7 socket 1156 IIRC before they went to Ivy Bridge CPUs - and I am sure the Mac Mini did not.

What you probably need is a boot-arg list like the x99s:

-v -f dart=0 npci=0x2000 cpus=1 maxmem=4096

or something similar.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
24,607
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Notice I had to change the SysDef to 6,1 to get it to run Sierra. The 4,1 and 5,1 are not supported in Sierra.

Just for info, I am running Sierra on my ThinkServer as a MacPro5,1.

MacPro5,1 Sierra.png
 
Top