[Solved] System reboots when I start GPU stress or use 3D soft - GTX 970

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by cjr4d, May 20, 2017.

  1. cjr4d

    cjr4d

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 ACX FTW
    May 20, 2017 at 1:46 AM #1
    cjr4d

    cjr4d

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 ACX FTW
    Hello everyone, I've been looking for a solution on the Internet for weeks, I'm still not sure the reason for my problem. My last hackintosh had the El Capitan OS and now Sierra, it always worked perfectly, totally stable. These are the characteristics:

    Mobo: GA Z97X UD3H
    CPU: i7 4790K - 4ghz
    GPU: EVGA GTX 970 4gb ddr5 FTW - Fully recognized by the system and all softwares.
    Memory: 2 x HyperX 8 gb 1600 Mhz DDR3

    PSU: Thermaltake Smart 750W - Bronze
    SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb.
    Rigid Disk: WDC 320 gb.

    SMBIOS: Mac Pro 5,1 (mid 2010) - I also used iMac 14,2 and iMac 15,1 with the same stability and mentioned problem.
    OS: SIerra 10.12.5 (16F73) - Also use many previous versions.
    Nvidia web driver: 378.05.05.15f01 - I realized that these drivers are created for Mac Pro 2010, that's why I chose my SMBIOS
    Cuda: 8.0.83

    I have 2 monitors connected, the main on the first DVI port and second with HDMI.

    The installation was quite fast, UniBeast, Clover, MultibBast, Nvidia web drivers, etc ... I am a graphic designer, motionographer and 3d animators, so I work with many programs and I used hackintosh for years.

    The problem: my system REBOOTS every time when:
    • I use Cinema 4D, specifically every time I touch properties of some texture. (100% times)
    • I run this Benchmarks GPU testers: Ungine Heaven and Valley. (100% times)
    • I play some seconds when Call of Dutty. (100% times)
    • Run OpenCL test with Geekbench 4. CUDA test does nothing. (100% times)
    • Sometimes when I use After Effects (5% times)
    I also realized this with some Benchmark software:
    • My GPU and CPU are very popular in this hackintosh community and few people realized that this GPU in some testers gives very low values. Therefore I consider that it never really accelerates this GPU.
    • Cinebench is too kind, I think the result of the test of gpu is a little cosmetic. My results are quite high.
    • GeekBench 4: very good CPU result but I never finish a GPU test without reboots.
    • Novabench: Good results except with GPU. I read many post with people satisfied with similar results, the normal score of this GPU (Graphics tests) should be more than 800.
    • Unigine Heaven and Valley dont finish, reboots everytime.
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Important to know:
    • This problem intensified since I installed the last upgrade of El Capitan and then Sierra, until I reached 10.12.5. I have tried many drivers. I think before... with the first version of El Capitan I could play Call of Duty and use Cinema 4D without problems.
    • I have monitored the system with HWmonitor, and never had problems of overheating in any component.
    • In HWmonitor: GPU Core: values reaches up to 1 ghz (approx.) - GPU Memory: reaches 7 ghz (makes peaks) - GPU Fan: always close to 600rpm (never exceeded this value) - GPU PWM: 10 % (This draws my attention, does it mean that it only uses 10% of the power?) - GPU Die: around 25C.
    My guesswork:
    • These reboots appear to be a protection system for the CPU or GPU.
    • Web drivers don't work optimally.
    • The problem has to do with managing the increase in power when performance is demanded.
    I have tried many things, many times modified the cong.plis file with Clover, I have generated my own DSDT, test with just one monitors (without vga adapter), I read so much posts in all web world and even I have disconnected and cleaned the GPU a couple of times.

    Please, I need a solution since it does not make sense to have a board of this power running at less than half of its potential. Also I can't use some software important to my profession (Cinema 4D). I appreciate any help even if they are just clues.
    I'll keep investigating. So much thanks in advance.

    PS: I hope I have created my first threads correctly. Sorry my English (google translate).
     
  2. cjr4d

    cjr4d

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 ACX FTW
    May 24, 2017 at 9:35 PM #2
    cjr4d

    cjr4d

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 ACX FTW
    anyone?... Don't make me go back to Windows please!!!
     
  3. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,615
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 24, 2017 at 9:51 PM #3
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,615
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Attach your config.plist
     
  4. cjr4d

    cjr4d

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 ACX FTW
    May 24, 2017 at 10:03 PM #4
    cjr4d

    cjr4d

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 ACX FTW
    Thank you, I attached the file now.
    I was investigating a little more, it is possible that Metal technology has to do with this?
    I'm still not sure who reboots the system, gpu or cpu ...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. cjr4d

    cjr4d

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 ACX FTW
    May 24, 2017 at 10:06 PM #5
    cjr4d

    cjr4d

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 ACX FTW
    I also tried using these smbios: iMac 14,2 - iMac 15,1 - Mac Pro 5,1 - Mac Pro 6,1 but the problem persists.
     
  6. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,615
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 24, 2017 at 10:09 PM #6
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,615
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Not a lot wrong with that, I made a few minor edits for you to try.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. cjr4d

    cjr4d

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 ACX FTW
    May 24, 2017 at 10:19 PM #7
    cjr4d

    cjr4d

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 ACX FTW
    Thank you so much, I'm going to try this in a few minutes and I'll tell you.
     
  8. UtterDisbelief

    UtterDisbelief

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,214
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming K3
    CPU:
    i3-8350k 4.0ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX 560 OC 4GB GDDR5
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 24, 2017 at 10:51 PM #8
    UtterDisbelief

    UtterDisbelief

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,214
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming K3
    CPU:
    i3-8350k 4.0ghz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RX 560 OC 4GB GDDR5
    Mac:
    iMac, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    My first reaction to reading your problem was of a power-supply issue. It's typically when the going gets tough that a top-end GPU like yours will start drinking power and if the system diverts too much from the rest of the components you get a crash.

    However, having said that, your PSU is a powerful one and you mention this getting worse when you change O/S version. Plenty of other builders have put together machines this powerful - and more - without the issue.

    So ... Perhaps try that GPU in a different PCIe slot. I know they will be slower assuming you have it currently in slot PCIeX16 but it might be a valid check that the GPU can run in a lesser one with sufficient power (assuming you've checked the PSU leads and connectors etc). Hopefully there will be no configuration problems...

    I might be way off mark but your problem sounds like power to me.

    Good luck anyway :)
     
  9. cjr4d

    cjr4d

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 ACX FTW
    May 25, 2017 at 12:29 AM #9
    cjr4d

    cjr4d

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 970 ACX FTW
    I had some problems with SMBIOS. I switched to iMac 14.2 now and your plist file. The problem is still there. But I found this in the boot text (see attached) verbose-data.jpg

    "Power management may be incomplete or unsupported"
     
  10. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,615
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 25, 2017 at 12:31 AM #10
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    16,615
    Motherboard:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790 3.6 GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    That's normal, no cause for concern.

    Have you implemented Power Management ?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice