[SOLVED](Sierra, Maximus IX Hero) No Audio Output, Audio Output Devices are available

Discussion in 'Audio' started by allfootageisarchived, Oct 2, 2017.

  1. allfootageisarchived

    allfootageisarchived

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero Z270 LGA1151
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 7700K Kaby Lake Quad Core 4.2GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS ROG Geforce GTX 1080 STRIX 8GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Oct 2, 2017 at 1:36 AM #1
    allfootageisarchived

    allfootageisarchived

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero Z270 LGA1151
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 7700K Kaby Lake Quad Core 4.2GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS ROG Geforce GTX 1080 STRIX 8GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Hello TonyMac Community!

    I apologize for once again (I've posted before and P1lgrim saved my butt) for being a super ignorant noob and bothering you all with what I hope is a silly question with a quick solution.

    This is my current hardware build:

    • MOBO: ASUS ROG ATX Maximus IX Hero
    • Processor: Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake Quad Core 4.2 GHz
    • GPU: ASUS ROG Geforce GTX 1080 STRIX 8GB
    • Memory: (2) Ballistic Sport LT 16 GB DDR4 2666
    • SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    • OSX: Sierra (10.12.6)

    Currently it is up and running, but after many attempts to get my audio working I am now at a strange impasse. I originally installed the ALC1220A (ASUS ROG STRIX Only) through MultiBeast on initial installation, but no devices showed up in my System Preferences>Sound>Output. I could see my Apple TV as an output device, but nothing off of the mother board. So, I combed the forums to determine a solution and very foolishly I attempted multiple MultiBeast driver installs. I apologize because I did not take note (very stupidly) of the driver installations I attempted after my initial MulitBeast setup.

    I did find the Realtek kext file that was in the Library>Extensions and deleted it. I then restarted my machine, opened MultiBeast and decided to try to install a new codec which was the ALC1220. Upon reboot, I can see devices! I have two Line Outs, an Optical, and a Digital output. However, the real bummer is that no actual sound is coming through either port on my tower (Back/Front).

    I'm sorry I cannot list the threads I was looking through for an answer, but I figured my last shot would be to see if anyone on here has possibly come across this and can lead me to the appropriate solution. Thank you for your time and I greatly appreciate your patience and knowledge. If it helps any, I've attached my Config.plst as a PDF for those who understand how to read it (I'm sorry I'm not one of those people).
     

    Attached Files:

  2. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,189
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 2, 2017 at 1:53 AM #2
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,189
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    An audio answer is always in one of the audio stickies, start there.
    Quick Fix: 200 Series/Kaby Lake Audio
     
  3. allfootageisarchived

    allfootageisarchived

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero Z270 LGA1151
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 7700K Kaby Lake Quad Core 4.2GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS ROG Geforce GTX 1080 STRIX 8GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Oct 3, 2017 at 12:24 AM #3
    allfootageisarchived

    allfootageisarchived

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero Z270 LGA1151
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 7700K Kaby Lake Quad Core 4.2GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS ROG Geforce GTX 1080 STRIX 8GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Thank you Toleda! This was one of the forums I was attempting to sift through and wasn't sure which to do, so I chose the first and it worked! I also determined I was installing the kext files incorrectly at first, but then discovered my error and I had success.

    What's interesting is that I'm having a similar issue to Fuma from that thread...


    My audio output cable is plugged into my rear MOBO Line Out port (however it also works in my front Headphone port), but the audio will only work if within System Preferences>Output I select Interval Speakers. I'm not going to be a beggar that's a chooser, I'm just ecstatic it works! Thanks for the patience and help with this fix!
     
  4. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,189
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 3, 2017 at 2:34 AM #4
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21,189
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The port is labeled "lime" on the back panel and Front Speaker Out in the manual not Line Out. Most manufacturers label the port green.

    macOS/System Preferences/Sound/Output:
    a. Internal Speakers > motherboard green port/"lime"
    b. Headphones > front panel green port (if connected)
     

Share This Page