Contribute
Register

[Solved] Security Update 2017-003 El Capitan

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
526
Motherboard
Lenovo T440s
CPU
i5-4200u
Graphics
HD4400
So far I've tried every value of CsrActiveConfig, both versions of OsxAptioFixDrv, and played with a few other commands.

My machine having issues (laptop) is using Intel graphics and ig-platform-id. My other machine (desktop) ran the update just fine which uses native Nvidia graphics.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
33
Motherboard
ASUS Zenbook UX305FA-Clover
CPU
M-5Y10
Graphics
HD 5300
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
funny, i'm affected too, even though i have had no problems with security updates. rolled back via time machine, it boots. install update again, clover bootloop.

i have updated to the latest (r4114) and tried to enable/disable all options related to SIP (CsrActiveConfig), even the unusual ones (other than 0x0 0x3 0x67). also the usual tricks like disable injected kexts, -x, -s etc.

what are we missing?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
526
Motherboard
Lenovo T440s
CPU
i5-4200u
Graphics
HD4400
funny, i'm affected too, even though i have had no problems with security updated. rolled back via time machine, it boots. install update again, clover bootloop.

i have updated to the latest (r4114) and tried to enable/disable all options related to SIP (CsrActiveConfig), even the unusual ones (other than 0x0 0x3 0x67). also the usual tricks like disable injected kexts, -x, -s etc.

what are we missing?
The security update affects the kernel and some kexts. Since we can't get to the actual loading of MacOS, I'd assume it has something to do with the kernel (boot.efi)
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
33
Motherboard
ASUS Zenbook UX305FA-Clover
CPU
M-5Y10
Graphics
HD 5300
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The security update affects the kernel and some kexts. Since we can't get to the actual loading of MacOS, I'd assume it has something to do with the kernel (boot.efi)

my theory exactly. what i don't get is why the recovery partition works just fine. maybe that gets updated after the first reboot.. meanwhile i also tried swapping out the aptiofixdrv2 to the older one, but that didn't help either. now i'm going to try to boot from the usb stick created with a default config about half a year ago, fingers crossed.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
33
Motherboard
ASUS Zenbook UX305FA-Clover
CPU
M-5Y10
Graphics
HD 5300
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
my theory exactly. what i don't get is why the recovery partition works just fine. maybe that gets updated after the first reboot.. meanwhile i also tried swapping out the aptiofixdrv2 to the older one, but that didn't help either. now i'm going to try to boot from the usb stick created with a default config about half a year ago, fingers crossed.

UPDATE: no it doesn't boot it, same behaviour. so it's probably safe to conclude that the problem is not in our config.plist.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
526
Motherboard
Lenovo T440s
CPU
i5-4200u
Graphics
HD4400
UPDATE: no it doesn't boot it, same behaviour. so it's probably safe to conclude that the problem is not in our config.plist.
Well, it could be a boot flag or something we are all using. My laptop (which can't boot) uses ig-platform-id for my processor (i5-4200u) whereas my desktop (which boots fine) does not require that.

I'm going to compare my config files later today when I'm in front of both machines.

EDIT:
Keep an eye on these threads for updates to people with the same issue:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/after-osxaptio-then-restart.227549/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...ng-clover-uefi-hotpatch-10-11.189416/page-679 (foobaa999)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
33
Motherboard
ASUS Zenbook UX305FA-Clover
CPU
M-5Y10
Graphics
HD 5300
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Well, it could be a boot flag or something we are all using. My laptop (which can't boot) uses ig-platform-id for my processor (i5-4200u) whereas my desktop (which boots fine) does not require that.

I'm going to compare my config files later today when I'm in front of both machines.

EDIT:
Keep an eye on these threads for updates to people with the same issue:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/after-osxaptio-then-restart.227549/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...ng-clover-uefi-hotpatch-10-11.189416/page-679 (foobaa999)

i don't think so, i think this must be related to the kernel binary itself, because a vanilla clover config shouldn't have anything like that set. i haven't selected them from the options, that's for sure, and config.plist is unchanged from the one that the installer .pkg put on the ESP.

well i cannot go days without my main laptop, but i will install the newest os x to an external drive and continue testing when i can. thanks for the links though. if i manage to find a solution i'll post it here.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
526
Motherboard
Lenovo T440s
CPU
i5-4200u
Graphics
HD4400
i don't think so, i think this must be related to the kernel binary itself, because a vanilla clover config shouldn't have anything like that set. i haven't selected them from the options, that's for sure, and config.plist is unchanged from the one that the installer .pkg put on the ESP.

well i cannot go days without my main laptop, but i will install the newest os x to an external drive and continue testing when i can. thanks for the links though. if i manage to find a solution i'll post it here.
Well it is odd, because it does appear that we all are having issues with laptops, so there must be a commonality.

Could it be the WiFi card or something?

EDIT: I also can boot into recovery...this is very weird.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 5, 2011
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte H170N-Wifi
CPU
i5-6400
Graphics
HD 530
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well it is odd, because it does appear that we all are having issues with laptops, so there must be a commonality.

Could it be the WiFi card or something?

EDIT: I also can boot into recovery...this is very weird.
I am on a desktop. I can boot using a previous install on a ssd, and I can read everything on my main hd, but I cannot boot from it.
 
Joined
May 24, 2015
Messages
166
Motherboard
ThinkPad X1c 2015
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
You can guess why I'm here.

This update worked fine on one machine (Gigabyte Z87 mATX i7-4770K iGPU) which gave me enough confidence to break the Thinkpad X1 Carbon gen 3 (full details of EFI config in github). Quick summary: i5-5200U, 8G, settable video ram size. 2560x1440 display on eDP, so it requires the IOKit dot clock patch if Intel graphics are injected. Lenovo/Phoenix BIOS.

I get a row of plusses and a boot (loop). Currently running off an earlier drive.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top