Contribute
Register

[Solved] Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ SE | black screen on HDMI and DVI

Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
194
Motherboard
Asus X79 Deluxe
CPU
E5-1680 V2
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So i bought this one and thought it would work out of the box. I was wrong.
After few days i managed to stabilize my 10.14.2 and now it works as it should - actually it runs fantastic, faster than ever, except this bad boy.
What seems to be the problem?
i cannot work with 3 monitors
i cannot send a 4th display to my TV to watch movies
as i did for the last two years with my GTX970 and sierra/high sierra

The symptoms are kinda strange. i don't think it is a settings problem but then again i don't know. After lots of testing i settled with watevergreen "on" and nothing else. no injectATI or orinoco framebuffer. On the 2 working monitors it seems the best solution.
So i went on and made a little table of the results of my tests.

upload_2018-12-9_0-31-6.png


first examples are straight forward but the last two is where strange things happen.
As soon as i plug in the 3rd DVI or HDMI monitor the 2 working screen immediately get a shade of grey and freeze at place. This means that you can see the last things displayed but with a grey shade on top.
And strangest of all, the mouse cursor still works! You can do absolutely nothing except moving it, but it works.
This last one is the big difference in 10.14.2. In 10.14 and 10.13.6 i only had black screens

i really don't know what to do.

EDIT: i tried booting with iMac14,2, iMac18,3, Macpro5,1, Macpro4,1, Macpro3,1. All the same except 3,1 where it wouldn't boot at all.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
194
Motherboard
Asus X79 Deluxe
CPU
E5-1680 V2
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
First update:
After @Stork 's suggetsion i downloaded and opened DPCI manager.
with only whatevergreen loaded, i get this:
Screenshot 2018-12-09 at 17.37.07.png


with whatevergreen, InjectATi and setting Orinoco as framebuffer i get this
Screenshot 2018-12-09 at 17.35.20.png


so my framebuffer is correct but the ports number goes to 6... and i have only 5. 2xDP 2xHDMI 1xDVI.
Could this be the problem ? That i need the correct frame buffer but i must fix the port number?
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,692
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...
so my framebuffer is correct but the ports number goes to 6... and i have only 5. 2xDP 2xHDMI 1xDVI.
Could this be the problem ? That i need the correct frame buffer but i must fix the port number?
I just noticed that, too, after you pointed it out. <fingers-crossed> So far, so good. I've used DVI and DP for two monitors with no problems. </fingers-crossed>
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
194
Motherboard
Asus X79 Deluxe
CPU
E5-1680 V2
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ah! thank you for stoping by :)
can you confirm that the rest of your ports are working? (althought i think it is the different card model that messes things up, but it shouldn't cause apple suggest sapphire RX580!! )
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
502
Motherboard
MSI TRX40 Creator
CPU
AMD Threadripper 3970X
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
First update:
After @Stork 's suggetsion i downloaded and opened DPCI manager.
with only whatevergreen loaded, i get this:
View attachment 371489
with whatevergreen, InjectATi and setting Orinoco as framebuffer i get this
View attachment 371491
so my framebuffer is correct but the ports number goes to 6... and i have only 5. 2xDP 2xHDMI 1xDVI.
Could this be the problem ? That i need the correct frame buffer but i must fix the port number?
You should not be injecting a frame buffer if you are going to use WhatEverGreen per Vit9696 instructions:
https://github.com/acidanthera/WhateverGreen/blob/master/Manual/FAQ.Radeon.en.md
Code:
o When should I use a named framebuffer?
Named framebuffers (Baladi, Futomaki, Lotus, etc.), enabled by "Clover GPU injection" or any other methods should never ever be used. 
This way of GPU injection is a common mistake, preventing automatic configuration of various important GPU parameters. This will inavoidably lead to borked GPU functioning in quite a number of cases.
Read the rest of his FAQs and it may help you get all your ports working properly.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
502
Motherboard
MSI TRX40 Creator
CPU
AMD Threadripper 3970X
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro+ RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yes this is why i kept only whatevergreen. No luck though
There are tons of things you might need to try using SSDT, Device Properties in Clover config or bootargs. But do not inject a frame buffer name or ATIInject=Yes in Clover while trying those different things.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
971
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
so my framebuffer is correct but the ports number goes to 6... and i have only 5. 2xDP 2xHDMI 1xDVI.
Could this be the problem ? That i need the correct frame buffer but i must fix the port number?

That's because you did not set VideoPorts = 5.
This is what I do with my i7-3770k + RX 580 Nitro+ :
Screenshot 2018-12-09 at 21.43.11.png


If you set Inject ATI=Yes, then if you do specify a FBName, then you should also specify the number of ports (using VideoPorts).
If you do NOT specify the framebuffer name, then the default RadeonFramebuffer will be used with 6 ports, unless you override it with VideoPorts.

If you use Whatevergreen, then it's FAQ does state NOT to InjectATI. However, for the Nitro+, Orinoco framebuffer is almost a perfect match for each ports type and their order on the that card (Port 0=DP, Port 1=DP, Port 2=HDMI, Port 3=HDMI and Port 4=DVI-D).
I do not use Whatevergreen and I get 3 ports to work simultaneously.
I have tried Whatevergreen WITH InjectATI + FBName + VideoPorts and have had no side effects.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
194
Motherboard
Asus X79 Deluxe
CPU
E5-1680 V2
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I set ports to 5
removed whatevergreen.
4 monitors and HDMI audio all working like they should!!!!:headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang::headbang:

Guys you rock!! you saved my work and mostly my peace of mind. i thank you all.
@macnb you are officially the Nitro+ guy !
And you were also right, with whatevergreen there is no difference. It still works. But I guess I don't need it. The less the better.
Strangely DPCIManager still shows 6 ports... oh, I really don't care right now
Ahh, these special moments of the hackintosh-life....
:beachball::ugeek:ok, funk music till the morning!:ugeek::beachball:
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
194
Motherboard
Asus X79 Deluxe
CPU
E5-1680 V2
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
How do I mark a topic "solved"?
 
Top