Contribute
Register

[solved] Really slow start-up 5-6 mins always

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,757
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Truth be known, getting sound back is the last thing I have to do. I am just so happy we have resolved the other issues.

The reason I found that TrimEnabler text was because I was looking for CodecCommander. I had a lot of old Kexts that I was able to delete.

I do have CodecCommander, I updated it to a newer one. Installed via KextInstaller.

I have Audio Inject 1 as part of Audio Devices. I see my outs but LineOut isn't giving me any sound (yet) https://cl.ly/0M2q111O1y2p

Do I need these boot arguments?
  1. Add config.plist/Boot/Arguments/ -lilubeta -alcbeta
https://cl.ly/0C2V2C3e0O3O

No. Ignore Clovers Audio ID. It is not needed. Audio ID is injected via GFX0 under HDEF. Look here.

HDEF edits,

Code:
Scope (\_SB.PCI0)
    {
        Scope (\_SB.PCI0.HDEF)
        {
            Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)  // _DSM: Device-Specific Method
            {
                If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero))
                {
                    Return (Buffer (One)
                    {
                         0x03                                          
                    })
                }

                Return (Package (0x0E)
                {
                    "AAPL,slot-name",
                    "Built In",
                    "name",
                    "Realtek Audio Controller",
                    "model",
                    Buffer (0x20)
                    {
                        "Realtek ALC892 Audio Controller"
                    },

                    "device_type",
                    Buffer (0x11)
                    {
                        "Audio Controller"
                    },

                    "layout-id",
                    Buffer (0x04)
                    {
                         0x03, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00                        
                    },

                    "PinConfigurations",
                    Buffer (Zero) {},
                    "hda-gfx",
                    Buffer (0x0A)
                    {
                        "onboard-1"
                    }
                })
            }
        }
    }

CodecCommander Pinconfigs

Code:
Name (_SB.PCI0.HDEF.RMCF, Package (0x06)
    {
        "CodecCommander",
        Package (0x02)
        {
            "Disable",
            ">y"
        },

        "CodecCommanderPowerHook",
        Package (0x02)
        {
            "Disable",
            ">y"
        },

        "CodecCommanderProbeInit",
        Package (0x04)
        {
            "Version",
            0x00020600,
            "10ec_0892_HDA_8086",
            Package (0x02)
            {
                "PinConfigDefault",
                Package (0x04)
                {
                    Package (0x00) {},
                    Package (0x04)
                    {
                        "LayoutID",
                        One,
                        "PinConfigs",
                        Package (0x17)
                        {
                            Package (0x00) {},
                            0x11,
                            0x400000F0,
                            0x14,
                            0x01114010,
                            0x15,
                            0x01011020,
                            0x16,
                            0x01016030,
                            0x17,
                            0x400000F0,
                            0x18,
                            0x90A19040,
                            0x19,
                            0x02819050,
                            0x1A,
                            0x01813060,
                            0x1B,
                            0x02214070,
                            0x1E,
                            0x014B6190,
                            0x1F,
                            0x400000F0
                        }
                    },

                    Package (0x04)
                    {
                        "LayoutID",
                        0x02,
                        "PinConfigs",
                        Package (0x17)
                        {
                            Package (0x00) {},
                            0x11,
                            0x400000F0,
                            0x14,
                            0x01114010,
                            0x15,
                            0x400000F0,
                            0x16,
                            0x400000F0,
                            0x17,
                            0x400000F0,
                            0x18,
                            0x90019040,
                            0x19,
                            0x02819060,
                            0x1A,
                            0x01013050,
                            0x1B,
                            0x02214070,
                            0x1E,
                            0x014B6190,
                            0x1F,
                            0x400000F0
                        }
                    },

                    Package (0x04)
                    {
                        "LayoutID",
                        0x03,
                        "PinConfigs",
                        Package (0x17)
                        {
                            Package (0x00) {},
                            0x11,
                            0x400000F0,
                            0x14,
                            0x01114010,
                            0x15,
                            0x01011020,
                            0x16,
                            0x400000F0,
                            0x17,
                            0x400000F0,
                            0x18,
                            0x90A19040,
                            0x19,
                            0x02819050,
                            0x1A,
                            0x01813060,
                            0x1B,
                            0x02214070,
                            0x1E,
                            0x014B6190,
                            0x1F,
                            0x400000F0
                        }
                    }
                }
            }
        }
    })

The whole point of doing it this way is to fix Audio out of sleep. None of my Desktops uses a AppleHDAInjector or Clovers Audio ID It is not needed with this method.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,757
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Feb 28, 2013
Messages
190
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS

Hi VioletDragon - I took your and Rehabman's advice and started over completely. I wiped the SSD and started fresh. I downloaded a fresh version of your patches.

I followed your guide as best I could. (some of the kexts and where they need to go wasn't clear but I figured it out)

I did have to modify your config in order to get my computer to start.

Last thing is sound. I have not run Toleda's scripts nor have I added -lilubeta -alcbeta. I don't see any sound outs.

I don't see anything in your guide either. Should sound be there now?

Where does CodecCommander need to go? I have it in Extensions

https://cl.ly/0n322I1J0O1D

https://cl.ly/1C1t2R3z1B0J
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,757
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi VioletDragon - I took your and Rehabman's advice and started over completely. I wiped the SSD and started fresh. I downloaded a fresh version of your patches.

I followed your guide as best I could. (some of the kexts and where they need to go wasn't clear but I figured it out)

I did have to modify your config in order to get my computer to start.

Last thing is sound. I have not run Toleda's scripts nor have I added -lilubeta -alcbeta. I don't see any sound outs.

I don't see anything in your guide either. Should sound be there now?

Where does CodecCommander need to go? I have it in Extensions

https://cl.ly/0n322I1J0O1D

https://cl.ly/1C1t2R3z1B0J

Attach Problem Reporting Files. CodecCommander goes in L/E.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2013
Messages
190
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
VioletDragon - I was never able to get your config to run "out of the box". I had one that worked pretty well so I made yours match it as close to possible so at least I could start up. The attached is the best one (so far).

Native Power Management - that should be working.
Audio - I don't see any outs. I have not run Toleda's scripts. I am thinking I have to "Inject Audio 1".
Messages and FaceTime/ App Store apps aren't verifying. It keeps asking for a password but it doesn't seem to accept it. -Fixed - BSD name: en2 changed to 0 by deleting preferences.
Messages says error with activation. Problem with SMBIOS I am guessing. I used the same settings from before. I don't know why they don't work anymore. - Fixed

USB 3 with High Current?
USB 2 with High Current? (I have no idea)
Some kext aren't loading according to Terminal Output - UPDATE :I ran Kext Wizard to fix permissions and rebuild the cache. No change it seems.
Ports on the outside of my rig only seem to be 3.0. Thumbdrives never seem to work (I have 6 ports so no big deal)

FakeSMC good to have or not? https://cl.ly/1c3m3k0X0k14 - I don't think I see my temperatures and fan speeds anymore.

Thanks for any advice. I would love to have this running fully.
 

Attachments

  • BaryRigInfo.zip
    2.3 MB · Views: 51
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,757
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
VioletDragon - I was never able to get your config to run "out of the box". I had one that worked pretty well so I made yours match it as close to possible so at least I could start up. The attached is the best one (so far).

Native Power Management - that should be working.
Audio - I don't see any outs. I have not run Toleda's scripts. I am thinking I have to "Inject Audio 1".
Messages and FaceTime/ App Store apps aren't verifying. It keeps asking for a password but it doesn't seem to accept it. -Fixed - BSD name: en2 changed to 0 by deleting preferences.
Messages says error with activation. Problem with SMBIOS I am guessing. I used the same settings from before. I don't know why they don't work anymore. - Fixed

USB 3 with High Current?
USB 2 with High Current? (I have no idea)
Some kext aren't loading according to Terminal Output - UPDATE :I ran Kext Wizard to fix permissions and rebuild the cache. No change it seems.
Ports on the outside of my rig only seem to be 3.0. Thumbdrives never seem to work (I have 6 ports so no big deal)

FakeSMC good to have or not? https://cl.ly/1c3m3k0X0k14 - I don't think I see my temperatures and fan speeds anymore.

Thanks for any advice. I would love to have this running fully.

You need to change Audio ID 1 via HDEF in SSDT-GFX0.

Change from,

Code:
Scope (\_SB.PCI0)
    {
        Scope (\_SB.PCI0.HDEF)
        {
            Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)  // _DSM: Device-Specific Method
            {
                If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero))
                {
                    Return (Buffer (One)
                    {
                         0x03                                          
                    })
                }

                Return (Package (0x0E)
                {
                    "AAPL,slot-name",
                    "Built In",
                    "name",
                    "Realtek Audio Controller",
                    "model",
                    Buffer (0x20)
                    {
                        "Realtek ALC892 Audio Controller"
                    },

                    "device_type",
                    Buffer (0x11)
                    {
                        "Audio Controller"
                    },

                    "layout-id",
                    Buffer (0x04)
                    {
                         0x03, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00                        
                    },

                    "PinConfigurations",
                    Buffer (Zero) {},
                    "hda-gfx",
                    Buffer (0x0A)
                    {
                        "onboard-1"
                    }
                })
            }
        }
    }

Change to,

Code:
Scope (\_SB.PCI0)
    {
        Scope (\_SB.PCI0.HDEF)
        {
            Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)  // _DSM: Device-Specific Method
            {
                If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero))
                {
                    Return (Buffer (One)
                    {
                         0x03                                          
                    })
                }

                Return (Package (0x0E)
                {
                    "AAPL,slot-name",
                    "Built In",
                    "name",
                    "Realtek Audio Controller",
                    "model",
                    Buffer (0x20)
                    {
                        "Realtek ALC892 Audio Controller"
                    },

                    "device_type",
                    Buffer (0x11)
                    {
                        "Audio Controller"
                    },

                    "layout-id",
                    Buffer (0x04)
                    {
                         0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00                        
                    },

                    "PinConfigurations",
                    Buffer (Zero) {},
                    "hda-gfx",
                    Buffer (0x0A)
                    {
                        "onboard-1"
                    }
                })
            }
        }
    }

App Store verification is most likely caused by Ethernet not being BSD en0. SMBIOS/Trust should be set to Yes not False. Make sure to install CodecComannder to L/E. If no Audio after reboot, you need to run in Terminal & reboot twice.

After updates you may notice that Audio has stopped working. This can be fixed in Terminal.

Code:
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u /

(In the Future you need to read the Guides Carefully.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2013
Messages
190
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
You need to change Audio ID 1 via HDEF in SSDT-GFX0.

Change from,

(In the Future you need to read the Guides Carefully.

VD- as always thank you.

You are correct that: App Store verification is most likely caused by Ethernet not being BSD en0. I had marked it as green and fixed to show that I was doing my best to resolve my issues myself and I had.

I made the "SMBIOS/Trust should be set to Yes not False" as suggested and my computer started up just fine. I assure you that I spent the better part of a day trying to get the rig working well. Once I had a good config I changed it to match yours as best as I could without breaking things. Yours didn't work for me in its unadulterated state.

The last part: You need to change Audio ID 1 via HDEF in SSDT-GFX0. There doesn't appear to be an easy way to do this (at least for me). I have a couple of editors but they don't work. I do have MaciASL but can't find where to change things. (sorry I am a bit of a noob)

If you ever have the SSDT-GFX0 file open and could make the change for me, please send it my way. I am afraid this part is beyond my skills.

I have a USB audio device which I am using (though I don't think the sound quality is as good).

Thanks again for all of your help. My computer is running well and I think it was a good idea to start anew. I must have have recovered several gigs of junk.

With appreciation...
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,757
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
VD- as always thank you.

You are correct that: App Store verification is most likely caused by Ethernet not being BSD en0. I had marked it as green and fixed to show that I was doing my best to resolve my issues myself and I had.

I made the "SMBIOS/Trust should be set to Yes not False" as suggested and my computer started up just fine. I assure you that I spent the better part of a day trying to get the rig working well. Once I had a good config I changed it to match yours as best as I could without breaking things. Yours didn't work for me in its unadulterated state.

The last part: You need to change Audio ID 1 via HDEF in SSDT-GFX0. There doesn't appear to be an easy way to do this (at least for me). I have a couple of editors but they don't work. I do have MaciASL but can't find where to change things. (sorry I am a bit of a noob)

If you ever have the SSDT-GFX0 file open and could make the change for me, please send it my way. I am afraid this part is beyond my skills.

I have a USB audio device which I am using (though I don't think the sound quality is as good).

Thanks again for all of your help. My computer is running well and I think it was a good idea to start anew. I must have have recovered several gigs of junk.

With appreciation...

Make sure your installing kexts to L/E not S/L/E. Try SSDT-GFX0 I have changed Audio ID to 1. Place in EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched. Reboot. Install CodecCommander to L/E probably better tase KextBeast. Use this version of CodecCommander in attachments.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-GFX0.aml
    3.6 KB · Views: 58
  • CodecCommander.kext.zip
    24 KB · Views: 52
Joined
Feb 28, 2013
Messages
190
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
GTX 770
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Alas, I still don't see any outputs.

I changed to your latest SSDT, used CodecCommander with KextBeast.

https://cl.ly/1m1i3i2W0s0l

https://cl.ly/1N2a1F1S241g

I am happy to work with you to get this working but would completely understand if we wanted to leave things "as-is". Not sure if you have any other ideas. Did I need to change any settings in config?

On my previous system I had run Toleda's latest script (130) and it worked fine.

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/high-sierra-desktop-realtek-applehda-audio.226433/

My computer is running better than before thanks to you and I really don't have any complaints.

If you have another idea let me know and we can try it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top