[solved] Really slow start-up 5-6 mins always

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by baryw, Sep 22, 2017.

  1. baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 22, 2017 at 10:27 PM #1
    baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Howdy all - Getting HS to run has been a chore. Lots of tricks.

    I am able to start up pretty consistently now. For the past two days I could start up some times and other times it would hang.

    Today I rebuilt my config.plist using a HS compatible one. The main thing I added to the new one was all of my SMBIOS information so I could keep using iMessages.

    When I do verbose, I see that it hangs on HID: Legacy Shim 2.

    I looked around for others with this problem but wasn't able to see any solutions.

    I will upload all I can to give you as complete picture as I can. Thank you for any assistance.
     
  2. baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 22, 2017 at 10:28 PM #2
    baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 22, 2017
  3. baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 22, 2017 at 10:34 PM #3
    baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Screenshots to make it easier.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 2.33.03 PM.png  (250.2 KB, 143 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 2.32.54 PM.png  (382.6 KB, 162 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 2.32.47 PM.png  (245.2 KB, 153 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 2.32.19 PM.png  (294.4 KB, 164 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 2.32.12 PM.png  (327.7 KB, 148 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 2.32.04 PM.png  (448.1 KB, 138 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 2.31.51 PM.png  (393.9 KB, 127 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 2.31.44 PM.png  (381.2 KB, 134 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 2.31.39 PM.png  (329.9 KB, 130 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 2.31.29 PM.png  (461.2 KB, 130 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 2.31.20 PM.png  (518.1 KB, 135 views)
    • Screen Shot 2017-09-22 at 2.30.46 PM.png  (457.4 KB, 116 views)
  4. baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 22, 2017 at 10:38 PM #4
    baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    By the way, I see that MacOS Install Data is still at the top level of my HD. Can I delete it or do I need to complete something?

    Running on SSD.

    Everything works fine once I am started up.
     
  5. almusaka

    almusaka

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    Asrock x99 micro Atx
    CPU:
    i7-5820k
    Graphics:
    R9 390x 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 22, 2017 at 11:34 PM #5
    almusaka

    almusaka

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Mobo:
    Asrock x99 micro Atx
    CPU:
    i7-5820k
    Graphics:
    R9 390x 8GB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello

    Go to about my mac
    Go to system report
    Hardware
    Then copu UUiD

    Then
    Tick the inject system iD
    And past the ID you copy early

    Safe and reboot

    See how fast is booting now
     
    baryw likes this.

    Attached Files:

    • 90A32A00-76F7-4B43-B212-CED2A7286B1A.jpeg  (107.3 KB, 160 views)
  6. baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 23, 2017 at 12:30 AM #6
    baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Thanks. I will try that.
     
  7. baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 23, 2017 at 6:14 PM #7
    baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    No luck on the Bios Update.

    Still taking 4-5 minutes most of which is due to HID: Legacy shim 2 which just hangs.
     
  8. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,995
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 25, 2017 at 5:51 PM #8
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,995
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    You have the wrong configuration. Follow the guide very carefully but use post_install_nvidia_graphics. Nothing else nothing different. Don't use Clover Configurator to open the Config you will destroy it. Use Xcode. Also use SSDT-GFX0 not SSDT-HACK. (Guide) H77N-WIFI with Intel HD4000 using Clover UEFI Hotpatch | tonymacx86.com

    Attach Problem Reporting Files. Attach all files and Problem Reporting Files on this thread not the Guide.

    Can you also Attach Ioreg.
     
  9. baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 25, 2017 at 6:56 PM #9
    baryw

    baryw

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Hi VioletDragon - The information above is no longer current as far as configuration goes.

    I did follow your guide and am using post_install_nvidia_graphics but I did open it with CC to add my BIOS information. I can try it again but with a clean version of the nvidia config to see if that helps.

    Thanks for your help.

    PS - what I should really do is get rid of this thread a start a new one because the information is so old.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,995
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 25, 2017 at 6:58 PM #10
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,995
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    You will require a different SSDT-GFX0 as AppleLPC is already loaded. Please bare with me while I sort that out. Never open the configs from my fork using Clover Configurator. Use Xcode.
     
    baryw likes this.

Share This Page