Contribute
Register

[Solved] Radeon RX 580 not working

Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
163
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi all,

after reading several posts about the ease of bringing an RX 580 to life on a hackintosh, I decided to buy one.

Today I spent the whole day trying to make it work and I wasn't successful, which is very frustrating.

It is a Sapphire RX 580 NITRO+ 4GB, which has been reported to for fine.

I placed the Lilu and WhateverGreen kexts in the EFI/CLOVER/KEXTS/OTHER folder.

Than I read I have to turn on the RadeonDeInit, which I have done.

Always I got stuck on boot on the Apple logo with the progress bar.

Someone adviced to change the SMBIOS to MacPro 6,1. With this my boot process got stuck just at the beginning.

I also tried to update the Clover version to the newest one and I think this also made some problems.

I use Sierra 10.12.6 and I can't change to High Sierra as half of my apps would not function anymore.

I will be grateful for any advice!
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
163
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Use iMac 17,1 SMBIOS, AtiInject = No RadeonDeInit=No latest Lilu + Whatevergreen works fine. Upload your EFI folder as zip and I can fix it for you.
Please, if You make any changes to the EFI folder, could You let me know, so I know for the future?
Thank You very much :)))
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
163
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
By the way, my Clover version is 3766, which I had on my backup drive and I don't know how safe it is to update to the newest version and if it is needed?

One more thing ... if You have any recommendation for the config.plist configuration, than You are most welcome. I understand only the very basics ... for example I don't know which "C" states of the CPU should be turned on ...
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
454
Motherboard
asus z9pe-d8 ws
CPU
E5-2670v2
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok wow this config is all messed up, gonna be a few minutes fixing this and making a change log.

Just want to clarify a few things, this is for your Skylake build in your sig correct? Also are you using iGPU? And what apps can you not use in High Sierra?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
454
Motherboard
asus z9pe-d8 ws
CPU
E5-2670v2
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK here is pretty much a whole new EFI folder with everything you need. Here is a link to the diff from your config.plist to the one I gave you https://www.diffchecker.com/pMhnBVyl, You were missing a ton of kext,the most important one was FakeSMC.kext. Skylake doesn't need ssdt, it has native CPU pm support. I only took your NVMe ssdt and added it to the EFI I made for you. Replace your whole EFI folder with this one.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
163
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK here is pretty much a whole new EFI folder with everything you need. Here is a link to the diff from your config.plist to the one I gave you https://www.diffchecker.com/pMhnBVyl, You were missing a ton of kext,the most important one was FakeSMC.kext. Skylake doesn't need ssdt, it has native CPU pm support. I only took your NVMe ssdt and added it to the EFI I made for you. Replace your whole EFI folder with this one.
Thanks for the help! There are really tons of changes and I'm looking forward to test it now.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
163
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I would also recommend upgrading to 10.13.2 has better support for RX 580 and also have native support for NVMe.
So unfortunatelly the hackintosh doesn’t boot with this config. It gets stuck on boot. I attach a photo. It doesn’t work with the RX580 an neither with a 280x.

I can’t upgrade to High Sierra as I would loose a lot of apps I’m using like the old Adobe CS3 and Final Cut Studio apps.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
454
Motherboard
asus z9pe-d8 ws
CPU
E5-2670v2
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
So unfortunatelly the hackintosh doesn’t boot with this config. It gets stuck on boot. I attach a photo. It doesn’t work with the RX580 an neither with a 280x.

I can’t upgrade to High Sierra as I would loose a lot of apps I’m using like the old Adobe CS3 and Final Cut Studio apps.
Do you have kext in S/L/E? From the looks of it you do, if so you need to remove those, I am pretty sure those apps have updates for High Sierra.
 
Top