SOLVED: Qemu Hackintosh w/ Clover: Missing EFI folders (for HDMI Audio)

Discussion in 'HDMI Audio' started by FuriousGeorge, Jan 7, 2018.

  1. FuriousGeorge

    FuriousGeorge

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Q35
    CPU:
    Penryn
    Graphics:
    1080ti
    Jan 7, 2018 at 12:04 PM #1
    FuriousGeorge

    FuriousGeorge

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Q35
    CPU:
    Penryn
    Graphics:
    1080ti
    I've found several guides for getting HDMI audio working with my nvidia 10 series in High Sierra, however invariably they involve mounting the EFI partition and adding files.

    In one case to EFI/CLOVER/Kexts/Other

    In another case to EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched as well.

    However, neither of those locations exist inside the CLOVER directory. Manually adding them and dropping the files in them does not enable the devices. I'm not sure where I should be going from here, or in general what I should be doing in these situations. I wouldn't think the system logs (if I knew where they were) would be helpful, since the module seems to fail to load in the UEFI.

    I'm not sure if this could be related, but I have an AMD Zen generation CPU, and am loading a patched kernel.

    I'm hoping there is something simple missing in clover that I can simply add or turn on.

    Thanks for reading.
     
  2. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    14,697
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 7, 2018 at 12:06 PM #2
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    14,697
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You are mistaken.
     
  3. FuriousGeorge

    FuriousGeorge

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Q35
    CPU:
    Penryn
    Graphics:
    1080ti
    Jan 7, 2018 at 12:18 PM #3
    FuriousGeorge

    FuriousGeorge

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Q35
    CPU:
    Penryn
    Graphics:
    1080ti
    Thanks for the response.

    Could you elaborate? It's not clear what youre referring to in that excerpt of my op that you quoted.

    If it's with respect to methods of installing the driver, here's a popular thread from this forum that instructs how:

    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/clover-hdmi-audio-for-nvidia-amd-cards-easy-way.145399/

    It also seemingly expects the directory "kexts" to exist and contain "other"
     
  4. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    14,697
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 7, 2018 at 12:24 PM #4
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    14,697
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Both locations that you mention in your first post are created when you install Clover.
     
  5. FuriousGeorge

    FuriousGeorge

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Q35
    CPU:
    Penryn
    Graphics:
    1080ti
    Jan 7, 2018 at 7:59 PM #5
    FuriousGeorge

    FuriousGeorge

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Q35
    CPU:
    Penryn
    Graphics:
    1080ti
    So what does it mean when clover is installed, and those directories are not there?
     
  6. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    14,697
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 7, 2018 at 8:02 PM #6
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    14,697
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You have a defective Clover installer.
    or
    You are looking in the wrong place.
    Installing in Legacy mode but looking on the EFI partition.

    If you have a Q35 chipset as shown in your profile then you probably have installed in Legacy mode which means that the /EFI/CLOVER folder will be on your system drive and not in the EFI partition.
     
  7. FuriousGeorge

    FuriousGeorge

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Q35
    CPU:
    Penryn
    Graphics:
    1080ti
    Jan 8, 2018 at 6:11 AM #7
    FuriousGeorge

    FuriousGeorge

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Q35
    CPU:
    Penryn
    Graphics:
    1080ti
    Q35 is just one of the chipsets that Qemu can emulate, and the one that is recommended for GPU passthrough. I can't be using legacy boot, because (I don't think) passthrough would work using the OVMF method.

    I'm not sure how I got it working, but I did. I just dd'ed my install EFI to my OS disk's EFI again. It may not even have been that. I rebooted the host and it was working.

    (It's still very mysterious to me)

    If I had to bet the farm, I'd say it was the host reboot that did it, not the re-dd, but I can't be sure, and so I just accept the mystery.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2018
  8. bedoop

    bedoop

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Mar 13, 2018 at 6:00 PM #8
    bedoop

    bedoop

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Did you ever get your HDMI working? I'm running into a similar problem, and none of the popular solutions for bare metal work.
     
  9. FuriousGeorge

    FuriousGeorge

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Q35
    CPU:
    Penryn
    Graphics:
    1080ti
    Mar 14, 2018 at 5:19 PM #9
    FuriousGeorge

    FuriousGeorge

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Q35
    CPU:
    Penryn
    Graphics:
    1080ti
    Yeah, but I only recall that I started the bios building part of the docs again, and this time had the correct directories in UEFI dir appeared
     

Share This Page