Contribute
Register

[Solved] Please help! upgrade stuck at "MACH reboot", main pc went brick

Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
25
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-GAMING 6
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
something like this happened to me before. if you have windows you can just mount the efi partition of your macos. you have to download explorer++ in order to view and edit the partition though. if you do this you can add any missing driver files or change your fake SMC or APFS file. another route you can go toward is to boot using the usb stick you made when you had serria. Back up all the files on your usb stick first before doing this. anyways update your usb stick to the lastest version of clover. Then download the latest fakesmc and download the APFS.efi file from the HS installer that you downloaded (dont use any APFS.efi floating around here) and drop it into the usb stick. after that just stick the usb in and see if you can boot. i recommend first going into windows and look at that EFI partition.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,894
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thanks for your good heart.
i have a fairly basic knowledge about linux but if the task is to modify the config.plist, i think i can do it easily when the EFI partition on my mac storage is accessible.
correct me if i am wrong, what i understand about the hang is, when clover trying to boot mac system, it reads the config.plist and kexts first. the problem in my case might be the wrongly place/edited config file.

what i have in mind right now is to:
  1. run a ubuntu on a usb
  2. access the EFI partition on my mac disk
  3. get the config file right

do you think it is ok?
and also do you have maybe your config.plist file to share with me? as i said be4 i don't quite understand the content in the config file, therefore i cannot do much but blindly trying around.

thanks again for you help
I don't have a Ga-Z170 board that we can freely exchange config.plist. You have to modify the c. plist according to your own hardware kexts needed for your MOB and add -on cards.
In my opinion, it is not a good idea to use an SSD in APFS unless you have a lot of time to troubleshot and fix things up. If this is your first HS, I suggest you to consider starting with a SATA Spin disk in HFS+J and once that is all setup OK you can clone it on to an equal or bigger disk.

Infinityespi has given you an excellent suggestion with details as to how to go about with it.

what i have in mind right now is to:
  1. run a ubuntu on a usb
  2. access the EFI partition on my mac disk
  3. get the config file right

I would suggest you to recheck all Folders of CLOVER to make sure the contents are OK.
Config.plist should be consistent with kexts/Other and drivers64UEFI folder contents on the one hand and BIOS choices on the other for a smooth boot using its various menus and boot Args:

I have a GA-B150 M-DS3H system with HS. Let me compare that system with your hardware and if close , will upload its c.plist in the next one hour to this post.
Good luck.
Hope Infinityespi can help you with c.plist questions with almost the same MoBo.

EDIT:

My intel 100 Series is GA-B150M-DS3H+Intel i5-6500 + Radeon 5450. I recall using integrated Intel HD 530 at some point before installing Radeon as the PCIE Graphics.

I have uploaded screen images of EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI , CLOVER/kexts/Other , CLOVER/themes and my config.plist as zipped.

Remember you cannot simply use this c.plist to replace yours which may be using different kexts and other files from CLOVER. Your PCIE Graphic is also different . You can use this only as an example.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist.zip
    5.2 KB · Views: 47
  • 1.EFI:CLOVER:drivers64UEFI.png
    1.EFI:CLOVER:drivers64UEFI.png
    33.6 KB · Views: 91
  • 2.EFI:CLOVER:kextas:Other.png
    2.EFI:CLOVER:kextas:Other.png
    45.2 KB · Views: 91
  • 3.EFI:CLOVER:themes.png
    3.EFI:CLOVER:themes.png
    18.9 KB · Views: 73
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 5, 2012
Messages
325
Motherboard
GIGABYTE H270N-WIFI
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Try this:

1. Boot into recovery
2. Run Terminal
3. Enter this command: “touch /Volumes/Macintosh\ HD/System/Library/Extensions && kextcache -u /Volumes/Macintosh\ HD“
4. Restart

Feel free to replace Macintosh HD with the name of the volume where your system is installed.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2017
Messages
47
Motherboard
gigabyte z170
CPU
intel core i7 6700k
Graphics
gigabyte 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
something like this happened to me before. if you have windows you can just mount the efi partition of your macos. you have to download explorer++ in order to view and edit the partition though. if you do this you can add any missing driver files or change your fake SMC or APFS file. another route you can go toward is to boot using the usb stick you made when you had serria. Back up all the files on your usb stick first before doing this. anyways update your usb stick to the lastest version of clover. Then download the latest fakesmc and download the APFS.efi file from the HS installer that you downloaded (dont use any APFS.efi floating around here) and drop it into the usb stick. after that just stick the usb in and see if you can boot. i recommend first going into windows and look at that EFI partition.
Hi,
Thanks for replying.
  • i have got a new USB stick and flashed ubuntu there when i started trying the first method you suggested(i have only 1 storage connected so i don't have windows).
    • i managed to mount the EFI partition on my nvme disk and modified the config.plist as adding the drop tables MATS and DMAR as others suggested, also changed the CsrActiveConfig to 0x3FF
    • rebooted and still hangs in the "Attemping system restart .. MACH Reboot" error
  • for your 2nd suggestion i have also tried, but it doesn't even show the disk at the clover boot manager menu.


  • IMG_6686.jpg
    IMG_6684.jpg
  • IMG_6688.JPG
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2017
Messages
47
Motherboard
gigabyte z170
CPU
intel core i7 6700k
Graphics
gigabyte 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I would suggest you to recheck all Folders of CLOVER to make sure the contents are OK.
Config.plist should be consistent with kexts/Other and drivers64UEFI folder contents on the one hand and BIOS choices on the other for a smooth boot using its various menus and boot Args:

hi, thanks mate.
i think the main issue for me now is that i am not sure about what is the correct content :(
i have managed to edit the clover folder however i wanted just like others. i think its already a big step for me.
but the bad news i am still stuck at the same point of the " MACH Reboot"
 
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
6
Motherboard
lenovo m720q
CPU
i5 8400t
Graphics
igpu uhd 630
@Pepperish Not sure if this will help. But I tried to boot into the installer and was stuck at 'mach reboot' - tried everything.

What worked was putting 'NullCPUPowermanagement.kext' into the kexts folder in my EFI partition. If you can't boot into the drive, take it out and mount it onto a normal mac, install clover...mount the efi partition of troubled drive and add the kext.

Hopefully that works?! Let me know
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2017
Messages
47
Motherboard
gigabyte z170
CPU
intel core i7 6700k
Graphics
gigabyte 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@Pepperish Not sure if this will help. But I tried to boot into the installer and was stuck at 'mach reboot' - tried everything.

What worked was putting 'NullCPUPowermanagement.kext' into the kexts folder in my EFI partition. If you can't boot into the drive, take it out and mount it onto a normal mac, install clover...mount the efi partition of troubled drive and add the kext.

Hopefully that works?! Let me know

hey, thanks for suggesting. i think i am going to try this. is the NullCPUPowermanagement.kext from forum download page?
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2017
Messages
47
Motherboard
gigabyte z170
CPU
intel core i7 6700k
Graphics
gigabyte 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Try this:

1. Boot into recovery
2. Run Terminal
3. Enter this command: “touch /Volumes/Macintosh\ HD/System/Library/Extensions && kextcache -u /Volumes/Macintosh\ HD“
4. Restart

Feel free to replace Macintosh HD with the name of the volume where your system is installed.

thanks bro for suggesting. do you mind explaining it a little bit more what does it do?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,894
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hi, thanks mate.
i think the main issue for me now is that i am not sure about what is the correct content :(
i have managed to edit the clover folder however i wanted just like others. i think its already a big step for me.
but the bad news i am still stuck at the same point of the " MACH Reboot"
2 things I would not do with CLOVER editing that could still cause you the problem
  1. Making CsrActiveConfig = 0x3FF instead of 0x67
  2. Keeping all the numbered folders (10.6 to 10.13) in CLOVER/kexts [All you need is CLOVER/Other with required kexts inside. You should Send to trash all the numbered folders which can interfere with kext installation from Other folder]
What you cannot do is a full edit of all menus of ACPI .

See if changing 1 and 2 above can help you with the boot.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,280
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
Looks from #14 you have your EFI partition mounted in Ubuntu? F2 at the Clover boot menu saves the preboot.log to /efi/clover/misc/preboot.log, please upload this file and current config.plist.

edit: from Clover menu press F2 then boot os x, to save the correct bootlog
 
Last edited:
Top