Contribute
Register

[SOLVED] Nothing to select to boot from in Clover bootloader after running installer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 9, 2015
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97x-UD5H
CPU
i7
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I followed the guide to upgrade from Yosemite to High Sierra. Everything seemed to go smooth, installer was running (black screen with Apple logo and progress bar) but after the first restart the Clover boot loader is empty and I don't have any options to select, including booting the old system.

Any guidance is highly aappreciated.

20181104_112409.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,711
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I followed the guide to upgrade from Yosemite to High Sierra. Everything seemed to go smooth, installer was running (black screen with Apple logo and progress bar) but after the first restart the Clover boot loader is empty and I don't have any options to select, including booting the old system.

Any guidance is highly aappreciated.

View attachment 362856

  • To understand your problem and suggest the next best troubleshoot, a lot more information about your system is required besides the main Hardware Specs listed in your Profile ( MoBo+CPU+Graphics)
  • Most common cause for a Missing hard disk in CBM now -a-days, is from lack of APFS.EFI in CLOVER/drivers64UEFI.
  • Let me add some important points worth remembering about both a "Clean installation" and an "Upgrade installation" of an existing Hackintosh OS that have helped me in my installations.
    • if you are going to do a new install or upgrade install , ALWAYS choose Verbose Mode booting until a flawless System is created.
      • Gui Boot with the Apple logo may look pleasing to the eye,
      • but it will hide important on -screen clues a Verbose Boot with -v boot flag can usually reveal to the inquisitive observer to take photos for future analysis or posting to get help from a Forum.
  • High Sierra (and Mojave) Clean installation and Upgrade installation of an existing system is a multi-stage process with several reboots before the hard disk goes to the final stage to reach the Login and Desktop.
  • Occasionally errors happen in one of those reboots if left unattended, leading to boot failure
  • My personal rule of thumb for upgrade install on an existing Hackintosh OS: on reboot press the Hotkey ( like F12 for Gigabyte Motherboards) to pause at the "Boot Menu Screen" or screen to select a Boot drive, and make sure you select the hard drive with the previous system ( that has CLOVER boot loader in it) to enter the Clover Boot Manager Screen but exit the CBM screen selecting the "Installer" you had downloaded to upgrade. This routine should go on until all spontaneous reboots are completed .
  • For a Fresh or Clean install the hard disk has no CLOVER and only the USB Installer disk has CLOVER. In that case at "F-12 Screen" select the USB Installer to enter CBM screen and exit CBM using the Target Hard disk that has partial installation until you install CLOVER on to the System hard disk (using Multibeast or Stand- Alone Clover Manually)
  • Most errors are due to multiple hard drives or USB devices in the System while doing a Hackintosh Clean install or Upgrade install.
  • Most often it is from missing a Pre-install step like
    • upgrading the CLOVER on an existing system,
    • forgetting about APFS.EFI for the Upgrade,
    • not making a Final check of BIOS Options about SATA, USB, Graphics Controllers and
    • First Boot Device in BIOS Boot Priorities List

How many Hard drives are currently connected to this Computer?
What type of hard drives are they?​
What OS are in the other Hard drives besides the one that had Yosemite on it which you are trying to upgrade to High Sierra?
What version of High Sierra you chose to install?
What are your BIOS choices :
BIOS Features including Boot Option Priorities, Vt-D, Serial Port
Peripherals:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 9, 2015
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97x-UD5H
CPU
i7
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for the detailed post @cmn699
...it seems this problem was resolved after putting APFS.EFI in CLOVER/drivers64UEFI. (I did put it there before, as I was following the guide but for some strange reason the file was missing from it's place). After I put it where it belongs I managed to get the boot drive back but I got yet another problem when trying to boot.

I am going to post this here before trying to open a new thread for this new issue.

The problem is, I now cannot boot the new installation. Here is a shot of the part where the booting process hangs:

15413490285231419357308.jpg

I did some googling and from what I can gather it's a graphic card issue.

In Clover I unchecked the option to use Nvidia web drivers but I am not sure what else I can do.

I did manage to boot to desktop with safe mode but then I don't have internet access to try to download Nvidia web driver.

I am not sure I am on the right track so any help is much needed and appreciated.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
18
Motherboard
Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z v1
CPU
Intel i5 2500k
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 7870
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Thanks for the detailed post @cmn699
...it seems this problem was resolved after putting APFS.EFI in CLOVER/drivers64UEFI. (I did put it there before, as I was following the guide but for some strange reason the file was missing from it's place). After I put it where it belongs I managed to get the boot drive back but I got yet another problem when trying to boot.

Having similar issue, how did you get the APFS efi to the macos partion? :)
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2015
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97x-UD5H
CPU
i7
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@veames I used the backup ssd with working Yosemite installation, mounted the efi from the new HS installation with Disk Utility and just pasted the APFS file where it belongs.
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,571
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
@veames I used the backup ssd with working Yosemite installation, mounted the efi from the new HS installation with Disk Utility and just pasted the APFS file where it belongs.

If you use the latest clover install make sure to select customize option (UEFI version) and select apfsautoloader and aptiomemoryfix driver.
These two drivers replace the need for osxaptiofix1-2-3 and apfsefi. The auto loader makes updates easy because you don’t have to replace the apfsefi file for compatibility. You can also dual boot form high Sierra to Mojave with the same clover EFI folder.
So if you use these two remove the apfsefi and osxaptiofix drivers from the clover Drivers64efi folder. They are not compatible and also remove emivariable as well.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,711
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the detailed post @cmn699
...it seems this problem was resolved after putting APFS.EFI in CLOVER/drivers64UEFI. (I did put it there before, as I was following the guide but for some strange reason the file was missing from it's place). After I put it where it belongs I managed to get the boot drive back but I got yet another problem when trying to boot.

I am going to post this here before trying to open a new thread for this new issue.

The problem is, I now cannot boot the new installation. Here is a shot of the part where the booting process hangs:

View attachment 362922

I did some googling and from what I can gather it's a graphic card issue.

In Clover I unchecked the option to use Nvidia web drivers but I am not sure what else I can do.

I did manage to boot to desktop with safe mode but then I don't have internet access to try to download Nvidia web driver.

I am not sure I am on the right track so any help is much needed and appreciated.

For now (Until you install the Web driver for your Nvidia GTX 970 in the System Disk with a LOT OF PRECAUTIONS like Enabling SIP Before Web Driver install and Disabling SIP after reboot following Nvidia Driver install) , make nv_disable=1 to boot into the System ( DO NOT use [√]NvdiaWeb in config.plist _System Parameters]) . Once you install the Web driver, the config.plist _System Partameters _NvidiaWeb should get that [√ ]; but still, you should verify it in mounted EFI>CLOVER.config.plist to ascertain .

I suggest you to read about Nvidia Web Driver install to know all its details which my above 'telegraphic style' may not fully convey.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2015
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97x-UD5H
CPU
i7
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@cmn699

Thanks so much for all the help. I managed to successfully install the Nvidia web driver following your suggestions.

BUT the problems continue. It seems now my FireWire card is caussing issues. I have an external sound card / midi control surface which is plugged into the FireWire card and worked just fine in previous Yosemite installation.

When I switched on the sound card, my computer just restarted and MacOs couldn't be booted (stuck in reboot loop) until I switched off the external sound card. Any suggestions how to tackle this issue?

Also, now I got this message after booting I am not sure what it is relating to:

15413572030001358643942.jpg

Now, I know FireWire is obsolete but for the moment I need to have my sound card/control surface working.


I had a working FireWire kext in my previous Yosemite installation but it seems its not doing the trick now.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,711
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@cmn699

Thanks so much for all the help. I managed to successfully install the Nvidia web driver following your suggestions.

BUT the problems continue. It seems now my FireWire card is caussing issues. I have an external sound card / midi control surface which is plugged into the FireWire card and worked just fine in previous Yosemite installation.

When I switched on the sound card, my computer just restarted and MacOs couldn't be booted (stuck in reboot loop) until I switched off the external sound card. Any suggestions how to tackle this issue?

Also, now I got this message after booting I am not sure what it is relating to:

View attachment 362952

Now, I know FireWire is obsolete but for the moment I need to have my sound card/control surface working.


I had a working FireWire kext in my previous Yosemite installation but it seems its not doing the trick now.


If you have been able to have a system that can boot OK minus this hardware, my suggestion is to close this post with the Title changed with a Prefix [SOLVED] and then to start a new thread as a Post-Install Audio issue in the Post Install Audio Forum https://www.tonymacx86.com/forums/audio.14/ where Toleda may be able to tackle this with ease.

Does that sound OK? No pun intended:).
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2015
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97x-UD5H
CPU
i7
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for all the help. I will tackle this audio issue later, but as for preliminary googling it seems there are no drivers for High Sierra for the M-Audio Projectmix sound card / control surface...which is a huge issue for me, but we will leave that for another day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top