Contribute
Register

[SOLVED] Need to enable QuickSync/Export on i8700K + RX 580 + FCPX

Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
130
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K, Plus, Portable, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you very much for sharing you EFI, that's very helpful.
I remove my Thunderbolt 3 Card and managed to the the iGPU(UHD 630) moving,
is that possible to run the video encoder on the RX580 instead of iGPU?
I've discovered further updates here that Lilu and Whatevergreen are replacing a whole bunch of KEXTs that I had in my system. I had no idea. (Hard to keep up with this sometimes). I've reduced my kext files as per this link. https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-intel-framebuffer-patching-using-whatevergreen.256490/

I have found everything works well. And using Kext Updater app to make life easier.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2012
Messages
314
Motherboard
GIGABYTE H270N-WIFI
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Have any of you found a way to enable HW decode/encode on the RX580? I only have the HD630 show up in MacX :/
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
130
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K, Plus, Portable, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Have any of you found a way to enable HW decode/encode on the RX580? I only have the HD630 show up in MacX :/
That is software based. For instance, FCPX really relies on the GPU whereas the QT app and Handbrake does it through QuickSync. I think I've finally cracked it. Everything works as I think it should. I just tested a 7-minute FCPX export of a 1080p video, not many effects but you can see how there is a little bit of QuickSync in there (green line in Frequency in Intel Power Gadget) and some CPU processing along with the GPU adding to the mix. Please refer to my link a few comments previous to this except the Framebuffer patch should be ig-platform-id to: 0x59120003
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 24, 2015
Messages
191
Motherboard
MSI Z390i Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
iOS
There must be a way because Xeon's do not have iGPUs
Sure iMac Pro's Xeon's do not have iGPUs but now its the Apple T2 chip in those machines which is responsible for H264 encoding (in addition to some other security things) as Apple claims, so our chances still tiny
 
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
iMac
hi man..am having the very exact same issue as you are on..10.13.6..Currently am going to try to see if can install version 10.13.3 and see if any difference..My thing is i notice when i look at the Intel Power Gadget while i am running a Bruce X benchmark the IGPu isn't being utilised..only my I7 8700K and my GPU works....Other regular projects and 4k to 1080P conversion in FCPX and even with Compressor...I notice the IGPu is working and being used to help with exports.....Have any of u guys noticed this? Only Brucex benchmarks and apple422 exports am not getting any quicksync acceleration at all...Everything else pumps my IGPu..Like adobe premiere,,,adobe media encoder...and Macx ..Screenflow also uses it...
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
130
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K, Plus, Portable, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
hi man..am having the very exact same issue as you are on..10.13.6..Currently am going to try to see if can install version 10.13.3 and see if any difference..My thing is i notice when i look at the Intel Power Gadget while i am running a Bruce X benchmark the IGPu isn't being utilised..only my I7 8700K and my GPU works....Other regular projects and 4k to 1080P conversion in FCPX and even with Compressor...I notice the IGPu is working and being used to help with exports.....Have any of u guys noticed this? Only Brucex benchmarks and apple422 exports am not getting any quicksync acceleration at all...Everything else pumps my IGPu..Like adobe premiere,,,adobe media encoder...and Macx ..Screenflow also uses it...
I've now moved my editing computer to Mojave but the same settings should work with 580 and 13.6. BruceX is not worth testing with. FCPX shows a 1.0 frequency in Intel PowerGadget. Using Quicktime to compress it goes up to 10. I have Lilu and Whatevergreen installed, all the inits turned off, boot GPU PCIe and have the iGPU turned on and memory set to 128 and everything is working nicely. No longer have to do all those backflips.
 
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
iMac
Nice Nice....Yeh i ended up getting tru today actually...Turned out i had some wrong platform ids and fake Ids.But it's sorted now...I ended up adding a RX 580 to my cart..I will have to purchase it anyway..I just thought i cud of made my Nvidia card match the OpenCL performance so i won't have to purchase a second card....lol ..But i tried everything in the book and no hope..So it's AMD for the win i guess..btw what do u mean by turning off inits? Thanks for the help..
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
130
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision G
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K, Plus, Portable, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Nice Nice....Yeh i ended up getting tru today actually...Turned out i had some wrong platform ids and fake Ids.But it's sorted now...I ended up adding a RX 580 to my cart..I will have to purchase it anyway..I just thought i cud of made my Nvidia card match the OpenCL performance so i won't have to purchase a second card....lol ..But i tried everything in the book and no hope..So it's AMD for the win i guess..btw what do u mean by turning off inits? Thanks for the help..
I was thinking of the Radeon deinit and I should have added Inject Intel just to be clear. Sorry.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
81
Motherboard
Asus Tuf Z390 Plus Wifi - Bios 2808 - OpenCore
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
XFX Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I was thinking of the Radeon deinit and I should have added Inject Intel just to be clear. Sorry.
Hi there, sort of an old thread but I'm seeing low iGPU usage for FCPx exports as well. I have an imac19,1 setup with the Intel UHD 630 as headless with a Radeon VII in Catalina. My config.plist is fairly minimal, using all the recommended methods like WhateverGreen and Lilu. Everything is smooth but I don't feel like QuickSync is being utilized fully in FCPx exports. If I export using QuickTime or Compressor, like you observed, it basically maxes out the iGPU according to Intel Power Gadget - it's around 1.15 Ghz. Encode times are 1/3 of FCPx. That's a huge difference and would cost a lot of time with a longer project. In FCPx, it is using the iGPU to export, but maxing out between 0.38-0.40 Ghz. Conversely, the Sony Camping HEVC demo tops out around 0.38-0.40 as well... interesting that encode and playback hit that same range.
I don't know if this is supposed to happen, but I'm wondering what else can be done.
Care to troubleshoot again?
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
104
Motherboard
GA EP45-UD3P
CPU
Q9550
Graphics
Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ L.E
Mac
iMac, MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi there, sort of an old thread but I'm seeing low iGPU usage for FCPx exports as well. I have an imac19,1 setup with the Intel UHD 630 as headless with a Radeon VII in Catalina. My config.plist is fairly minimal, using all the recommended methods like WhateverGreen and Lilu. Everything is smooth but I don't feel like QuickSync is being utilized fully in FCPx exports. If I export using QuickTime or Compressor, like you observed, it basically maxes out the iGPU according to Intel Power Gadget - it's around 1.15 Ghz. Encode times are 1/3 of FCPx. That's a huge difference and would cost a lot of time with a longer project. In FCPx, it is using the iGPU to export, but maxing out between 0.38-0.40 Ghz. Conversely, the Sony Camping HEVC demo tops out around 0.38-0.40 as well... interesting that encode and playback hit that same range.
I don't know if this is supposed to happen, but I'm wondering what else can be done.
Care to troubleshoot again?
Try igfxfw=2 in boot argument if you are using WEG.
 
Top