Contribute
Register

[SOLVED - Memory not seated correctly] Intel HD530 Graphics freeze or cold restart.

Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
570
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
CPU
i7 6600k
Graphics
HD530
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Since updating to High Sierra I'm getting random freezes and more often cold reboots with no logs or warning.

I'm using Intelgraphicsfixup and Lilu kext although I can boot with out them with my 2port patch and HDMI patch.. I cant boot without those 2 patches I boot to black screen although I can remote view.

Any help please I'm stuck? config clover folder and IO explorer attached...
 

Attachments

  • orlando’s iMac.ioreg
    3.7 MB · Views: 91
  • config.plist
    9.3 KB · Views: 178
  • CLOVER.zip
    1.9 MB · Views: 41

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,867
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Since updating to High Sierra I'm getting random freezes and more often cold reboots with no logs or warning.

I'm using Intelgraphicsfixup and Lilu kext although I can boot with out them with my 2port patch and HDMI patch.. I cant boot without those 2 patches I boot to black screen although I can remote view.

Any help please I'm stuck? config clover folder and IO explorer attached...

"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
570
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
CPU
i7 6600k
Graphics
HD530
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Attachments

  • CLOVER.zip
    1.9 MB · Views: 36
  • Terminal Saved Output.zip
    1.9 KB · Views: 41
  • RehabMan.zip
    51.7 KB · Views: 35
  • orlando’s iMac.zip
    724.9 KB · Views: 36

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,867
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry @RehabMan I had not seen that part of the FAQ. Hopefully I've followed the instruction carefully enough. Thanks again Orlando

Problems:
- your USB configuration is wrong (15-port limit is breached). See guide: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-creating-a-custom-ssdt-for-usbinjectall-kext.211311/
- kexts are not installed correctly. read post #2: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/
- SMBUS and LPC probably not needed on Skylake (remove SSDT-LPC.aml, SSDT-SMBUS.aml)
- try iMac14,1 (or iMac14,2) instead of iMac17,1
- eliminate settings in config.plist/SMBIOS that are not "personal" items (let Clover default most values)
- remove USB audio hardware
- disable TRIM patch
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
570
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
CPU
i7 6600k
Graphics
HD530
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Problems:
- your USB configuration is wrong (15-port limit is breached). See guide: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-creating-a-custom-ssdt-for-usbinjectall-kext.211311/
- kexts are not installed correctly. read post #2: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/
- SMBUS and LPC probably not needed on Skylake (remove SSDT-LPC.aml, SSDT-SMBUS.aml)
- try iMac14,1 (or iMac14,2) instead of iMac17,1
- eliminate settings in config.plist/SMBIOS that are not "personal" items (let Clover default most values)
- remove USB audio hardware
- disable TRIM patch

Ok that's clear. I've sorted those things. Although I will need to use my USB DAC as I produce music using it.

Couple of questions I thought I'd configured my USB correctly using the SSDT-USB which mapped out I think 20 ports HS = 14 SS = 6 I've now excluded more ports here: uia_exclude=SS04;HS04;HS11;HS12;HS14;HS13

So that should bring me down below 15. I'm not quite sure why I could not count when I did it!

"eliminate settings in config.plist/SMBIOS that are not "personal" items (let Clover default most values)" which settings in my SMBIOS are personal - do you mean the RAM? Should I remove it - I used to only get 8MB reported before I added it here. Screen Shot 2017-10-21 at 17.26.16.png
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,867
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Couple of questions I thought I'd configured my USB correctly using the SSDT-USB which mapped out I think 20 ports HS = 14 SS = 6 I've now excluded more ports here: uia_exclude=SS04;HS04;HS11;HS12;HS14;HS13

The ioreg you attached previously showed 16 ports injected. Only one over the limit.

"eliminate settings in config.plist/SMBIOS that are not "personal" items (let Clover default most values)" which settings in my SMBIOS are personal - do you mean the RAM? Should I remove it - I used to only get 8MB reported before I added it here. View attachment 287313

Personal stuff would be memory details, serial#.
The other data you can leave to Clover defaults (it uses current values based on model).
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
570
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
CPU
i7 6600k
Graphics
HD530
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Screen Shot 2017-10-22 at 15.37.33.png
Personal stuff would be memory details, serial#.
The other data you can leave to Clover defaults (it uses current values based on model).

OK removed memory details but now AboutMyMac reports only 8GB? Is this just cosmetic?
Also what is serial# ? Do you mean board serial number?

Still getting a sudden cold reboot no warning or nothing. just click and reboot :(

I thought it was the USB port limit but it seems not.. I've not tried running without my USB DAC though.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,867
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
View attachment 287467

OK removed memory details but now AboutMyMac reports only 8GB? Is this just cosmetic?

No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/

Also what is serial# ? Do you mean board serial number?

BoardSerialNumber can be omitted and default to Clover.
I was referring to SerialNumber (which is typically customized).
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
570
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-ULTRA GAMING
CPU
i7 6600k
Graphics
HD530
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry @RehabMan - I've checked my BIOS and it was reporting 8GB of RAM I removed and re seated both slots and now it's correctly reported 16GB both in the BIOS and About This Mac - I suspect this was the issue all along. Thanks for your input as I suspect this had been the issue all along! I'll mark as solved after 24 hours testing.
 
Top