Contribute
Register

[Solved] Intel HD 515 Graphics under Sierra

Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
202
Motherboard
H81
CPU
i3-4360
Graphics
Intel HD4600
Hey guys,
I Am currently installing macOS 10.12 to Xiaomi notebook air 12.5 inch model.

The installation went smooth, and booted into desktop.
Resolution is correct 1920x1080 but with no acceleration.
About this Mac shows Intel HD 515 with 7mb of memory.

It comes with an integrated intel HD 515 Graphics.
I've tried using platform ID 0x191e0000 with/without FakePCIID.kext without success.

How do I get QE/CI from it?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,247
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey guys,
I Am currently installing macOS 10.12 to Xiaomi notebook air 12.5 inch model.

The installation went smooth, and booted into desktop.
Resolution is correct 1920x1080 but with no acceleration.
About this Mac shows Intel HD 515 with 7mb of memory.

It comes with an integrated intel HD 515 Graphics.
I've tried using platform ID 0x191e0000 with/without FakePCIID.kext without success.

How do I get QE/CI from it?

Did you set DVMT-prealloc as per FAQ?
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
20
Motherboard
AsRock Z97 Pro3 and 2x P9X79Pro / One new galaxy tab pro S
CPU
I7
Graphics
Gtx970 on 3 computers / Intel Hd graphics 515 on a galaxy tab pro S laptop
Same problem for me with a Galaxy tab pro S (128 Mo dedicated ram with it's 8086 191E0300 (HD515) graphics card)
  • under El Capitan 10.11.6, it shows 11 Mb ram, and no acceleration.
  • under Sierra : I can only boot with safe mode (-x). I tried the no cache option without success (it hangs after 2 60" tries). Without no cache option, it reboots.
Using the latest clover for Sierra (downloaded today https://sourceforge.net/projects/cloverefiboot/)
  • CloverConfigurator ACPi enables Fixdisplay
  • CloverConfigurator Devices enables 0x191e0000 (also tried 0x191e0300)
  • CloverConfigurator Graphics enables Inject Intel
Boot arguments : dart=0 npci=0x2000
Smbios : using MacBookAir 5.2
No Dsdt.aml

Can I mix Old way fixes and New way fixes in the acpi Tab ? (Clover Wiki explains all functions, except this question)
The laptop bios is basic : no DVMT-prealloc setting, but 128 Mo should be enough for it's 2160x1440 resolution.
More time tomorrow to diagnose this problem !
@RehabMan : I read as many tutos - explanations from you as I can. I'm starting learning how to use dsdt / Iasl ...
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,247
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The laptop bios is basic : no DVMT-prealloc setting, but 128 Mo should be enough for it's 2160x1440 resolution.

How do you know it is set to 128mb?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
202
Motherboard
H81
CPU
i3-4360
Graphics
Intel HD4600
Same problem for me with a Galaxy tab pro S (128 Mo dedicated ram with it's 8086 191E0300 (HD515) graphics card)
  • under El Capitan 10.11.6, it shows 11 Mb ram, and no acceleration.
  • under Sierra : I can only boot with safe mode (-x). I tried the no cache option without success (it hangs after 2 60" tries). Without no cache option, it reboots.
Using the latest clover for Sierra (downloaded today https://sourceforge.net/projects/cloverefiboot/)
  • CloverConfigurator ACPi enables Fixdisplay
  • CloverConfigurator Devices enables 0x191e0000 (also tried 0x191e0300)
  • CloverConfigurator Graphics enables Inject Intel
Boot arguments : dart=0 npci=0x2000
Smbios : using MacBookAir 5.2
No Dsdt.aml

Can I mix Old way fixes and New way fixes in the acpi Tab ? (Clover Wiki explains all functions, except this question)
The laptop bios is basic : no DVMT-prealloc setting, but 128 Mo should be enough for it's 2160x1440 resolution.
More time tomorrow to diagnose this problem !
@RehabMan : I read as many tutos - explanations from you as I can. I'm starting learning how to use dsdt / Iasl ...

Hello all, thanks for your replies.
I have finally made the HD 515 to work with full QE/CI acceleration (with some ignorable artifacts though).
Here is what I did:

-Since the BIOS on Xiaomi notebook air is not quite complete (with only basic options, no DVMT-prealloc setting),
And I don't want to mess up with things such as flashing the BIOS/Using EFI shell to configure it...

1. First set ig-platform-id to 0x12345678, inject Intel set to true
2. Apply the "minStolenSize" patch according to Rehabman's great post
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/readme-common-some-unsolved-problems-in-10-12-sierra.202316/
3. Boot from Clover WITHOUT CACHES. Above steps force Sierra to load AppleIntelSKLGraphicsFramebuffer.kext.
4. After you booted into the desktop, change your ig-platform-ID to the correct one. For HD 515, I used 0x191e0000.
5. Reboot WITH CACHES. You now have graphics working properly!

Actually it's a workaround, setting the DVMT-prealloc is a better approach. But it does work, with easy steps.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
20
Motherboard
AsRock Z97 Pro3 and 2x P9X79Pro / One new galaxy tab pro S
CPU
I7
Graphics
Gtx970 on 3 computers / Intel Hd graphics 515 on a galaxy tab pro S laptop
How do you know it is set to 128mb?

Windows show me this memory information.
gtpsmemory.jpg


@robinhuang : your trick does not work on my El Capitan installation ( I changed MatchOS: 10.12.x with 10.11.x)

I still cannot boot Sierra without the -x option (safe mode) : I get an error :
bust timeout [0] (60s) kextd wait(0) : 'AppleAPCICPU' 'IOAHCDevice'
This error indicates that the internal drive is busy at that moment, but this should not lock the bash screen (I can hear the usb drive working minutes later)
Maybe I should use another iMac system definition ...
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
202
Motherboard
H81
CPU
i3-4360
Graphics
Intel HD4600
Windows show me this memory information.
gtpsmemory.jpg


@robinhuang : your trick does not work on my El Capitan installation ( I changed MatchOS: 10.12.x with 10.11.x)

I still cannot boot Sierra without the -x option (safe mode) : I get an error :
bust timeout [0] (60s) kextd wait(0) : 'AppleAPCICPU' 'IOAHCDevice'
This error indicates that the internal drive is busy at that moment, but this should not lock the bash screen (I can hear the usb drive working minutes later)
Maybe I should use another iMac system definition ...

Did you try injecting 0x12345678 to make graphics kext loaded?

EDIT: Just sharing my own experience, I had once encountered a stuck and couldn't find a solution, but finally discovered that it is still running. Be patient and wait for longer time may be a good try.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
20
Motherboard
AsRock Z97 Pro3 and 2x P9X79Pro / One new galaxy tab pro S
CPU
I7
Graphics
Gtx970 on 3 computers / Intel Hd graphics 515 on a galaxy tab pro S laptop
Did you try injecting 0x12345678 to make graphics kext loaded?

EDIT: Just sharing my own experience, I had once encountered a stuck and couldn't find a solution, but finally discovered that it is still running. Be patient and wait for longer time may be a good try.

Yes, I did, and waited more than 20 minutes.

My processor : Skylake -U/Y Socket 1168 BGA Intel Core m3-6Y30
So, I'm using smbios iMac17.1.
If I do not inject Intel, I get a KP !
The strange thing : I can boot normally under El Capitan.
An old french song :
Y'a quelque chose qui cloche là-dedans J'y retourne immédiatement
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
202
Motherboard
H81
CPU
i3-4360
Graphics
Intel HD4600
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Messages
20
Motherboard
AsRock Z97 Pro3 and 2x P9X79Pro / One new galaxy tab pro S
CPU
I7
Graphics
Gtx970 on 3 computers / Intel Hd graphics 515 on a galaxy tab pro S laptop
Yes, I can only boot Sierra with safe mode on this laptop.
I can boot it normally (all extensions working) under El Capitan.

I installed generic ahci sata kexts, and extra sata kexts, same problem...
But I get a IOGraphics flag 0x43 10 lines above timeouts. Have to search if this is not THE reason it hangs.

The french song is a joke :"There must be something wrong in it, back to my work" ( he cannot succeed building an atomic bomb, but at the end, it works, and all presidents will be killed. This song was written in 1955 )
 
Top