Contribute
Register

[Solved] i7-3770K Freq max at 3.7Ghz Mojave

Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH F12
CPU
INTEL i7 3770K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 650Ti BOOST
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi,

I've read numerous posts trying to get the Turbo boost to get to at least 3.9GHz, and in fact i actually OC the CPU to 4.0Ghz. It used to work on High Sierra but right after I upgrade it to Mojave, the max speed is always at 3.7Ghz. It won't go over than that value.

The power management seems to be working fine as i can see the graph up and down using the Intel Power Gadget. However, I have no way to have the clock to go over 3.7GHz with Mojave.

Any idea where to troubleshoot the issue further?

Some background:-
- Clover
- Z77x-up5 TH
- HD 4000 graphics
- the speed is always max at 3.7Ghz regardless the method i picked to have the PM in . Clover or the ssdt way.
- the IOReg shows IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/CPU0@0/AppleACPICPU/X86PlatformPlugin the CPUC and CPUP states correctly.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH F12
CPU
INTEL i7 3770K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 650Ti BOOST
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
nope.
tried varies method, the max speed always locked at 3.7Ghz.

1) i tried the SSDT.aml method
2) tried the PluginType=1 method in Clover

Same deal. no changes.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2010
Messages
137
Mobile Phone
iOS
1. Mount your EFI partition and delete whatever ssdt.aml is in your /Clover/ACPI/patched folder.

2. Install Pikeralpha’s ssdtPRGen.sh - https://github.com/Piker-Alpha/ssdtPRGen.sh

3. Launch Terminal, then type this command and hit return:

~/ssdtPRGen.sh -c 2 -t 77 -turbo 4200 -x 0

(sub whatever overclock max freq you set up in BIOS for “4200”)

4. Assuming this command throws no error messages, go to ~/Library/ssdtPRGen/ and copy the newly generated ssdt.aml to EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched and reboot.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH F12
CPU
INTEL i7 3770K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 650Ti BOOST
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
1. Mount your EFI partition and delete whatever ssdt.aml is in your /Clover/ACPI/patched folder.

2. Install Pikeralpha’s ssdtPRGen.sh - https://github.com/Piker-Alpha/ssdtPRGen.sh

3. Launch Terminal, then type this command and hit return:

~/ssdtPRGen.sh -c 2 -t 77 -turbo 4200 -x 0

(sub whatever overclock max freq you set up in BIOS for “4200”)

4. Assuming this command throws no error messages, go to ~/Library/ssdtPRGen/ and copy the newly generated ssdt.aml to EFI/Clover/ACPI/patched and reboot.

Nope. Already tried that step many times. The steps worked for OSX prior to Mojave, but has no effect on Mojave.
 
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
16
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
HD 4000
Hi,
I've installed 10.14 (Mojave) with same generation of ivy bridge CPU (i5-3570k) on a gigabyte z77-ds3h, without dedicated nvidia videocard.

Everything works good (hd 4000 with hardware acceleration & videotoolbox, atheros8151 network with wakeonlan, alc887 with hdmi audio,...) BUT impossible to get CPU more than 1,6GHz/core...

I use (last versions of) Clover with kexts : FakeSMC+plugins / Lilu / Whatevergreen (placed in /EFI/kexts/others)

-> No intel Speedstep working :/ . Multiplier stuck x16... cf 1st screenshot

i've tested the SSDT.aml method (piker ssdtPRGen.sh with lot of options tested :workarounds 1 to 3 / xcpm 0/1 / ...) in EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched/

My ioreg looks ok with CPU0 / AppleACPICPU / X86PlatformPlugin / Cstates+Pstates...

And XCPM seems to be activated :
#>sysctl -n machdep.xcpm.mode
return 1​

I've tested without SSDT.aml (deleting from patched) and using only config.plist with millions combinaisons of options :
ACPI/Drop TablesSSDT/CpuPmSSDT+Cpu0Ist
KernelXPCM / AppleIntelCPUPM
Generate Pstates / Cstates options
PluginType
...
I've tried modifing the SMBIOS models with ivy bridge compatibles ones (iMac13,2 / macmini6,2 / macpro..)

Everytime i arrive to the same result no turbo boost working for me on Mojave..

For information to test & verify the realtime cpu frequencies i use the "Intel Power Gadget" kext + app (not only the HWMonitor from FakeSMC which seems to be depreciated).

If it's possible to get it please help ! :)

ps : my bios setup is ok, and the cpu works on windows even in Vmware from mojave (that's funny!)

Articles & references :
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/mavericks-native-cpu-igpu-power-management.128926/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/macos-native-cpu-igpu-power-management.222982/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/quick-guide-to-generate-a-ssdt-for-cpu-power-management.177456/
https://github.com/Piker-Alpha/ssdtPRGen.sh
https://github.com/Piker-Alpha/AppleIntelInfo
https://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/323052-guide-sierra-high-sierra-mojave-on-intel-5-6-7-8-9-chipset-series-nehalem-sandybridge-ivybridge-haswell-broadwell/
https://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/327220-ivy-bridge-enable-xcpm-success-but-only-6-speedsteps/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-z77-ds3h-with-nvidia-gtx-760-using-clover-uefi-hotpatch.222573/
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/why-my-cpu-show-only-1-6ghz.219058/page-2
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH F12
CPU
INTEL i7 3770K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 650Ti BOOST
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
@nioyco


My Power Management setup , and it works -

With Clover,
- No ssdt.aml !
- ACPI > SSDT > Tick PluginType
upload_2018-11-5_18-29-29.png


- Kernel and Kext Patches > tick KernelXCPM
upload_2018-11-5_18-30-1.png


That's it. The native power management just works beautifully.
upload_2018-11-5_18-30-56.png

upload_2018-11-5_18-33-19.png




But the main issue is the max freq is always stuck at 3.7Ghz. (I didn't show it in a pic above) Never go beyond it. My i3770K has factory max 3.9Ghz when turbo boosted, and it worked fine before I upgraded it to Mojave.

I've tried different SMBIOS, from setting it to MBP, iMac,...etc. No luck.

It looks like something in Mojave limits the freq to go beyond a certain freq.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
16
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
HD 4000
Arg I done exactly same config.plist but it's same problem for me... :/

What's your version of clover and what kexts are you using? (in /S/L/E/ or in EFI/CLOVER/kext/)

Maybe the kext i'm using for my intel hd graphics (Whatevergreen) do the problem ..hmmmm

Could you please share me your EFI folder?

Thanks
 

Attachments

Top