Contribute
Register

[Solved] High Sierra Direct update stuck

Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97 Gaming 7
CPU
Intel Core i7 4970k
Graphics
ASUS STRIX GTX 980 TI
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Got the same issue as well... got a 980ti
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2016
Messages
21
Motherboard
Intel H87M HD3
CPU
i5 4570
Graphics
GTX 1060 3GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
I forgot to mention that it kind of screwed my other SSD up.
I have 2 SSD. One is Samsung 850 EVO ~250gb for Mac, and Sandisk ~240gb for windows.
With windows Sandisk connected, I won't get past mobo logo where you get to press DEL, F12, etc, but pressing anything won't work. It's just stuck.

The same thing happened couple months ago with my 1TB WD HDD. With it attached, it won't boot. I have to disable in BIOS or detach. The HDD became unusable, very slow, and freezing and stuff.
But in this Sandisk case, I just can't get into BIOS to disable it. I still haven't figured out how to get into it to get my file back yet.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2014
Messages
113
Motherboard
Z97MX-Gaming-5
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
MSI GTX 760
Mac
iMac
Hi, someone fixed that by unchecking 'inject nvidia' in the clover boot -> options ->graphics.

However if like me it's already unchecked... well I'm still stuck :banghead::mrgreen: I even uninstalled nvidia web drivers, didn't help !
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2016
Messages
21
Motherboard
Intel H87M HD3
CPU
i5 4570
Graphics
GTX 1060 3GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, someone fixed that by unchecking 'inject nvidia' in the clover boot -> options ->graphics.

However if like me it's already unchecked... well I'm still stuck :banghead::mrgreen: I even uninstalled nvidia web drivers, didn't help !
Well, I did both nv_disable=1 and unchecking that. My last message on page one is what I got
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2014
Messages
113
Motherboard
Z97MX-Gaming-5
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
MSI GTX 760
Mac
iMac
I'm at the same point =/ I'm tempted to physically disconnect the gtx and try with the iGPU but it's a pain as my computer isn't easily accessible -_-

I also tried purging nvram, no luck either.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2016
Messages
21
Motherboard
Intel H87M HD3
CPU
i5 4570
Graphics
GTX 1060 3GB
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm at the same point =/ I'm tempted to physically disconnect the gtx and try with the iGPU but it's a pain as my computer isn't easily accessible -_-

I also tried purging nvram, no luck either.
I tried that. But nothing shows up. Like my integrated GPU is dead or something.
I tried with DVI on 2 different monitors I have, none shows up. And i'm sure I have intel graphic enabled in BIOS.
I don't have VGA cable, so can't try that.

I don't remember the last time I used that GPU.

Any idea what it could be?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2016
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus H81M-K
CPU
Intel Core i5-4460
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 950
Having the same issue too

Gigabyte GeForce GTX 950
Asus H81M-K
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2014
Messages
113
Motherboard
Z97MX-Gaming-5
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
MSI GTX 760
Mac
iMac
I tried that. But nothing shows up. Like my integrated GPU is dead or something.
If I remember correctly, you need to check "inject INTEL" in clover boot ->option->graphics to enable the iGPU. And of course plug your display to the HDMI of the motherboard and not to the discret GPU (yeah, sounds stupid, but it cost me 2 hours once -_-)
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97 Gaming 7
CPU
Intel Core i7 4970k
Graphics
ASUS STRIX GTX 980 TI
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
If I remember correctly, you need to check "inject INTEL" in clover boot ->option->graphics to enable the iGPU. And of course plug your display to the HDMI of the motherboard and not to the discret GPU (yeah, sounds stupid, but it cost me 2 hours once -_-)
So are you telling me because I have my display plugged in to both the iGPU and my card I could have this issue? Cause I did add inject INTEL and added nv_disable=1 and enabled my iGPU but still have stuff plugged into my card.

I'm at the same point =/ I'm tempted to physically disconnect the gtx and try with the iGPU but it's a pain as my computer isn't easily accessible -_-

I also tried purging nvram, no luck either.
Ughh.... I thought of doing this too, but my setup is so nice and clean and ripping a 980TI out is gonna make a mess. Also I'm concerned that if I upgrade after doing that I'll have more issues.
 

Top