Contribute
Register

[solved] HDMI not working on Intel HD4000 with WhateverGreen

Joined
Oct 31, 2018
Messages
16
Motherboard
Acer VA70
CPU
I5-3320M
Graphics
HD4000, 1600x900
So after reading carefully through everything again, i actually managed to fix the issue!
As i noted in the first post, when i change my `ig-platform-id` to 01660003 HDMI does work.
So with the help of FBPatcher i found out which id belongs to which productname.

01660003 --> MacBookPro9,2 (issues built-in screen)
01660004 --> MacBookPro9,1 (no HDMI)

On the original guide in the second post there are framebuffer dumps, when taking a closer look at the two productnames it was easy to determine the difference.

MacBookPro9,1
05030000 02000000 30020000

MacBookPro9,2
05030000 02000000 30000000
02050000 00040000 07040000
03040000 00040000 81000000
04060000 00040000 81000000

So every buffer line seems to be for 1 port, so that means the first line is the built-in display.
This means that `05030000 02000000 30020000` works and `05030000 02000000 30000000` does not.

So at the end what i did was change my `ig-platform-id` to 01660003 (MacBookPro9,2) and add a find / replace patch for the first line:
upload_2018-11-1_7-45-15.png


Now, just for the sake of keeping things in order i disabled the ports that are not being used and i changed the connection type to HDMI (even though it worked as DP as well!?)

Cheers and thanks for your time.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,867
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So after reading carefully through everything again, i actually managed to fix the issue!
As i noted in the first post, when i change my `ig-platform-id` to 01660003 HDMI does work.
So with the help of FBPatcher i found out which id belongs to which productname.

01660003 --> MacBookPro9,2 (issues built-in screen)
01660004 --> MacBookPro9,1 (no HDMI)

On the original guide in the second post there are framebuffer dumps, when taking a closer look at the two productnames it was easy to determine the difference.

MacBookPro9,1
05030000 02000000 30020000

MacBookPro9,2
05030000 02000000 30000000
02050000 00040000 07040000
03040000 00040000 81000000
04060000 00040000 81000000

So every buffer line seems to be for 1 port, so that means the first line is the built-in display.
This means that `05030000 02000000 30020000` works and `05030000 02000000 30000000` does not.

So at the end what i did was change my `ig-platform-id` to 01660003 (MacBookPro9,2) and add a find / replace patch for the first line:
View attachment 362142

Now, just for the sake of keeping things in order i disabled the ports that are not being used and i changed the connection type to HDMI (even though it worked as DP as well!?)

Cheers and thanks for your time.

This is why we typically use 0x01660004 and patch for HDMI. That way the internal display works without patches.
Refer to the plists from the guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2018
Messages
16
Motherboard
Acer VA70
CPU
I5-3320M
Graphics
HD4000, 1600x900
Yes i agree that this is indeed better.
When im on 0x01660004 i noticed that when i add another connection, they are always on port `0x5`. But it seems that the HDMI is on `0x7`
I have been unable to change the connection port, its unclear to me which framebuffer-conX-XXXX i need to use.. (i have tried all of them, and it did not work).

Unless you can tell me what im doing wrong, i will stick to the current patch as it seems to be the only thing that actually works right now.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,867
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes i agree that this is indeed better.
When im on 0x01660004 i noticed that when i add another connection, they are always on port `0x5`. But it seems that the HDMI is on `0x7`
I have been unable to change the connection port, its unclear to me which framebuffer-conX-XXXX i need to use.. (i have tried all of them, and it did not work).

Unless you can tell me what im doing wrong, i will stick to the current patch as it seems to be the only thing that actually works right now.

The guide plists already have patches for 0x01660004 HDMI/etc.
Please refer to the guide and the plists provided.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2018
Messages
16
Motherboard
Acer VA70
CPU
I5-3320M
Graphics
HD4000, 1600x900
Yes those patches are the once i originally used! they dont work for me..
Whatever i do the port for connection 3 stays on `0x5` (should be 0x7)
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,867
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes those patches are the once i originally used! they dont work for me..
Whatever i do the port for connection 3 stays on `0x5` (should be 0x7)

You would need to attach problem reporting files as requested in the FAQ if you expect any analysis of the issue.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2018
Messages
16
Motherboard
Acer VA70
CPU
I5-3320M
Graphics
HD4000, 1600x900
those `problem reporting files` where already added yesterday. The only thing that changed where the .kext files..
Are you saying that because of the .kext files you want me to remake the debug package?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,867
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
those `problem reporting files` where already added yesterday. The only thing that changed where the .kext files..
Are you saying that because of the .kext files you want me to remake the debug package?

Any change requires new PR files. No exceptions.
 
Top