Contribute
Register

[Solved]Hd didn’t show up dell t5400

Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
122
Motherboard
HP Z240
CPU
I5 6600/c236
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi all, i’ve got a dell precision t5400 at work, i’ve read few topics about it and tryed install HS, when reach the installer it didn’t show up the ssd.
This machine had a pci sas card with a raid on two disk, I threw everything and put an ssd on sata0, on bios i set up ahci and enabled sata channels.
Specs: dual xenon 5410 2,3gh,4gb ddr2, nvidia gtx 1050 2gb, 120gb ssd
Made the installer with unibeast 8.3.1 legacy bootloader, clover 4420, HS 10.13.6 , on clover i see only the external usb installer, used dart=0 and inject nvidia to reach the installer .

Maybe tomorrow i try to format the ssd on my hack and then see if i can see it on clover at boot
Anyone with the same workstation?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
191
Motherboard
Sawtooth Build
CPU
i5 650 @ 3.3Ghz or 3.7Ghz
Graphics
MSI nVidia GeForce 610 2GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K, Apple, Centris, iMac, LC, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Used the dell precision 690 installer on a usb, copied the custom dsdt on my hs installer and everything goes well
Would you be willing to go into further detail on what you did?

"It looks like" you used the Dell Precision 690 installer to create an El Capitan USB installer.

Then copied the DSDT from that installer to a High Sierra installer created with Legacy UniBeast?

Once you copied the custom DSDT it started the installer without issues and you were able to complete a High Sierra install?

I have a Dell Precision 690 and in theory this should work without issues on the 690 as well?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
122
Motherboard
HP Z240
CPU
I5 6600/c236
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Would you be willing to go into further detail on what you did?

"It looks like" you used the Dell Precision 690 installer to create an El Capitan USB installer.

Then copied the DSDT from that installer to a High Sierra installer created with Legacy UniBeast?

Once you copied the custom DSDT it started the installer without issues and you were able to complete a High Sierra install?

I have a Dell Precision 690 and in theory this should work without issues on the 690 as well?
Hi @roto31, u need only the 690 installer to make the usb(u need it only to install clover with the dell specs), then create a High Sierra installer with terminal "sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/Untitled --applicationpath /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app"
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
191
Motherboard
Sawtooth Build
CPU
i5 650 @ 3.3Ghz or 3.7Ghz
Graphics
MSI nVidia GeForce 610 2GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K, Apple, Centris, iMac, LC, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi @roto31, u need only the 690 installer to make the usb(u need it only to install clover with the dell specs), then create a High Sierra installer with terminal "sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/Untitled --applicationpath /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app"
I will try this again and see what happens from there. Then copy the DSDT you have attached. Does it have to be the most current version of High Sierra ? As I know there are quirks with each version.

Thank you :)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
122
Motherboard
HP Z240
CPU
I5 6600/c236
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I will try this again and see what happens from there. Then copy the DSDT you have attached. Does it have to be the most current version of High Sierra ? As I know there are quirks with each version.

Thank you :)
Absolutely yes, i’ve tried to install only hs and it run surprisingly fine
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
191
Motherboard
Sawtooth Build
CPU
i5 650 @ 3.3Ghz or 3.7Ghz
Graphics
MSI nVidia GeForce 610 2GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, 512K, Apple, Centris, iMac, LC, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Absolutely yes, i’ve tried to install only hs and it run surprisingly fine
Thanks for the reply! I will keep you posted here or by direct message as to what happens. Does the "Clover DELL Precision 690 version Clover on the installer work with High Sierra? The version of the installer I have has Clover 3330 on it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
122
Motherboard
HP Z240
CPU
I5 6600/c236
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Thanks for the reply! I will keep you posted here or by direct message as to what happens. Does the "Clover DELL Precision 690 version Clover on the installer work with High Sierra? The version of the installer I have has Clover 3330 on it.
It should work, on multibeast there’s a newer version to install on your hd during post install
 
Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
DELL T5400
CPU
ES410
Graphics
K600
Hi, I just read your post. I have a DELL T5400 and I am following the steps to do the USB and I understand then that:
1- use Clover DELL Precision 690 to format the usb and not check the box where says OSX this will make them a USB STICK already formatted and partitioned
you just have to put your DSDT in the EFI / CLOVER / ACPI / PATCHED folder and remove the one already there.
2- copy OSX HIGH SIERRA in applications on the hard disk should be Install macOS High Sierra.app. then open TERMINAL using the following command: sudo / Applications / Install \ macOS \ High \ Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume / Volumes / Untitled --applicationpath / Applications / Install \ macOS \ High \ Sierra.app
where UNTITLED is the name of your USB STICK
3- copy MULTIBEAST HIGH SIERRA to the USB STICK
es correcto?
 
Top