Contribute
Register

[SOLVED] El Capitan with 2560x1440 by HDMI (Ga-H97-D3H / HD4400)

Joined
Jan 14, 2016
Messages
7
Motherboard
GA-H97N-WiFi
CPU
Intel i5 4590
Graphics
none
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Worked great for me as well!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
14
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370-HD3
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
GTX 660
i have i7 with HD4000.

did the mac-pixel-clock-patch.

now i have full resolution but a crazy destroied picture.

any ideas ????

thanks a lot
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0272.jpg
    IMG_0272.jpg
    554.6 KB · Views: 227
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
36
Motherboard
MSI Z87-GD65
CPU
i7-4770k
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080
Thanks a lot, that's just what I was looking for! :thumbup:
 
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
50
Motherboard
GA-H170N-WIFI
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
Intel HD530
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Will this work with Intel HD 530 graphics too? Would love to get a 1440p monitor to work via HDMI through my current mobo and not have to add a graphics card!
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2016
Messages
38
Motherboard
ASUS VIII Formula
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
Intel HD 530
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Will this work with Intel HD 530 graphics too? Would love to get a 1440p monitor to work via HDMI through my current mobo and not have to add a graphics card!

same question here and lastly what patch will i run if i only use onboard graphics card? thanks guys
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
MSI Gaming X 1060 6GB
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
same question here and lastly what patch will i run if i only use onboard graphics card? thanks guys

I can confirm that it works for HD 530 graphics. I have a 6700K, with an LG 29UM69-P over HDMI. I downloaded the version 2 patch. I didn't touch SIP. It says to disable it for the install. I could not boot into my recovery partition so I just decided to run it. I just clicked the CoreDisplay-patcher.command file and it opened in terminal. Said I wanted to continue, and the process ran and told me when it was completed. Restarted and boom! I had to go into system preferences to choose the resolution after but that's a given. At first it kept asking me if I wanted to continue. If that happens, just close terminal and run the command again. No big deal. So happy this works! Especially because I didn't even think to see if this monitor would work with my hack.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
12
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 7040 Micro Form Factor / Q170 / 16Gb
CPU
i7-6700T
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
[SOLVED] El Capitan with 2560x1440 by HDMI (Ga-H97m-D3H / HD4400)

Recently I managed to fix the 1440p graphics using HDMI with El Capitain.

Yosemite has the same problem, so this solution probably could be used too. (maybe it works to 4k too, *not tested)

I'm using a mobo Ga-H97m-D3H and an i3-4170 / HD4400

Did two things:

1. run mac-pixel-clock-patch

https://github.com/Floris497/mac-pixel-clock-patch


2. Patched AppleIntelFrameBufferCapri.kext according this method. I used Kext Utility to inject the patched kext.

https://jonathansblog.co.uk/lg-34um95-osx-yosemite-resolution-bug

(I'm not sure if step two is really necessary. I did it first. After a reboot nothing happened. Then applied the mac pixel patch, did a new reboot and find 2560x1440 resolution in pref panel > Displays! \o/



UPDATE:

a. I'm almost convinced step 2 isn't really necessary.
b. Just did an automatic updated to 10.11.1. After reboot the screen resolution was lowered :( . Then I run the latest version of mac-pixel-clock-patch, did a new reboot and the find again 2560x1440 resolution in pref panel > Displays!
Yep, it worked for my Skylake (HD530) and a 2560x1080 LG monitor.

Thank you
 
Top