Contribute
Register

[Solved] Dell Optiplex 7040 SFF, can't reach installer

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,356
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef the EFI is based off of yours, but I added all of the Aptio fixes I could find. I left the "active" one in the Drivers folder, then moved the other files into the Old filevault drivers folder.

I have tried everyone of them, both with 64MB of prealloc memory, and 128MB of memory like @pazziards used on his box. all resulted in sadness.

I've also tried to use the inject nvidia instead of the onboard Intel, and still sadness......

Try this.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    29.9 MB · Views: 29

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,356
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@TomJones @pastrychef

with this config and by using only the HD530 on HDMI, I've been able to reach the installer and install osX....
but after last reboot when need to configure the PC, it stuck... reboot....

@TomJones hope u r doing a greater job than me

Try this with only HD 530. I don't know how to make r7 240 work so make sure it is pulled out of the system.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    29.9 MB · Views: 40
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
18
Motherboard
dell XPS 9360
CPU
i7 7660u
Graphics
iris plus 640
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@TomJones @pastrychef

with this config and by using only the HD530 on HDMI, I've been able to reach the installer and install osX....
but after last reboot when need to configure the PC, it stuck... reboot....

@TomJones hope u r doing a greater job than me

now I get the full acceleration... but i miss something with other kext cuz ethernet doent'work
igpu name not shown in About this Mac...
still workinprogress :thumbup::think:
 

Attachments

  • IMG_5139.JPG
    IMG_5139.JPG
    5 MB · Views: 26
  • IMG_5141.JPG
    IMG_5141.JPG
    2.6 MB · Views: 24
  • IMG_5142.JPG
    IMG_5142.JPG
    2.5 MB · Views: 25

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,356
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
now I get the full acceleration... but i miss something with other kext cuz ethernet doent'work
igpu name not shown in About this Mac...
still workinprogress :thumbup::think:

Check the specs of your computer and tell me what ethernet controller it uses. Intel? Realtek?

Don't worry about "About This Mac". It's just cosmetic. You can fix that or leave it. It doesn't matter.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
18
Motherboard
dell XPS 9360
CPU
i7 7660u
Graphics
iris plus 640
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thx Pastry for your hel, really appreciate!!!

here the EFI, Ethernet type, and the patch I've used to get the 530 work....

NOTES
:
installed manualli in clover using tex mode ....

with thi EFI, now I boot directly in mac os in verbose mode...

I've not used the last EFI folder u sent me Pastry, I am sorry totaly missed the post ...

If i get all working perfectly, i will buy a fenvi wifi bluetooth card and NVMe ssd and than finally have a descktop mac ... this is important cuz I need a stable hackintosh that I've to use for upgrade my XPS 9360 with catalina (fresh install)

I Know that togheter we will get it working @TomJones thx to @pastrychef
Byakugan Neji :clap: with his eyes he can see further :thumbup:
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2020-04-04 at 08.01.25.png
    Screenshot 2020-04-04 at 08.01.25.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 19
  • EFI.zip
    4.7 MB · Views: 23
  • HD530 Patch.zip
    1.3 KB · Views: 31

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,356
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
thx Pastry for your hel, really appreciate!!!

here the EFI, Ethernet type, and the patch I've used to get the 530 work....

NOTES
:
installed manualli in clover using tex mode ....

with thi EFI, now I boot directly in mac os in verbose mode...

I've not used the last EFI folder u sent me Pastry, I am sorry totaly missed the post ...

If i get all working perfectly, i will buy a fenvi wifi bluetooth card and NVMe ssd and than finally have a descktop mac ... this is important cuz I need a stable hackintosh that I've to use for upgrade my XPS 9360 with catalina (fresh install)

I Know that togheter we will get it working @TomJones thx to @pastrychef
Byakugan Neji :clap: with his eyes he can see further :thumbup:

Use the EFI from post #72. If your video out ports need patching, add it to the config.plist.

Download and put the attached kext in to /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/.
 

Attachments

  • IntelMausiEthernet.kext.zip
    51.1 KB · Views: 27
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
18
Motherboard
dell XPS 9360
CPU
i7 7660u
Graphics
iris plus 640
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Use the EFI from post #72. If your video out ports need patching, add it to the config.plist.

Download and put the attached kext in to /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/.

@pastrychef using your EFI system goes on and afther showing account login screen ,I cant use neither mous or keyboard... no typing, no moving pointer...what should I do?
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
19
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 7040 SFF
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
Intel integrated
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Try this.
Thanks @pastrychef for your assistance and the quick turnaround with this. Unfortunately, I get the same results:
- I can boot into clover,
- I see the ++++++
- then the machine reboots.

Is there a way to do a log dump or debug of what's going on???
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
18
Motherboard
dell XPS 9360
CPU
i7 7660u
Graphics
iris plus 640
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ok, added the missing USBinject all.kext....
now hd530 is working but still no ethernet... keep going on
thx pastrychef
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,356
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@pastrychef using your EFI system goes on and afther showing account login screen ,I cant use neither mous or keyboard... no typing, no moving pointer...what should I do?

Ah... I forgot to add the 15 port limit patch...

Please add the two patches from the following link to your config.plist:
 
Top