Register

[Solved] Dell 9010 - can't install High Sierra from USB

Status
Not open for further replies.
CPU
i5-3470
Graphics
NVIDIA 1030
Please help me before I throw this bloody thing out of the window. I've already spent many, many hours searching other posts and trying to make it work, but I don't seem to be getting anywhere.

I'm new to this so please forgive any stupid questions.

Hardware:
Dell 9010 (small for factor)
Nvidia 1030 (because onboard graphics aren't compatible)
i5-3470

Problem
I've created a USB installer using the latest Unibeast and a copy of High Sierra on my MacBook. Unibeast says I created it successfully and it seems in order.

I've set the BIOS to all the recommended settings: ACHI, safe mode disabled, USB3.0 disabled, VTd disabled and so on. The Clover boot loader fires up and (following advice from other treads) I've added a -x to boot into safe mode (necessary for this hardware apparently).

The system hangs before I even get the High Sierra install. One of two things happens:
- if I have Nvidia web drivers disabled it just restarts
- with Nvidia web drivers still enabled it hangs after about 10 seconds. See first attachment for details using verbose mode.

Please help - what can I do? Clover file from USB stick attached.

One more thing: I'm not sure whether it's related, but before the Clover bootloader starts I get half a page of errors. None of it means anything to me, but perhaps it does to you chaps. (see second picture).

Appreciate any help anyone can offer.

Attachments

• IMG_0310 (1).jpg
    IMG_0310 (1).jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 202
  • CLOVER.zip
    2.8 MB · Views: 102
  • IMG_0312 (1).jpg
    IMG_0312 (1).jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 216
Update:

I'd actually not disabled VT in BIOS. Now I have I get a different error message. See attachment.

Any ideas?

Attachments

• IMG_0313.jpg
    IMG_0313.jpg
    368.9 KB · Views: 161

Attachments

• config.plist
    5.3 KB · Views: 336