Contribute
Register

[solved] Computer rebooting before the installer is almost done...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 2, 2015
Messages
140
Motherboard
Asus TP500LAB (9 series)
CPU
i5-5200U
Graphics
HD 5500
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
This EFI/Clover is not according to the guide. There is no need for patched ACPI to reach the installer (injecting for HDMI-audio, etc is likely to cause problems without patched AppleHDA in place). FakeSMC is not the kext linked from the guide. And the config.plist is not from my guide.

Also, your profile is not filled out as requested in the guide...

Please provide complete details in your profile/signature
(Profile/Settings link in upper right corner of this site)

Mobo: manufacturer/model + bootloader(Clover/Chameleon/Chimera)
CPU: detailed CPU model + motherboard chipset
Graphics: all graphics devices + laptop internal screen resolution

For example, typical Ivy laptop:
Mobo: HP ProBook 4540s (Clover)
CPU: i5-3320m/HM76
Graphics: HD4000, 1366x768

Use CPU-Z on Windows to find CPU (Core iX-xxx) and motherboard chipset (HMxx), and graphics capabilities. For a laptop, these details are important and affect critical installation procedures.

Note: When specifying your bootloader, if using Clover legacy, please be sure to specify "Clover legacy"). Specifying "Clover" will be assumed as "Clover UEFI"

I created a completely new installation media according to the guide, I used it's FakeSMC, my Ethernet kext and Touchpad kext in the clover kext folder and no ACPI files.

The installation media boots (it did boot with the EL Capitan clover folder aswell). The computer still reboots at 48 seconds remaining and doesn't show the partition I just installed Sierra on (but it shows my daily driver El Capitan installation). Booting the USB a second time and starting the installation again without formatting the hard drive takes longer, but reboots at 3 seconds remaining at shows again no sierra partition in the bootloader.

Clover folder is attached.

My Specs:
CPU: i5-5200U
24GB SSD (it was enough for the developer beta)
Intel HD 5500
8GB DDR3 Ram
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 116

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I created a completely new installation media according to the guide, I used it's FakeSMC, my Ethernet kext and Touchpad kext in the clover kext folder and no ACPI files.

The installation media boots (it did boot with the EL Capitan clover folder aswell). The computer still reboots at 48 seconds remaining and doesn't show the partition I just installed Sierra on (but it shows my daily driver El Capitan installation). Booting the USB a second time and starting the installation again without formatting the hard drive takes longer, but reboots at 3 seconds remaining at shows again no sierra partition in the bootloader.

Clover folder is attached.

My Specs:
CPU: i5-5200U
24GB SSD (it was enough for the developer beta)
Intel HD 5500
8GB DDR3 Ram

The FakeSMC.kext you're using is not the one linked from my guide.
You should install to a larger partition.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2014
Messages
130
Motherboard
HP Probook 450 G1 (Clover)
CPU
i5-4200M
Graphics
HD 4600, HD 8750M
The computer still reboots at 48 seconds remaining and ...
Well, I had the same problem when I used installmedia method to create my USB. But when I used the other method (cloning BaseSystem), I was able to reach desktop.

2. Pay attention to how you format your Hard Drive in Disk Utility during installation, it really matters.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, I had the same problem when I used installmedia method to create my USB. But when I used the other method (cloning BaseSystem), I was able to reach desktop.

2. Pay attention to how you format your Hard Drive in Disk Utility during installation, it really matters.

BaseBinaries clone approach probably requires less disk space than the createinstallmedia. For one, it does not create a recovery partition, and for two it doesn't involve the two-stage install process.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2015
Messages
140
Motherboard
Asus TP500LAB (9 series)
CPU
i5-5200U
Graphics
HD 5500
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Well, I had the same problem when I used installmedia method to create my USB. But when I used the other method (cloning BaseSystem), I was able to reach desktop.

2. Pay attention to how you format your Hard Drive in Disk Utility during installation, it really matters.

Thank you, that worked perfectly for me and I'm running Sierra now.

BaseBinaries clone approach probably requires less disk space than the createinstallmedia. For one, it does not create a recovery partition, and for two it doesn't involve the two-stage install process.

I used the BaseBinaries method and it did create a recovery partition that works. The installation process was the same as installing el capitan using the unibeast tool to create the installer. I now have my El Capitan installation with it's recovery partition and the Sierra installation with it's own recovery partition. I got pretty much everything working (using AppleHDA from 10.11) using the same clover folder I posted in post 1. Thank you both for your help, thread can be marked as solved.

Bildschirmfoto_2016_07_10_um_12_23_18.png
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
186,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank you, that worked perfectly for me and I'm running Sierra now.



I used the BaseBinaries method and it did create a recovery partition that works. The installation process was the same as installing el capitan using the unibeast tool to create the installer. I now have my El Capitan installation with it's recovery partition and the Sierra installation with it's own recovery partition. I got pretty much everything working (using AppleHDA from 10.11) using the same clover folder I posted in post 1. Thank you both for your help, thread can be marked as solved.

Bildschirmfoto_2016_07_10_um_12_23_18.png

Marked solved.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top