Contribute
Register

[Solved] Clover Very Slow to start up

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 4, 2017
Messages
1
Thanks for the tips everyone!

I'm in the process of getting sierra running on my Z77x-ud5h system. It was working great with chameleon/mavericks.

I had very slow boot times to the clover screen. Once I upgraded the motherboard Bios from f7 to the newest F16h to try to solve some other issues, the problem went away.

The system boots nice and fast like it used to with chameleon now. Just something to check.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
9
Motherboard
GA-X79-UD5
CPU
i7-3930K
Graphics
GTX-670
Clover Very Slow to start up



Yes my OCZ is attached to an Intel SATA controller.
However I found a solution!!!

SOLUTION : Just install CloverEFI bits BiosBlockIO instead of traditional CloverEFI 64 SATA!!!

It boosted my boot time from 30 seconds to 2/3 seconds!! Just what I wanted!! :)
Thank you!!! Exactly what I was looking for.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
9
Motherboard
ASUS P7P55D
CPU
i7-860
Graphics
Vega 64
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
When I try to switch to BiosBlockIO, my system (ASUS P7P55D) just reboots instead of starting clover.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
15
Motherboard
UP5TH
CPU
3770
Graphics
670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thank you!!! Exactly what I was looking for.

Hi guys! Would you be so kind to explain to the rest of us how will you manage to switch to BlockBiosIO???
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
15
Motherboard
UP5TH
CPU
3770
Graphics
670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
SOLUTION : Just install CloverEFI bits BiosBlockIO instead of traditional CloverEFI 64 SATA!!!

That's the way I have installed Clover in my old rig, but I have my OCZ in the Asmedia controller (Sata 3-6Gb/s). Using Clover Sata 64 instead BlockIO causes hang my system just in the black screen with the corner little dash.

With the BlockIO driver no more problems. :)


Please give some details on how to proceed

I don’t loaded and install latest version of clover, but there was no option during install to choose BlockBiosIO...
 

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,379
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
I don’t loaded and install latest version of clover, but there was no option during install to choose BlockBiosIO...
kenia1234 was last seen: Mar 21, 2017
cheetaa was last seen: May 9, 2016

Yes there is ;)

BiosBlockIO.png
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
15
Motherboard
UP5TH
CPU
3770
Graphics
670
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
kenia1234 was last seen: Mar 21, 2017
cheetaa was last seen: May 9, 2016

Yes there is ;)

View attachment 313471

Yes I saw that, but it was Greyed out: so I unchecked first option (install for UEFI Motherboards only) and then it was not greyed out anymore. So I did install it with the BlockBiosIO option selected, but it didn’t change anything

Eventually I started a new thread, as my hardware differs and Clover version as well, and BiosBlockIO doesn’t fix the problem:

https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/clover-boot-way-too-long.245889/
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2010
Messages
27
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS

No... (and why have I so quickly noticed that you seem to have a repeating pattern of jumping to that conclusion?!) That isn't the POINT anyway!

The bottom line is: that if someone posts a solution that has worked for them, it only makes sense that they should make an effort to describe the basic steps involved for less adept users.
Someone who has only installed Clover once or twice is unlikely to recall the individual options within the massive sea of options that can be checked within the Clover installer—at least explaining that it is necessary to reinstall clover and selected that option (including it's path in the options list) is not at all an unreasonable expectation for someone to have for a thread marked [Solved].

A thread (and an entire site) become useless (from a practical perspective) if all of the provided solutions assume someone is already well-versed and familiar with the software/procedure at hand (if that were the case, they wouldn't be looking for answers/solutions anyway!); therefore, necessitating that they "search" for explanations & details of each solution—it quickly becomes a wild goose chase... Rather than "lazy" it is intelligent to identify such foolish shenanigans and ask for clarification or simply find a better site.

This site has been known for its simplicity and its catering to the less experienced users; disparaging and alienating those users (by insinuating laziness) does not seem like a helpful or appropriate behavior for a moderator!


****Unfortunately, this solution does not seem to have any noticeable effect on my 5 minute delay between POST and Clover's GUI appearing.

Anyone have any other ideas?


(This is on a USB or SATA HDD/SSD. On my ASUS Sabertooth X58 with 24GB DDR3, ATI 6000 series GPU, addition media storage drives use HighPoint 272x SAS controller; OS drives connected to Intel chipset ports.
Debug=No is also set
Here is the initial clip of my "bootlog" file:
Code:
0:100  0:100  MemLog inited, TSC freq: 2806363359
0:100  0:000  LegacyRegion2: Chipset/proc: 0x34058086
0:100  0:000   Core i7 processors (PAM 0x40-0x47)
0:100  0:000   Test PAM1=(0x41=11, 0x5a=00, 0x81=0B, 0x91=53) at chipset 34058086
0:100  0:000  , Install = Success
0:113  0:013  BiosVideoDriverBindingStart!
0:113  0:000  BiosVideoCheckForVbe
0:113  0:000  EdidOverride not found
0:159  0:046   Edid1+
0:159  0:000   found Detail Timing 1920x1080
0:205  0:046   Edid0+
0:205  0:000   found Detail Timing 1920x1080
0:205  0:000  ... already present
0:239  0:034     0 1152x864 attr=BB - ok, edid+, working, highest, pref=0
0:242  0:002     1 1280x960 attr=BB - ok, edid-
0:243  0:000     2 640x480 attr=BB - ok, edid+, 640x480, working
0:244  0:000     3 800x600 attr=BB - ok, edid+, 800x600, working
0:245  0:000     4 1024x768 attr=BB - ok, edid+, 1024x768, working
0:246  0:000     5 1280x1024 attr=BB - ok, edid+, working, highest, pref=5
0:250  0:004     6 1400x1050 attr=BB - ok, edid-
0:270  0:020  BV new mode: 5 1280x1024
0:522  0:252   SetMode pref 5 (5) = Success
0:522  0:000  VGA Pci.Hdr.Command=0 - not enabled
8:683  8:160  VGA Pci.Hdr.Command=0 - not enabled
271:004  262:320  VGA Pci.Hdr.Command=0 - not enabled
271:238  0:233  VGA Pci.Hdr.Command=0 - not enabled
271:408  0:169  VGA Pci.Hdr.Command=0 - not enabled
271:499  0:090 
271:499  0:000  Starting Clover revision: 4243 on CLOVER EFI
271:499  0:000  Build with: [Args: -D NO_GRUB_DRIVERS_EMBEDDED | -D NO_GRUB_DRIVERS_EMBEDDED -D USE_LOW_EBDA -a X64 -b RELEASE -t XCODE5 -n 5 | OS: 10.12.6 | XCODE: 9.0]
271:499  0:000  SelfDevicePath=PcieRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1,0x0)\Pci(0x0,0x0)\Sata(0x1,0x0,0x0)\HD(1,GPT,XREDACTEDX-8611-410B-87D6-XXXREDACTEDXXX,0x28,0x64000) @BD9B4298
271:499  0:000  SelfDirPath = \EFI\CLOVER
271:499  0:000  === [ Get Smbios ] ========================================

You can see the massive delay there when it jumps from 8 seconds to 4 minutes & 51 seconds from one entry to the next in the log... Does anything jump out at anyone who may be scanning over the log? Since that is where the delay occurs, it doesn't seem relevant to continue quoting the log...

Any thoughts will be appreciated!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top