Contribute
Register

[Solved] Clover not showing. Multi boot Windows 10 & El Capitan in the same HD.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
12
Motherboard
MSI B250I Gaming Pro AC
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
R7 370
Hello everyone,

First of all, I would love to congratulate the community and express how grateful I am to the great job you all are doing here. I have been testing with these guides and advices in order to install Mac OS X in my computer and this page and forum are amazing.

I had no major problems when I was testing to install Yosemite using chimera as a boot loader. Now that things are changing with El Capitan and Clover, I am beginning to have some "stones in the road", but I am figuring out reasons and I have some ideas about my actual problem. My computer is:

- DualCore Intel Core i3-540, 3077 MHz (23 x 134)
- Asus P7H55-M Pro (2 PCI, 1 PCI-E x1, 1 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR3 DIMM, Audio, Video, Gigabit LAN)
- Intel Ibex Peak H55, Intel Ironlake
- AMD Radeon HD 5450 (1 GB)
- AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x68F9)
- Realtek ALC892 @ Intel Ibex Peak PCH - High Definition Audio Controller [B-3]

I am almost sure that my motherboard does not support UEFI, so I am installing El Capitan in Legacy mode in a Hard Drive where I used to have Yosemite installed with chimera as a boot loader. That Hard Drive was formatted by Disk Utility with GUID Partition (Not MBR) and has the first partition dedicated to Mac OS X and the second one to Windows 10.

So, what I did basically is to erase the first partition and install El Capitan. After reboot, I followed the post installation guide, and I got everything working but one thing: I need to boot with the USB connected in order to have Clover. If I boot without it, my computer will go directly to my Windows system.

I have checked and everything seems to be fine in my Clover inside my Mac OS partition. When I manually select my Mac system, Clover loads my config file, and the files inside that "EFI partition" seem to be right. So I am guessing it has to be with the fact that the Hard Drive is formatted as "GUI" instead of "MBR".

Any advice about this issue?

Thank you so much. Kind regards.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,475
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Clover not showing. Multi boot Windows 10 & El Capitan in the same HD.

The Clover version used in the UniBeast USB for El Capitan is version 3270. You can run the post install essentials package from the Installation Guide and install the same version or download the latest version from SourceForge @ http://sourceforge.net/projects/cloverefiboot/ - the latest version is 3280.

If you decide to install the latest, run the package installer and select your hard drive to install, selecting the Legacy options - see the 10.10 Clover install guide at http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-desktop-guides/144426-how-install-os-x-yosemite-using-clover.html for legacy options.

This installs /EFI/Clover to your OS X installation root. Use Clover Configurator to edit your config.plist for your hardware.
If you want Clover in the EFI partition, in addition to the regular Legacy options check mark the "Install in ESP box.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
130
Motherboard
ASUS P8Z77-V PRO/Thunderbolt
CPU
Core i7 3770K @4.20GHz
Graphics
ASUS GT640-2GD3
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Clover not showing. Multi boot Windows 10 & El Capitan in the same HD.

If you have your HDD/SSD attached to the ASMEDIA Sata 6Gb/s controller, you must re-install Clover checking the CloverEFI 64-bits BiosBlockIO driver.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
12
Motherboard
MSI B250I Gaming Pro AC
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
R7 370
Clover not showing. Multi boot Windows 10 & El Capitan in the same HD.

Thank you both for your replies. I checked my hard drive partitions and I could see that I had Windows in the first place and Mac OS X in the second partition. I did not know if it does affect in any way, but as I was about to start fresh and format both, I formatted the hard drive and switched the position: 1st partition for Mac and second for Windows.

Now I have both installed successfully in my hard drive. I am able to begin any of them with a clover that I have in a external hard drive. But again, once I install Windows after Mac, Clover does not load any more. Windows is the OS beginning in the first place. I have tried to reinstall Clover but I had no luck.

I am not sure about having the HDD in the AsMedia. I am sorry about not having that knowledge but I am kind of new. Do I try to do that even though I don't know if I have that characteristic?

Thank you!
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,475
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Clover not showing. Multi boot Windows 10 & El Capitan in the same HD.

Thank you both for your replies. I checked my hard drive partitions and I could see that I had Windows in the first place and Mac OS X in the second partition. I did not know if it does affect in any way, but as I was about to start fresh and format both, I formatted the hard drive and switched the position: 1st partition for Mac and second for Windows.

Now I have both installed successfully in my hard drive. I am able to begin any of them with a clover that I have in a external hard drive. But again, once I install Windows after Mac, Clover does not load any more. Windows is the OS beginning in the first place. I have tried to reinstall Clover but I had no luck.

I am not sure about having the HDD in the AsMedia. I am sorry about not having that knowledge but I am kind of new. Do I try to do that even though I don't know if I have that characteristic?

Thank you!
Did you install Windows UEFI or Legacy mode?
How did you format your HDD?

BTW - please follow the rules and put your hardware in your profile. If I have to scroll back to the first post to try to find it I quit helping after the first page.

For the AsMedia - he was probably referring to AsMedia chip driven ports - which do not exist on yout P55 board.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
12
Motherboard
MSI B250I Gaming Pro AC
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
R7 370
Clover not showing. Multi boot Windows 10 & El Capitan in the same HD.

I am sorry about the hardware in the signature. I didn't even know it was a mandatory thing but I see the point. It is quite obvious that I am new in these whereabouts. Finally I found the option. The installation was legacy mode, as I think that my motherboard does not support UEFI mode, does it? At least I don't see the option anywhere.

I finally got Clover showing up at booting checking the boot0ss instead of the boot0af option (default one). When I stopped to read carefully I saw that option is more accurate for both OS in the same HD.

Thank you so much for your support. Even though it has been solved, I intend to stick around as I want to keep learning about all this. My great doubt is about updating El Capitan now that I installed it with Clover. But that is a new thread different to this one :)

Again, thanks!
 
Joined
May 28, 2014
Messages
3
Motherboard
asrockz77extreme4
CPU
3770k
Graphics
hd7970 ghz edition
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
What simply happens when you install Windows is it replaces the MBR Master Boot Record on the hard drive so you will have to reinstall clover. Even then I am not sure this method will work. I use 1 hard drive for windows and another drive for the mac. I can enter boot menu or have my boot loader drive for example drive with clover on it boot first in the bios settings. This method works very well for me. Having more than 1 Operating System on a single drive usually has issues. Hope this helps.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2016
Messages
13
Clover not showing. Multi boot Windows 10 & El Capitan in the same HD.

I finally got Clover showing up at booting checking the boot0ss instead of the boot0af option (default one). When I stopped to read carefully I saw that option is more accurate for both OS in the same HD.

Where did you come across the option to choose boot0ss instead of boot0af?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,475
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Where did you come across the option to choose boot0ss instead of boot0af?
It is under boot in the first Clover selection screen right below the UEFI only/Install in ESP selection boxes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top